We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Hotel extra cost for parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Bath
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“City Hotel extra cost for parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Good food clean and large rooms. The Hotel us situated within a 5 minute walk of the city centre. We stayed at the Hotel for a weekend function. The reception area and the hotel in general is a bit tired and need refurbishment. Takes along time to check in and sometimes the staff get confused with what is required, most staff are East European. The major downside is that car parking is in the main car park next door which costs £15 for the weekend providing you do not use your vehicle, multi entry and exits are charged accordingly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Code8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review having attended a weekend function at the hotel. Your compliments of the food, our large and clean guest rooms, as well as our central city location are appreciated, thank you. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    976
    612
    299
    156
See reviews for
551
1,175
80
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Villanova
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Booked a 2 bed room pictured on the hotel website and given a room with a bed and a pullout sofa bed, the matteress was a floppy thin pad on bars so it was brutally incomfortable. Had mail sent to me at hotel, no one could find it. There is no contact email for hotel, manager or conceirge on website--even the Hilton operator coulnt't find one for them. free wifi in lobby only.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank snwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your family visit to Bath whilst in the UK. The hotel was built in the early 70's and regrettably, atheistically it does not have the same architectural appeal as do most of the other historic buildings and landmarks in Bath. Should you need to contact the hotel directly, please use the ‘email hotel direct’ link on our web page or telephone the hotel directly for assistance. We hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting from the USA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel on Friday 28th March for a long weekend and there the problem started the car park was full because what the hotel did not inform us of before hand is that the car park is not a part of the hotel but of the supermarket next door. Once in the car park it is best to leave the car there because it works out £15.00 per exit per day.
The hotel itself is good and modern with pleasant staff. Our room was 103 There was only one tiny lift working and the only stairs where at the far end of the reception /lounge area. The twin room was very compact which was ok for an overnight stay but any longer would be very cramped and there is only a very small single wardrobe and two small drawers so not enough space for clothing to be packed away. We were there for a black tie dinner so needed space to hang extra suit and evening gown. A good part of the room is taken up by a very large A/C unit. There is no insulation so you can hear people in the corridors and to some extent in the a joining rooms.
Food at the hotel is excellent and the service superb but at £21.00 for a bottle of house red and £5.50 for a shot of brandy you will have to watch what you drink. I suggest going to the Saracens Head pub just opposite if you fancy a pint or two. On asking about internet access I was told it is free in the public areas but if you want it in your room it will cost £14.99 per day. So the only place you can use your lap top is in the areas with everybody milling about. Overall this hotel is in a prime spot and ideally located for the town centre, service and food excellent but the prices are really OTT which made it a very expensive stay..

Room Tip: Do not have room 103 if you want some space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownrichard865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay whilst attending a black-tie function in the hotel. I am glad to read that you found the food excellent and the service to be superb during your stay. Similarly, that the hotel is a modern environment in which to relax with friendly pleasant staff, your compliments are appreciated, thank you. We do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience of one lift being out of service at the time of your stay and your patience regarding this is very much appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Arriving in Bath on a Saturday afternoon for a friend's birthday celebration, I thought "at least the hotel website says there's parking available, even if it is £15 per night". Imagine my surprise when I discover the queue to get into the already full multi-storey (public) car park and spend the next 20 minutes driving round, and round, and round to try to find a space. Having finally parked, we enter the hotel. No surprise that there's a queue, it being a Saturday, but where was the Hilton Honours point which is meant to be a 'privilege' of membership?
Again, I suppose it can't be helped that only one lift was working (the other was undergoing maintenance, not that any work went on during the weekend of course). But the very small lift couldn't cope with the volumes of guests needing to get up and down, so many were forced to use the stairs (including us on a number of occasions).
The room was 'compact' (the hotel's description). I would say it was 'tiny'. It wou;d probably be sufficient for a single occupancy but not a couple. A very small bed, tiny bathroom with a weak shower, no mini bar, no bottled water...
Breakfast was chaotic in the extreme. Far too many people competing for the very limited buffet - resulting in long waits to get bacon, baked beans and tomatoes replenished. Such a long wait that some simply gave up. A limited number of pastries were available but the one I tasted seemed as though it had been out of the deep freeze that morning - it was certainly not fresh.
In short, the only thing going for this hotel is that it is central. It was an expensive and disappointing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review having attended a friend’s birthday celebration at the hotel. We do apologise for the inconvenience of a lift being out of service at the time of your stay. These works are necessary and essential maintenance work and with such work, there is never an ideal time to carry these out within the hotel. Your patience and understanding regarding this are very much appreciated, thank you. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the compact double room you had booked and that the HHonors section of the reception desk was not made available to you when checking into the hotel. Furthermore, that your experience at breakfast was less than satisfactory and that there was a long wait for the breakfast buffet to be replenished. Please be assured, the comments and observations you raise will be addressed accordingly with the appropriate heads of department. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Really central for everything. Busy area can be noisy at night, although the noise we encountered on Saturday night/ Sunday morning was mainly from other guests. Comfortable beds, clean and generally well equipped although few things missing from room; hair dryer, instructions on how to use heat/ air con. Polite attentive staff. Good breakfast. Please review your pillows they are far too soft, not standard hotel pillows and no extras in the room! I'd of told Hilton any of this if they had feedback forms anywhere! Ridiculous parking charge of £15 at Podium, park at the Southgate after 6pm, it's free until 9am.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HTJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your family stay. We are certainly very fortunate with our city centre location for exploring the historic city of Bath. Should you wish to exchange the pillow type that is supplied in guest bedrooms, this can be made by contacting the Housekeeping Department or Concierge, who will be able to supply feathered or non-feathered pillows on request, similarly additional pillows as required. However, I am pleased you found your room clean, well equipped and the beds comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Decided to stay for the evening to treat my partner. Was only expecting a comfortable room for the evening to make a break for ourselves. We were pleasantly surprised by the large room and very comfortable bed and pillows. You normally expect the cheap nasty pillows (even in the Hilton). but we both had a very good night sleep. The breakfast was amazing aswell. With a choice of hot and continental breakfast. There was a large selection of danishes, toast, bacon and BLACK PUDDING. very good hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments of our hotel and famous Hilton breakfast are very much appreciated, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed in a compact double which despite the name was actually quite spacious with a huge bed! The bathroom did only have a shower though which was fine for us but worth noting if you prefer to have a bath. Really clean room with a great view (we were on the 4th floor).
We arrived before we were able to check in and so left our bag with concierge, expecting to pick it up and bring up to our room when we got back in the evening. I was pleasantly surprised to find that our bag had been taken up to our room for us, this was a nice touch as it doesn't often happen in hotels, even in some 5* ones I have stayed in, in London.
The only real shame is that the hotel doesn't have it's own car park, you will need to park in the Podium public underground car park which unfortunately gets incredibly busy and you can't always guarantee a space. The car park was full when we arrived but luckily didn't have to drive around too long to find a space. This is definitely something to be aware of if like us you plan to check in, drop your stuff, park up and make your way to a local event (in our case a wedding). The parking is also very expensive given that we had already paid £120 for the night, it was another £15 which I would have expected to be less if not free for having stayed in the hotel. Despite this, the hotel and staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities in your room and the great views of Bath from the window. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Bath City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing