We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, United States
1 review
“Bath”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The rooms were to small even with the undersized twin beds you had to wiggle around your luggage. There was no bath just a shower. The wait staff and bartenders knew what they were doing and kept smiles on their faces.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay whilst travelling in the UK. Your 5* ratings for the hotels location, cleanliness and the customer service you received are appreciated, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    999
    629
    304
    162
See reviews for
570
1,205
82
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
249 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is located at the bottom end of Walcot Street and is a short walk from the main tourist attractions, namely the abbey and the Roman baths. It is around a 15 minute stroll to the railway station.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and although our family room was clean, it was a little on the small side and requires updating with more modern fittings in the near future.

The breakfast was excellent and the omelettes we ordered were very nice. We'd purchased breakfast vouchers for £10 each and it turned out to be reasonable value.

We stayed for just the one Saturday night and found the cost to be high, but the Hilton was one of the few hotels that gave the option of a one night stay (others required a minimum stay of two nights). I appreciate that Bath is a tourist town and that Hilton is not a budget chain, but nearly £250 for one night is more than double what I've paid at other Hiltons.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Coach55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent family stay. I am pleased that you found the staff welcoming and the location of the hotel ideally situated for visiting the attractions in Bath City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

In order to keep the integrity of the true Roman Bath, the buildings surrounding the baths had to look ancient. The Hilton may look run down from the outside, but the inside was decent. Restaurant was very good, though the meat was a little dry when served. Beds were comfortable and rooms were quiet.

Hotel close to shops but few resturaunts.There is a Marks & Spencers down the street to buy sandwiches if the pubs are not to your liking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaBear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

And I'm not talking about the exterior which is akin to a 70s office block.

No, shabby extends to the way in which guests are fleeced of cash at every opportunity. Want wi fi in your room? That'll be £14,99 per 24hours. Want to park your car? That'll be £15. Some butter with your dinner? To you just £2....

The hotel is easiest one of the tattiest Hilton's I've stayed in. It's as though it's location alone means there will be a steady stream of tourist trade so why bother with investing in the place?

One of the lifts was out of service when I stayed there which meant one lift servicing five floors. Really not that convenient.

While the communal areas were dingy and dark- even on a bright summers day, the rooms were clean and typically anonymous. No complaints here, it served its purpose.

Staff were all extremely courteous and helpful.

Pity that the hotel didn't do them justice.

Not up to standard and not recommend as a base for Bath and the surrounds.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologise for the inconvenience of a lift being out of service at the time of your stay. These works are necessary and essential maintenance work and with such work, there is never an ideal time to carry these out within the hotel. Your patience and understanding regarding this was very much appreciated, thank you. I am pleased to read that you found the staff extremely courteous and helpful, your room clean and appropriate for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Pleasant staff, lovely cosy bar, quality delux room. Handy with parking underneath Hotel. Everything within easy walking distance. Breakfast is perfect great choice along with good quality. Great value for money at £250 for the night which I though represented good value for money. Will use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex186291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your weekend stay. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and that you find the hotels facilities, location and famous Hilton breakfast to be good quality and good value. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

From the moment we arrived everything was exceptional, including the weather! The Hilton Bath has succeeded in setting the bar high for others to replicate their high standards. I would definitely recommend to friends and will be returning in the not too distant future. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your 5 star rating and praise of our hotel, your recommendation and compliments are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
220 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellently located close to the Roman Bath, within walkable distance. Had only breakfast at the hotel which was sumptuous and very good. Near eating places offer a variety of cuisine. Overall made our stay enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RajanJamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay whilst travelling in the UK. I am glad that your visit was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing