We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room & breakfast 10/10” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Room & breakfast 10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Wife's birthday we popped to bath the spa (thermo) was out of this world but the Hilton breakfast the next morning after great nights sleep in a comfy modern room with great Service made my day away... If your looking for a last minute trip this is the place to go..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your 5 star rating and recommendation of our hotel following your wife’s Birthday weekend spa break. Your compliments of our famous Hilton breakfast, comfortable modern guest rooms and the great service you received from our staff are very appreciated, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting the South West of England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    964
    600
    295
    151
See reviews for
540
1,155
80
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
worcester uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have stayed at the Hilton in Bath on a couple of occassions for the Spa weekends which include 2 nights, spa access and a 3 course meal with bottle of champagne on one of your nights.

The hotel has recently had a refurb so manages to combine contemporary with cosy ( as it is not huge ). The rooms arent big but more than adequate for the purpose and kept clean and tidy by house keeping.

The only minor glitch we had was with Hiltons online booking system which is an absolute joke and very frustrating..... so we just drove down and booked on the day.

Overall a good experience and we will be booking again this year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deano8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your spa-weekend break. I am happy that you find the hotel to be a well balanced mix of contemporary styling, with a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The Hilton in bath city is like every other hilton I have stayed in, staff are pleasant and willing to help. The hotel isn't the best looking and is in need of a bit of an update in some areas which I could see was actively being completed. The restaurant and bar area are lovely. I had a road facing room which was not loud as I sleep with the window open. I was pleasantly surprised how close the hilton was to everything. We parked the car in the podium and walk everywhere. There was no need for cars or taxis. We fell in love with bath and ended up booking an additional night. We fell in love with it so much we may be back in the Hilton bath city as soon as may...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mattswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review, I am delighted to read that you ‘fell in love’ with Bath so much that you decided to extended your stay with us. Your compliments of our hotels convenient location and welcoming staff are very much appreciated, thank you. We hope to welcome you back in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Hilton Bath is what you expect from a mid-range Hilton. Functional, clean and efficient but not somewhere you would necessarily recommend. It is housed in the ugliest building in a Bath and is a monument to the terrible architectural standards, and planning decisions, of the sixties and seventies, but on the plus side this means that the views are very good because you can't see the building you are in. Book a plaza room for the great views of the river and city.

The location is very good, being central to all the main sights and you won't need a car, bus or taxi while here. We came with a three and a five year old and walked everywhere without too much complaining!

Staff were very friendly and courteous, and the breakfast is typically reliable for a Hilton though the hotel is just a base rather than a destination in itself and you should eat out rather than here.

Room Tip: Plaza rooms overlooking the river on the third floor were good for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your family visit to Bath whilst in England. I am happy to read that you found the hotel to be clean and efficiently run, with friendly and courteous staff. Similarly, that you enjoyed the great uninterrupted views of the river and surrounding area from your room. Whilst the hotel does not have the same architectural appeal as some of the other historic buildings in Bath, we are certainly most fortunate with our city centre location and being within easy walking distance to all attractions that Bath has to offer. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and the family back next time you are visiting from the Oman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I had an overnight stay at this excellent hotel while on business. From the very polite and personable front desk staff to the restaurant staff to the ambiance of the property. All experiences were of a high standard and I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Its a little tired in terms of decor but the rooms were a generous size and the beds very comfortable. Only irrirant was the £15 parking charge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickwood50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your 5 star rating and recommendation of our hotel following your business stay with us. I am glad to read that you found the staff professional and friendly and your recommendation of our hotel is very much appreciated thank you. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Visited recently for a weekend away, a first visit to bath. Use the hilton chain a fair bit on my travels and always satisfied. However this one really stood out. It is very rare to find a hotel where you experience sublime drinks, but this is not the case at the hilton in bath. Having an avid appreciation for fine drinks, I was delighted to come across Davide in the bar, who displayed fine knowledge and application with his beverages. As I was unsure of what i fancied to drink pre dinner, he recommended a very light gin cocktail, and even talked through why he put the flavours together. A very polite and welcoming gentleman. To which we did return to the bar for a night cap!
The room was spacious and very comfortable beds! Will definitely be returning again soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GC356_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your 5* review and taking the time to post your comments having visited Bath for the first time. Your compliments of our hotels facilities and in particular David, with his inspired expertise as a bar tender are very much appreciated, thank you. I will ensure he receives your gratitude and we hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Bath City soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Good food clean and large rooms. The Hotel us situated within a 5 minute walk of the city centre. We stayed at the Hotel for a weekend function. The reception area and the hotel in general is a bit tired and need refurbishment. Takes along time to check in and sometimes the staff get confused with what is required, most staff are East European. The major downside is that car parking is in the main car park next door which costs £15 for the weekend providing you do not use your vehicle, multi entry and exits are charged accordingly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Code8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review having attended a weekend function at the hotel. Your compliments of the food, our large and clean guest rooms, as well as our central city location are appreciated, thank you. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Bath City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing