We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath City Centre”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bath City Centre”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is very close indeed to the City Centre with its great shops. The room wasn't the largest, but perfectly adequate. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent, as was our dinner, and service was good. The bar staff were attentive. Very helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina0579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and your compliments of our hotel are very much appreciated. I am glad to read that you found the staff attentive and helpful, the food excellent and the hotel ideally located for exploring the city centre of Bath. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    999
    629
    304
    162
See reviews for
570
1,205
82
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
362 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

For a hotel built in a city with so much rich history and architecture going back to Roman times, the criticism that it received when newly built, is probably somewhat deserved. It has a rather a bland 70's exterior, and the rooms are small with little character, though everything is clean and well taken care of. As well, the hallways are long and winding - our first room was 3 long hallways away from the elevator! When we switched from the twin room to the double, it was much closer.

In the double room, the bathroom had no bathtub, but there was a very roomy semi-circular shower. Perhaps it is a custom in Britain, but we found it strange to have the toilet paper holders very close to the floor. Another interesting feature was the touch laser lighting on the mirror... in keeping with the disco era, I guess. We had great bath sheets, a full array of toiletries, even a bathroom scale! You will note from the pictures that the two rooms were very different.

We had a large in-room safe, comfy duvet, flat screen TV, iron and board- but tiny closets- and coffee making amenities. The staff was very good about helping us change rooms and getting us additional glasses. In our second room, though it was more dated, it had an interesting curved shape to the counter space which served as a great make-up area close to the mirror.

The hotel was close to all the attractions of the city downtown (Cathedral, Roman Baths), easy walking distance. There were several comfy sitting areas in the lobby.

The best part was the view from our room.... the hillside in the distance, the Avon River in the foreground, and the city in between. We could see the shops on the Pulteney Bridge (much like the Rialto in Venice or the Ponte Vecchio in Florence). And it was a full moon rising in the east! That would be worth the price of going back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluePointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review whilst travelling in the UK. I am glad that you found us ideally situated for exploring the beautiful historic city of Bath and all its local attractions. Your compliments of the hotels facilities and helpful staff are appreciated, thank you. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Celebrated my birthday in Bath and we stayed at the Hilton. Joanne Blakey, Reception Manager, could not have been more helpful and made our stay extremely special. Would like to thank Joanne and the other staff for a very high quality service. We would certainly recommend the hotel and use it again ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your 5* rating following your Birthday stay. I am delighted to read that all the staff made your day a special one, particularly Joanne and the high quality of customer service you received. Thank you also for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Even with GPS, finding the hotel was not easy, as it is down a side road. Once found, the room was spacious, with large beds and even a river view! There are a few pubs nearby, as well as the Baths and the Cathedral. Elevators are a bit small. Parking is rather expensive, and involves negotiating a tight parking garage, but it is right under the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a Plaza room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your spacious guest room and the pretty views of the river, also the convenience of parking so close to the hotel. We hope to welcome you back should you be travelling in the UK again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My Husband and Myself were lucky enough to be given another experience voucher for Christmas (Three course Meal for two/Champagne Cocktails at Hilton Hotel of choice. We chose Bath again as we live a short distance away. Our visit last year was perfect in every way so we were a bit apprehensive that maybe
this time it would not be as perfect, but we came away feeling just as impressed. The staff were lovely in every aspect and the waitress allocated to our table was very attentive, making sure everything was as it should be for the entire evening. We opted to pay a supplement on the dishes we chose, but thats not to say there
was not plenty to choose from on the set menu included in our voucher.

The vegetable soup/Crusty roll was our first course and we both agreed it was the
best soup we have ever tasted.

My husband still says the steak is the best he has ever had in any restaurant and
there have been many over the years, but it was of the highest quality and cooked to
perfection, served with an adequate portion of chips in mini basket on the
plate, along with the usual mushrooms, tomato etc.

My vegetarian option of goats cheese and tomato tartlet served with potato and vegetable
plus a very tasty sauce was also enjoyable.

The desserts were all very tempting on the menu, but even more delicious when they
arrived.at the table.


A nice coffee to finish off the evening was the final touch to another perfect evening.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone dining in Bath, it may be a bit
on the expensive side, but you do get what you pay for.

Try it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your 5* review following your dining experience in the Atelier Restaurant and I am delighted to read that your experience was as ‘perfect’ as your previous visits. I will ensure your compliments of the food and the excellent customer service received are passed onto the Chef and Restaurant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just back from an overnight stay at the Hilton. The staff were wonderful but I was disappointed with the comfort or lack of in our room. The beds were hard and my daughter and I had little sleep. We ate in the restaurant and the meal was ok but lacked flavour. The monk fish was quite strong a sure sign it was not fresh. Location was great for the theatre but if I decided to use this hotel again I would see if they had a better upgraded room just to have a decent sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyfavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review having stayed whilst taking-in a show locally. I am sorry to hear that you found the mattress too hard, however, it is appreciated that mattress density is a very personal one. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and the family back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Booked the hotel last minute, booked an exec room. Found the hotel very easy in the centre of bath, car parking is in the general car park under the hotel, with easy access to the hotel, the reception area and bar area looked very good. Room was clean and of ample size, the only thing I would say was the bed was abit soft. Breakfast was very good. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Your compliments of our hotel and its amenities are very much appreciated, thank you. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing