We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in the centre of Bath”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the centre of Bath”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a nice Hilton hotel in the centre of Bath.

Clean rooms, decent breakfasts, and great staff – they were very efficient, and willing to go the extra mile for guests.

However, it is a shame that they charge high prices for really dodgy WiFi – £15 a day!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Your compliments of our hotels clean rooms, famous Hilton breakfast and efficient staff are a pleasure to read. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    993
    623
    302
    159
See reviews for
563
1,197
82
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

To be honest, at first look this hotel really looks like nothing special. Even the lobby can lull you into a false sense of security and I fell for it, I was not expecting a good stay. However, I was pleasantly surprised.

Despite the run down nature of the outside of the building and average look of the lobby, the rooms looked fantastic, were very spacious and included a massive bath tub. My wife and I were lucky enough to be on the river side, which provided fantastic views of Bath!! The bed was also nice and big and sleep quality was fantastic!!! Our deal also included breakfast, which was a nice little bonus - it was a buffet and included all the basic, was slightly limited for vegetarians but had enough and was free so it was hard to complain. Free wi-fi was also provided, which makes connecting with family and friends fantastic. All in all, it was fantastic value for money.

Service was generally very good. On arrival, they seemed a bit rushed and a bit short, but were very courteous and responsive after that. The breakfast wait staff were also very nice, although again when they were busy had the tendency to be a bit short with my wife and I, but it is a minor criticism.

What really won us over, and was the main reason for us coming here in the first place, was the location. It was in the heart of the city, a short walk to all the main attractions of Bath. There were eateries and a fantastic pub across the road and shopping center next door as well.

All in all, a fantastic stay, not quite perfect, but so nearly there!! A couple of small tips: River view rooms do offer peace, quiet and a fantastic view of Bath and is where I would stay again. Parking is provided - it is part of the shopping center parking, but hotel quests only have to pay 15 pounds a day, provided you only exit the parking once in the 24 hours. Extra exits will cost and extra 15 pounds, although with the hotel being so close to the city you shouldn't need to drive and Bath is pretty to walk around anyways it really seems pointless.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend a night or two in the fantastic city that is Bath!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieSteve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and our great city centre location, which is ideal for exploring the historic city of Bath. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the facilities in your room, but disappointed to hear of the lack of customer service you received from the restaurant staff at breakfast, for which I apologise. We endeavour to cater for all dietary requests and requirements, so please do not hesitate in asking the breakfast chef for vegetarian sausages, soya milk, gluten free bread etc to meet your dietary needs and where possible they will accommodate these requests. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shillingstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked here as we wanted a hotel close to the shops, theatre and Bath Thermae Spa. We booked a twin bedded room and were initially given one (Room 103) which was immediately above the extension so didn't give any views of the river. We asked for another room and were then given Room 204 - still above the extension but we did get some views of the river and bridges.
The room itself was small but for one night was sufficient although I would have preferred a bath to the shower.
Breakfast buffet was adequate.
Be aware that you will need to pay £15 per night for parking in the nearby Podium car park.
The one thing I would feed back on was the fabulous attitude of the reception and breakfast staff - nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile. They are a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing towards the river on floors 3 or 4 or away from the central area so that you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBD110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
I am happy to read how much you enjoyed your visit to Bath to take in the local attractions. Thank you for your review and compliments of our fabulous staff and the customer service you received from them. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We have been staying, annually, at the Hilton for over 20 years and seen many changes there.
Consistently it has been a fine place to rest ourselves. The staff have always been accommodating and friendly; nothing seems too much trouble for them. One year while I was, ostensively, on holiday I needed some 200 letters putting into envelopes, addressing and posting. Tony, the concierge at the time, enlisted the help of his wife to do the job, while I sat in the bar socialising. The job was done and it illustrates just one aspect of their help on one occasion. There have been many others... Highly recommend!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kilinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your 5* review and taking the time to post your comments. I am very happy to read that as a regular guest with us, you have always found the staff accommodating, friendly and willing to oblige with making your stay a more memorable one, in this instance, particularly Tony. Thank you for your compliments and recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel lobby is very nice. However, the rooms are a gamble. The first room I stayed in had black mold above the shower that could be wiped away with a Q-tip. The room they moved me to had an awkward smell. For 135 GBP a night and the Hilton name, I would have expected much more. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
I am truly sorry to read your comments regarding the cleanliness or maintenance issue you experienced in the shower room and I am glad to hear that reception were able to reallocate you to an alternative room immediately. Please be assured the observations you raise regarding the first room, have been investigated by our Maintenance Manager. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you are in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for one night in January, the hotel when you walk in is very underwhelming and whilst they have made a big effort with the rooms that have been refurbished it does take away from the general view of the hotel. Great bathrooms though and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Its an excellent location with a very easy walk into town to the pubs and bars. The car parking is frustrating, we had to park on the hotel and then had to move the car after having checked in. Not a lot of space to put a car park but perhaps an email clearly stating this would have made things easier.
We had a great visit though and had a stunning view from the back of the hotel overlooking the river.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and I am glad to read that you enjoyed the facilities in your room and the stunning view of the river and bridges from the window. I am pleased you had a great visit and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The big advantage of this hotel is its central location - close to all the attractions and restaurants / bars. The big disadvantage of this hotel is ........... its central location. Leave the car at home, especially at the weekend - I had to queue for 45 minutes to get to the car park and then wait another 20 minutes in reception before the room was ready - not what you would expect from a Hilton - even if they apologised with a complementary drink at the bar. Ask for a room at the back - sleep is difficult at club chucking out time around 2-3 am - I assume that the level of noise is not that different even when England and Bath rugby teams have not had good days. Rooms are average Hilton fare, and one lift operational is not good when the hotel is working at capacity - the alternative stairs make it difficult for people to pass at the best of times and almost impossible if they have luggage.

Room Tip: Sleep at the back and don;t take the car
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank editionsofyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very fortunate with our hotels central city location, which is ideal for exploring Bath and we are only about a 10-minute walk from the railway station. We do apologise for the inconvenience of a lift being out of service at the time of your stay, but this was due to essential maintenance works, your patience and understanding regarding this are very much appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing