We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugliest building in town”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Villanova
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ugliest building in town”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Booked a 2 bed room pictured on the hotel website and given a room with a bed and a pullout sofa bed, the matteress was a floppy thin pad on bars so it was brutally incomfortable. Had mail sent to me at hotel, no one could find it. There is no contact email for hotel, manager or conceirge on website--even the Hilton operator coulnt't find one for them. free wifi in lobby only.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank snwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your family visit to Bath whilst in the UK. The hotel was built in the early 70's and regrettably, atheistically it does not have the same architectural appeal as do most of the other historic buildings and landmarks in Bath. Should you need to contact the hotel directly, please use the ‘email hotel direct’ link on our web page or telephone the hotel directly for assistance. We hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting from the USA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    999
    629
    304
    162
See reviews for
570
1,205
82
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel on Friday 28th March for a long weekend and there the problem started the car park was full because what the hotel did not inform us of before hand is that the car park is not a part of the hotel but of the supermarket next door. Once in the car park it is best to leave the car there because it works out £15.00 per exit per day.
The hotel itself is good and modern with pleasant staff. Our room was 103 There was only one tiny lift working and the only stairs where at the far end of the reception /lounge area. The twin room was very compact which was ok for an overnight stay but any longer would be very cramped and there is only a very small single wardrobe and two small drawers so not enough space for clothing to be packed away. We were there for a black tie dinner so needed space to hang extra suit and evening gown. A good part of the room is taken up by a very large A/C unit. There is no insulation so you can hear people in the corridors and to some extent in the a joining rooms.
Food at the hotel is excellent and the service superb but at £21.00 for a bottle of house red and £5.50 for a shot of brandy you will have to watch what you drink. I suggest going to the Saracens Head pub just opposite if you fancy a pint or two. On asking about internet access I was told it is free in the public areas but if you want it in your room it will cost £14.99 per day. So the only place you can use your lap top is in the areas with everybody milling about. Overall this hotel is in a prime spot and ideally located for the town centre, service and food excellent but the prices are really OTT which made it a very expensive stay..

Room Tip: Do not have room 103 if you want some space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownrichard865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay whilst attending a black-tie function in the hotel. I am glad to read that you found the food excellent and the service to be superb during your stay. Similarly, that the hotel is a modern environment in which to relax with friendly pleasant staff, your compliments are appreciated, thank you. We do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience of one lift being out of service at the time of your stay and your patience regarding this is very much appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

London
Level Contributor
153 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Arriving in Bath on a Saturday afternoon for a friend's birthday celebration, I thought "at least the hotel website says there's parking available, even if it is £15 per night". Imagine my surprise when I discover the queue to get into the already full multi-storey (public) car park and spend the next 20 minutes driving round, and round, and round to try to find a space. Having finally parked, we enter the hotel. No surprise that there's a queue, it being a Saturday, but where was the Hilton Honours point which is meant to be a 'privilege' of membership?
Again, I suppose it can't be helped that only one lift was working (the other was undergoing maintenance, not that any work went on during the weekend of course). But the very small lift couldn't cope with the volumes of guests needing to get up and down, so many were forced to use the stairs (including us on a number of occasions).
The room was 'compact' (the hotel's description). I would say it was 'tiny'. It wou;d probably be sufficient for a single occupancy but not a couple. A very small bed, tiny bathroom with a weak shower, no mini bar, no bottled water...
Breakfast was chaotic in the extreme. Far too many people competing for the very limited buffet - resulting in long waits to get bacon, baked beans and tomatoes replenished. Such a long wait that some simply gave up. A limited number of pastries were available but the one I tasted seemed as though it had been out of the deep freeze that morning - it was certainly not fresh.
In short, the only thing going for this hotel is that it is central. It was an expensive and disappointing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review having attended a friend’s birthday celebration at the hotel. We do apologise for the inconvenience of a lift being out of service at the time of your stay. These works are necessary and essential maintenance work and with such work, there is never an ideal time to carry these out within the hotel. Your patience and understanding regarding this are very much appreciated, thank you. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the compact double room you had booked and that the HHonors section of the reception desk was not made available to you when checking into the hotel. Furthermore, that your experience at breakfast was less than satisfactory and that there was a long wait for the breakfast buffet to be replenished. Please be assured, the comments and observations you raise will be addressed accordingly with the appropriate heads of department. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Really central for everything. Busy area can be noisy at night, although the noise we encountered on Saturday night/ Sunday morning was mainly from other guests. Comfortable beds, clean and generally well equipped although few things missing from room; hair dryer, instructions on how to use heat/ air con. Polite attentive staff. Good breakfast. Please review your pillows they are far too soft, not standard hotel pillows and no extras in the room! I'd of told Hilton any of this if they had feedback forms anywhere! Ridiculous parking charge of £15 at Podium, park at the Southgate after 6pm, it's free until 9am.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HTJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your family stay. We are certainly very fortunate with our city centre location for exploring the historic city of Bath. Should you wish to exchange the pillow type that is supplied in guest bedrooms, this can be made by contacting the Housekeeping Department or Concierge, who will be able to supply feathered or non-feathered pillows on request, similarly additional pillows as required. However, I am pleased you found your room clean, well equipped and the beds comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Decided to stay for the evening to treat my partner. Was only expecting a comfortable room for the evening to make a break for ourselves. We were pleasantly surprised by the large room and very comfortable bed and pillows. You normally expect the cheap nasty pillows (even in the Hilton). but we both had a very good night sleep. The breakfast was amazing aswell. With a choice of hot and continental breakfast. There was a large selection of danishes, toast, bacon and BLACK PUDDING. very good hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments of our hotel and famous Hilton breakfast are very much appreciated, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed in a compact double which despite the name was actually quite spacious with a huge bed! The bathroom did only have a shower though which was fine for us but worth noting if you prefer to have a bath. Really clean room with a great view (we were on the 4th floor).
We arrived before we were able to check in and so left our bag with concierge, expecting to pick it up and bring up to our room when we got back in the evening. I was pleasantly surprised to find that our bag had been taken up to our room for us, this was a nice touch as it doesn't often happen in hotels, even in some 5* ones I have stayed in, in London.
The only real shame is that the hotel doesn't have it's own car park, you will need to park in the Podium public underground car park which unfortunately gets incredibly busy and you can't always guarantee a space. The car park was full when we arrived but luckily didn't have to drive around too long to find a space. This is definitely something to be aware of if like us you plan to check in, drop your stuff, park up and make your way to a local event (in our case a wedding). The parking is also very expensive given that we had already paid £120 for the night, it was another £15 which I would have expected to be less if not free for having stayed in the hotel. Despite this, the hotel and staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities in your room and the great views of Bath from the window. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel on Saturday 15 March. We wanted a family room for 4 in the centre of Bath and that is quite hard to get. The room and bathroom were very pleasant. Tea, coffee and sparkling water were complimentary. We had a deluxe room which I think is the only option for a family. The buffet breakfast was excellent and we had a good view of the river. It was expensive at £239 for 1 night but that was for all 4 of us with a substantial breakfast. The hotel was completely full which is fairly normal for a Saturday, the rate is much cheaper on a Sunday and during the week. The only downside was the sofa bed. It was too small for our 2 girls aged 12 and 15. The king bed was enormous so we ended up with the 12 year old sharing our bed which is not ideal. It would be better to have a queen bed and a larger sofa bed but that would not suit guests without children. It would be fine for 2 adults and 1 child or 2 adults and 2 small children. Maybe the hotel could consider having a few rooms with 2 queen beds for family bookings.The reception and restaurant staff were all very helpful. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gymstar101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your family stay and I am glad to read that the staff made you and the family feel welcome. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the South West of England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing