We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location to visit bath, great views from higher floors.”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Nice hotel in great location, only 10-15 minutes walk to most of the attractions in central Bath and the railway station.

Room was a little on the small side with no bath but a huge shower enclosure instead. Given there was only a shower in the room it was not that impressive though compared to other Hiltons I have visited, the pressure of the water was very below average. Room was very clean and comfortable.

We stayed on one of the top floors and the view was very impressive though, especially in the early morning.

Lobby bar and cocktails very good, the staff there were friendly and efficient and the service was good.

Breakfast was very good although we were made to wait a while as they said they were too busy and once we finally sat down we saw a lot of the tables were empty which was somewhat contradictory to what we had been told.

Overall though a nice hotel, good location and would stay again if were visiting Bath.

Room Tip: High floor facing front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad to read that you found the hotel to be a clean and comfortable environment in which to stay. Your compliments of our hotel, its location and friendly efficient staff are very much appreciated, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,851)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Bath City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,584 - 1,590 of 2,851 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We made it to the Hilton just after an awful cold, windy day, at Stonehenge, so it felt extra special to get into a warm bed. We slept peacefully, and enjoyed a yummy breakfast at sunrise on the river that I will never forget. We had travelled from the US the day before so we were up before anyone else was, and had the restaurant to ourselves. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iheartminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your view. I am glad to read that you found the hotel to be a comfortable and pleasurable place to stay whilst travelling and sightseeing in Bath. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you are in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed for one night, excellent location with easy access to everything that I needed. A little bit of work going on in the reception during my stay. Room very clean and tidy and the food for breakfast was good. Will stay again when I'm next down this way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your business stay. Your compliments of our hotel and famous Hilton breakfast are very much appreciated, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here with my sister for a weekend away - everything is on your doorstep and we were minutes from good restaurants and the lovely Therme Spa.
Room was great, just a shame they placed us on the same floor as several hen nights - I guess they assumed that being a twin room under a female name we'd be with them! Being woken by a distraught crying guest wasn't great.
Would stay here again, just request not to be near the hens!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your weekend stay. I am glad to read that you found us ideally located for exploring the city centre of Bath. I apologise that you were disturbed by noisy inconsiderate guests during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

There is only one thing that is good about this hotel- the location. Its nice to be able to walk to all the attractions in Bath Spa and we had a decent view of the canal from our VERY expensive room. However, there are SO many other hotels. The only reason we HAD to stay here is that it allows dogs and coming to Bath from London for only a two nights get away for our anniversary, we wanted to bring the pup. We thought Hilton would be great, nice big comfy bed... nope. We even got a Junior Suite, which was outrageous for what we got. This review is based on the fact that this hotel was over $500USD/night. This hotel itself is an eye sore in beautiful Bath. It has no amenities, no pool or sauna to relax in- even though the hotel is massive. It has a tiny gym (that no one ever uses I am sure). The room, below standard for Hilton. TERRIBLE rock hard bed and pillows- my ears were sore in the morning! When I called down to get new pillows, no one answered. I called again a couple times for other things and the phone just rang off the hook (I tried guest services, reception and concierge). And finally, what modern hotel, that charges that much for a room doesn't include wifi? No, an extra $30 a day please! Just stay else where. There are so many lovely traditional hotels in Bath, just book early. If you bring a pet stay at a B&B and rent a car. We did get one free drink from the reception guy, who at first told us we could sit anywhere and wait for our expensive room to be ready (at 1430- check in is at 1500, we didnt get in till 1530), then to be told rudely by the bar staff that we couldnt have our dog in there and we had to sit on the other side of the hallway...
Was not the experience we were hoping for for the money we spent.

Room Tip: I do not recommend this hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJBKKKHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your anniversary stay and I am glad that you were able to bring your dog along with you. As a pet friendly hotel we do welcome dogs and cats, however, as you will appreciate there are some areas of the hotel and certain restrictions of where the animal can be permitted within the hotel. Pets are not permitted in the restaurant and bar areas for health and safety reasons and your understanding regarding this is very much appreciated. I apologise if this was not explained to you fully by the member of staff at the time of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here as part of a wedding. Was upgraded (for free) to a better room but it was still rubbish. Lots of construction work being done cheaply and with no thought for residents. Breakfast was excellent though. Shower barely worked, parking was extortionate. Worst bit was £10.70 for a glass of wine at the bar. Ridiculous!!! Would have scored 1 star but th breakfast bumped it up. Have stayed in much better b&b's

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Sigainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review having attended a wedding party function at the hotel and your compliments of our famous Hilton breakfast are very much appreciated. Nevertheless, I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your complimentary upgraded room. We apologise if the current modifications that are taking place to the lifts and some minor construction work impacted on the enjoyment of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel right in the town centre makes for a desirable weekend destination for beautiful Bath. The Hilton itself is certainly no oil painting from the outside , but inside it is welcoming and well kept. Our room was clean , the bathroom newly refurbished to a good standard , bed very comfortable . I was very impressed with the level of customer service all round , the restaurant staff being very helpful in particular. Breakfast was the eat as much as you dare buffet variety, so no one goes hungry with all the usual hot and cold offerings. We also dined as a group on the Saturday night in the Atelier restaurant , and although I usually avoid hotel restaurants I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meal.
Any downsides ? not enough to comment on, we had a great time and would happily return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffbw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to read that you found the hotel to be a clean and comfortable environment in which to stay. Your compliments of our hotel, staff and the excellent customer service you received are very much appreciated, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £100 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing