We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living Social deals Champagne french inspired afternoon tea”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Living Social deals Champagne french inspired afternoon tea”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Thank you, Hilton. You really know how to spoil us girls!. Had a fantastic afternoon made all the better as celebrating my friend's birthday it was acknowledged in the best way possible way, a further glass of bubbly with strawberry stirrer. Excellent time had by us both. Service excellent, nothing too much trouble. Very memorable and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and I am delighted that we made your friend’s Birthday a happy and memorable one. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    1,018
    643
    316
    166
See reviews for
592
1,231
86
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel a little earlier than standard check in time, around 1:30pm to find we had been upgraded from the booked ‘compact double’ to a split lever Junior Suite, very nice. The hotel utilises an underground car park next door which has very low max headroom of just 6ft, we were driving a 4x4 and were concerned about parking it. The receptionist wasted no time in allowing us to park on the double yellow lines right outside the hotel and gave us a ticket to display in the window, fantastic. For anyone with a blue badge, there are about 6 spaces right outside the hotels front door giving very convenient disabled access. There are 2 lifts but one was closed for maintenance, so sometimes there was a little wait. Our room was lovely, nice comfortable bed, large bathroom with bath, shower and additional separate shower with a rainwater type head. Then there were short stairs down to the lounge area with dining table, two sofas a coffee table, fridge, small desk, writing desk and a flat screen TV. We were very pleased with the room. As far as location goes, the hotel is right in the city centre and all attractions are just a short walk away. It was a warm Summers day, so we took a walk around the town and the shops, stopped for some lunch (see separate review) and then went back to the hotel for a nap. We decided to take advantage of the advertised offer of a two course dinner in the hotel restaurant for £15 each. There was a menu on display in the lobby and we enquired with reception if there were any extras or supplements to pay, she said no choose any two courses, so we purchased the voucher at reception and proceeded to the restaurant.
Once seated in the restaurant, we were given menus which were the same as the one in reception, however, when we produced our voucher, those were taken from us and we were given another menu showing supplementary payments for some of the dishes (an extra £6 for steak etc). We politely explained to the server who was Italian and very polite that we were told expressly that no supplements would apply. She said no we had to pay extra for some dishes, we suggested she speak with the manager. The manager agreed that there was a communication error and we would not be charged any supplements.
We ordered onion soup to start, it came promptly but the stock was far too rich and it was almost inedible. The main course wasn’t much better. My partner ordered steak which was tough and full of gristle it was supposed to come with a garlic butter sauce but instead it was just a knob of garlic butter. I ordered beef bourguignon and it was just that in a large pie dish, no garnish or vegetables. To be honest, the restaurant meal spoilt an otherwise excellent stay. Breakfast the next morning was very busy but the staff were very attentive, even asking three times if we wanted tea or coffee. The breakfast food was plentiful and of high standard, the only strange thing was having to stretch over the hot toasting machine to reach the boxed cereals. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: if possible ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am glad to read that you would definitely stay with us again. Your comments and observations regarding your dining experience will be addressed directly with the Restaurant Manager and his Supervisors and I apologise that this one issue marred what was otherwise an excellent stay. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel based in the perfect location to explore all that Bath has to offer. Room was clean, bright and comfortable. Request a riverside room for stunning views across Bath. Staff made us very welcome and the breakfast was fantastic. Huge choice at breakfast of fresh food and any dietary requirements well catered for. Parking under the hotel at £15 per night when your token is validated by reception, if you have a lot of luggage would recommend offloading at the drop off point outside reception as depending on available spaces in the car park you may need to climb lots of stairs. After only a short stay my husband and I will be returning to continue to explore all that Bath has to offer!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdeleNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your 5* review, your compliments of our hotels location, comfortable guest room and welcoming staff are very much appreciated, thank you. I will ensure the hotel team receives your gratitude. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location in the centre of town. You are really near all the sites but the hotel is looking a bit dated and the room was small.

They have a deal with the local car park to get a discount but it still works out fairly expensive for parking but I would imagine it's like that all over Bath.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMilkMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotels central location in the city centre of Bath City. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited Bath and stayed at the Hilton. Firstly, the customer service was really excellent.
There was a slight problem on arrival with the room I had booked. The reception manager heard of this, and came out to sort it out- what good and prompt service!.

We were there for five days. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet, overlooking the river.
Although Wi-Fi is chargeable in the rooms, it is free in the reception area, so no problem here.

The location is excellent, with Bath City in easy walking distance for all the sights and more.

The Hilton Hotel, in my view, is to be recommended.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel at a higher level, which is quiet and you have a nice view of the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and taking the time to post your feedback following your stay with us. Your compliments of our hotels convenient city centre location and the excellent customer service you received is very much appreciated, similarly your recommendation of our hotel, thank you. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I booked a short break in Bath and chose this hotel because it was the cheapest we could find with a central location. The welcome was lovely and the staff were very helpful. Room was clean and modern and everything worked well. Internet struggled at peak times but was otherwise fine. Restaurant was good although some of the staff weren't quite on the ball. We would consider staying here if we came back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Bath City for a recent short break. Your 5*rating is very much appreciated, thank you. I am happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room clean, modern and comfortable. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Bath Hilton was clean and well presented. Staff were courteous and helpful. The room was clean well laid out with a great view over the Bath rooftops. The only thing that marred an otherwise nice stay was three false fire alarms during the night. The first one being just after 4am.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad that you found your room clean, well appointed and with a great view of the city. We apologise for the erroneous fire alarm system fault during the night, your patience and understanding regarding this matter was very much appreciated, thank you. I am truly sorry that this marred the overall enjoyment of what was otherwise a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,367 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing