We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hilton bath”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Bath
manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hilton bath”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good centrally located hotel good fitness centre, nice equipment, but crowded. nice magazine to read, which was nice and an added bonus no pool no steam room poor parking very comfortable poor amenties in room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Anuj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found us ideally located for exploring the beautiful city of Bath and enjoyed the facilities in the fitness centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    977
    613
    299
    156
See reviews for
552
1,177
80
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We, as a family regularly stay at Hilton in many cities in the world. This time we stayed for two nights on 14th and 15th April, 2014 in Room 336 at Hilton Bath City and was appalled for several reasons. The room was not cleaned at all. Our room had a chicken bone on the carpet - even after it was cleaned in the morning. In addition, the carpet was not vacuumed and had bits and pieces lying all over. The toilet floor was not cleaned either and was full of loose hair lying all over, The tap was full of water marks - something one does not expect in a hotel of this class!! That was not enough - the bedsheet was just placed loosely over the bed - not tucked in and there was no 'Hilton special bed" that we always get!!! It was very obvious that the cleaning team was either not working or was extremely inefficient. Overall, though the location of the hotel was very good, our stay was marred because of the quality of cleanliness of the room. On top of that there was only one lift - the other one was being repaired - so we had to wait to go up and down!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalyaniChatterjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review and we welcome all our guests feedback. Needless to say, I am truly sorry to read your comments following your family stay with us and we are most grateful to you for bringing these matters to our attention. Please be assured, the observations you make regarding the lack of room cleanliness will be addressed directly with the Head Housekeeper and her Supervisors. I sincerely apologise that these issues marred the overall enjoyment of your stay. Your stay is certainly not indicative of the experience we wish you to have had, we do hope that you will visit us again next time you are travelling in the UK and that we may restore your faith in the Hilton Bath City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed for one night as our son was visiting Bath uni for the open day we had a 40% discount as my wife works for the NHS if we had paid full price we would have been very disappointed the two rooms were described as deluxe and deluxe plus although they were of good standard we thought for a Hilton hotel they would have been much better on the plus side the staff were all very helpful and pleasant and the breakfast was very good probably the best part of the stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
783 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is only 10 minutes from the station. It is built over a car park, for those using their own transport. It is only five minutes from the Abbey, so you could walk to most of the City's sites with ease.

The check in was efficiently executed, friendly and helpful. Check out was also as simple although, interestingly, I hesitated when asked whether I had had a good night and the receptionist did not come back to me on this, although he had clearly noticed.

My room was small but perfectly formed. It also looked like it had been recently refurbished. It was well lit, with a good work space, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities (although, meanly, no biscuits) and two bottles of water - which was a thoughtful touch.

The bed did not cut it for me and I did not have a good night's sleep - hence my hesitation. Although a double, it was a small double and I would be wary if a couple staying at this hotel. Make sure you ask how big the bed is. The main problem for me, though, was that the duvet just sat on the bed and was about equal to the surface area. So there was no overlap at the sides and as I am someone who is constantly moving when asleep, the duvet kept coming off. Why so mean, Mr Hilton?

There is a large TV, although the reception was variable and sometimes the picture was rather hazy. A saving grace is perfect air-conditioning. My American relatives would love this hotel!

The bathroom was elegant but cramped. It had a large shower at the expense of the loo. Very oddly, the loo roll dispenser is almost at floor level??? There were good quality toiletries on offer.

I did not eat dinner, but did have a good breakfast in the very elegant dining room. There was a good choice of dishes available. My only criticism, common to many hotels with a buffet, is that the bacon was poorly cooked. Bacon should be crispy, not congealed to the next rasher… The juice and coffee were both great.

So, overall, an average experience at £83 for the night.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about the size of the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your business stay. I am glad to read that you found the staff efficient and friendly, as well as the facilities in your room appropriate for your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Quality of the hotel was just about acceptable. but room was very noisy at all times. The noises were just ordinary sounds of people in corridors, doors opening, next door rooms. Not the most relaxing place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank tonylucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your family visit to Bath City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Breakfast is good. The location central, but the building ugly. The Parking expensive at £15, but I knew this when I booked it. In fact I had also read here that the check in was a disaster for others - it was for me too. The Hilton Honours desk wasn't manned and we stood there like a couple of 'lemons' whilst some crisis or another was being resolved. It also doesn't help that the reception is laid out terribly, which makes it impossible to wait without being in the way!

As if to add insult to the situation, when I was handed my key I was told room 105 had a lovely view of the river. Ah! So all worth it then? Nope. It would have had a nice view of the river if we had been higher, or if someone hadn't built the roof on the restaurant below!

Room was a twin as requested, away from the lift, as requested, although only one lift was working! Bathroom was clean, the shower, new, was pathetic. I can forgive most things but not a lame shower. Room was clean and quite smart but very small, especially compared the Twin premier Inn I had stayed in two nights previously!

The toiletries in the room had already been used and not replaced which is a disgrace. The Kettle doesn't easily fit in the new modern bathroom sinks and as our room only had a shower we didn't have the option of filling it up in the bath

The biggest kicker however was the WiFi which wasn't free which for a hotel of this caliber is unacceptable.

So it seems that whilst these hotels read these reviews, often providing feedback, it seems to me that Hilton Bath hasn't acted on others comments on this establishment. I love a lot of Hilton's (the one in Leeds is particularly good), but I won't be revisiting or recommending this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your business stay. I am sorry to read that you
experienced a problem with the shower pressure in room 105 and we are grateful to you for bringing this to our attention, our maintenance team will investigate this issue. We do apologise for the inconvenience of a lift being out of service at the time of your stay. These works are necessary and essential maintenance work and with such work, there is never an ideal time to carry these out within the hotel. Your patience and understanding regarding this are very much appreciated, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Love the hotel, fab big room (deluxe family) and super clean, plus very friendly staff. Big problem though - despite asking for a quiet room (travelling with toddlers) we were put in a room directly opposite the smoking terrace of a nightclub so it was too noisy to settle the children down all night.
Also quite a few tramps seem to be in the vicinity with their special brew, noisy and a bit intimidating!
Very close to town and there's a Waitrose down the road. Parking very expensive, £15 a day!

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a room on the riverside and check when you arrive - far quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weallgoouttogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your family stay with us. I am glad to read that you liked the hotel, enjoyed your large family guest room, similarly that the room was spotlessly clean and the staff made you and the family welcome. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Bath City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing