We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for exploring Bath”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ideal location for exploring Bath”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked a weekend in Bath for our wedding anniversary and actually changed our booking from a B&B just on the outskirts to this centrally located hotel. The location is fantastic and has a secure car park which is definitely a benefit since parking in Bath is challenging. You can park the car and walk to everything. Our room was on the 4th floor and had a view over the river Avon. The room was very comfortable and quiet. We loved the fact that the window would open. And I loved the fact that hair conditioner is part of the toiletries! The staff were also very helpful on arrival and check in and out was swift. Breakfast was lovely - plenty of choice and we were seated quickly. We also ate in the restaurant on our first night. The menu is based on French brassiere style - we both had steak frites and it was just fine. We plan on returning for another trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel so you don't get one overlooking the main road at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your 5 star rating having stayed with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Your compliments of the hotels location, convenient and secure car parking, room facilities and welcoming helpful staff are very much appreciated, thank you. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    999
    629
    304
    162
See reviews for
570
1,205
82
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salida
Level Contributor
575 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Generally when we travel we always stay at Hilton products. This is our second time selecting them in the UK. They seem to be well under their normal international standards. The hotel's location was ok. Actually on a very active street. But it did not affect our good night's sleep. The room was well sized and generally well appointed. The staff was good. The elevator was out and this really created a problem for the guests. I understand that these things do happen. The breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed a cocktail in the lobby bar and two occasions, each time the staff seemed quite indifferent and we had to order at the bar. I can not compare this hotel with other hotels in the area. The desk staff was very helpful and assisted with our very early departure.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay with us. I am glad to read that despite our city centre location, you enjoyed a good night’s sleep and found the amenities in your room well appointed. Similarly, that you found our famous Hilton breakfast delicious. We hope to welcome you back next time you are travelling in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
212 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here 1 night on a Gate 1 tour...great location to the main streets..saw the Olympic torch pass thru Bath...great window view of the local street with cafes...large rooms..great bed! Also just 1 block from a huge grocery store!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckylou56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your 5* review and compliments of our hotel. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you are travelling in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very conveniently located, the hotel is within walking distance from the Roman baths. While small, the room was adequate. No tub, but the large glass-enclosed shower felt safer and more secure. Unfortunately, the water backed up because the drain was full of hair. Yuck!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank songbirdtova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay. I am glad to read that you found us ideally located for exploring Bath City centre with all its historical attractions. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you are travelling in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is the perfect in foot location for exploring the incredible city of Bath. Literally in the centre a stones throw from historic sights and great shopping and dining. Sorry if this sounds like a hotel brochure but if you want to explore Bath on foot this hotel is hard to beat. Some renovations being done and £15 to park and only a tiny fitness room but all acceptable because you will only be sleeping here! So much to see. Nice dining room and breakfast - very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your 5 star rating and compliments of our hotels central location and convenience for exploring the city centre. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that the staff made you feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a birthday weekend in Bath back in March.

The plus points for the hotel include an excellent evening meal in the restaurant and as others have pointed out it's central location.

However I cannot consider this hotel anywhere close to being value for money?

Our room was run down and in desperate need of refurbishment as were other areas of the hotel such as the corridors, lifts etc.

The city side rooms have very poor soundproofing which caused a major issue in trying to sleep overnight as we were rudely awoken by the pubs/clubs kicking out and the typical arguments, fights etc.

The parking is also an issue. It took us 20 minutes of circling on a Saturday afternoon to find a space. The hotel were also not at all clear on the process to pay for the parking instead this was something we discovered when we were exiting the car park from the attendent.

There are better hotels in Bath than this (for £60-£70/night less) and those that gave rave reviews either have very low standards or are hotel staff.

In fact in summary in other parts of the country I have probably stayed in better Premier Inns !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttraveller087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your Birthday stay and your compliments of your excellent dining experience in the Atelier Restaurant is appreciated, I will ensure the Chef receives your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

There are some serious improvements needed for this Hilton Hotel to attain the standards expected. In particular, the breakfast service and the quality of the breakfast food needs a radical examination to ensure the stay is value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your family stay. I apologise if you experienced a lack of customer service at breakfast, additionally that the breakfast buffet selection was a disappointment and not up to our renowned Hilton standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing