We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in town”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location in town”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good hotel with comfortable rooms and at a good location in town. A renovation of rooms and public areas would be welcomed but in general it is well maintained. Walking from the train station takes about 10 minutes. Points of interests in town are also close by. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jzv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I am happy to hear that your room was comfortable and the hotels location convenient for exploring Bath city centre. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    993
    623
    302
    158
See reviews for
561
1,197
82
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We found standards here have dropped since our last visit and the hotel has become just another shabby city break pit stop. The dining facilities are cheaply furnished, of poor quality and most uninviting. There was little loo paper in the bathroom, no tea and coffee and we couldn't open any windows on a stifling night. Needless to say, neither of us slept and we were glad to get home. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent family stay. I am sorry to read that there was a lack of guest amenities supplied in your room and this issue will be addressed with the Head Housekeeper and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location, with easy parking for your car under the hotel. It's within walking distance of everything in the city centre. As other reviews state, I would expect better cleanliness standards from Hilton. The price was not brilliant value given the competition has better standards of room quality and cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaKMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you find us ideally located in the city centre and within easy walking distance of all the local attractions and historic places of interest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I expected to be sure of a certain standard from a Hilton hotel, and yes the public areas of the hotel were clean and well presented if a little tired round the edges, but the bedroom we had booked a queen deluxe room and that's what we were given. Room had all the standard modern facilities as expected but all were very well worn and not in the greatest working order, the bathroom was damp, cold, dirty and poorly maintained. The corners of the room were dusty and dirty. The stair access was filthy and in need of a good Hoover, but one lift was out of service so this access was the quickest. The exterior of the hotel was very tired and not at all enticing. Be careful of extra charges, ie £10 for borrowing an umbrella! £15 for parking, and service charges.

One of the only good points was the fact my dog was allowed in all parts of the hotel, that was a big bonus. Staff were also helpful but a little thin on the ground. But We won't be returning to this particular hotel. It is clearly heavily used and not heavily maintained.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I am very sorry to read of your disappointment following your stay with us, furthermore, that we did not deliver the certain standards normally expected from a Hilton hotel. Nevertheless, we are appreciative to you for taking the time to post your comments as we use these to monitor our guests satisfaction and our service levels. The observations you raise regarding general maintenance and cleanliness within the hotel will be brought to the attention of the appropriate heads of departments directly by the Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good centrally located hotel good fitness centre, nice equipment, but crowded. nice magazine to read, which was nice and an added bonus no pool no steam room poor parking very comfortable poor amenties in room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Anuj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found us ideally located for exploring the beautiful city of Bath and enjoyed the facilities in the fitness centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We, as a family regularly stay at Hilton in many cities in the world. This time we stayed for two nights on 14th and 15th April, 2014 in Room 336 at Hilton Bath City and was appalled for several reasons. The room was not cleaned at all. Our room had a chicken bone on the carpet - even after it was cleaned in the morning. In addition, the carpet was not vacuumed and had bits and pieces lying all over. The toilet floor was not cleaned either and was full of loose hair lying all over, The tap was full of water marks - something one does not expect in a hotel of this class!! That was not enough - the bedsheet was just placed loosely over the bed - not tucked in and there was no 'Hilton special bed" that we always get!!! It was very obvious that the cleaning team was either not working or was extremely inefficient. Overall, though the location of the hotel was very good, our stay was marred because of the quality of cleanliness of the room. On top of that there was only one lift - the other one was being repaired - so we had to wait to go up and down!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalyaniChatterjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review and we welcome all our guests feedback. Needless to say, I am truly sorry to read your comments following your family stay with us and we are most grateful to you for bringing these matters to our attention. Please be assured, the observations you make regarding the lack of room cleanliness will be addressed directly with the Head Housekeeper and her Supervisors. I sincerely apologise that these issues marred the overall enjoyment of your stay. Your stay is certainly not indicative of the experience we wish you to have had, we do hope that you will visit us again next time you are travelling in the UK and that we may restore your faith in the Hilton Bath City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed for one night as our son was visiting Bath uni for the open day we had a 40% discount as my wife works for the NHS if we had paid full price we would have been very disappointed the two rooms were described as deluxe and deluxe plus although they were of good standard we thought for a Hilton hotel they would have been much better on the plus side the staff were all very helpful and pleasant and the breakfast was very good probably the best part of the stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing