We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

International family reunion. It was all going off the rails until taken over by Vipul Kapur, Deputy Hotel Manager. From then on everything was very good, indeed. Only small criticism was rather high room rate. Otherwise, excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Fredrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieSteward, General Manager at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mr Palmer,

Thank you so much for your delightful review on trip advisor following your recent family reunion at the Hilton Bath.

I understand that the event was a resounding success and thank you sincerely for your wonderful comments regarding Vipul's management of the situation and booking.

Mr Palmer, thank you for taking the time and trouble to convey your comments to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jennie Steward
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    999
    628
    304
    162
See reviews for
570
1,205
82
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I was a bit concerned about the negative reviews after I booked the hotel and I don't share the negative opinions of those reviewers now I have stayed here. We had a family room of two double beds, and the sofa was also converted into a cot when I arrived in the room. The exterior is a bit bland, typical 70's brick-and-glass architecture that reminds me of my college dorm. But inside it's done up very nicely with modern interiors. Kids were given special activity packets arrival which is a very nice gesture. Breakfast was excellent as well. It may lack the historical charm of the many boutique hotels in Bath, but it is certainly a convenient place to stay. Everything was immaculate. It's next to a Waitrose and about 5 min on foot from the Roman Bath and the abbey. It also has underground parking so quite convenient for those traveling with a car. Very cheerful and friendly staff as well. Hotel guests can also take advantage of the terrace in the back of the hotel, which has amazing view of the Pulteney bridge and the river. I would not hesitate to stay here again .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twodiamondmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieSteward, General Manager at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear twodiamondmom,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have written following your recent stay at the Hilton Bath.

I was delighted to read your comments and observations regarding the hotel and truly appreciate you giving us a chance despite some personal opinions from other reviewers resulting in negative reviews.

I do hope that your children enojyed there stay with us and also the sights of Bath. I was pleased to read that breakfast was excellent and that the room allocated to you was suitable for your family.

I will also convey your comments to my team in regards to your observations on their cheerful and friendly service and thank you for those comments.

Twodiamondmom, thank you for taking the time and trouble to convey your comments to us and hope that we can welcome you back to the Hilton Bath in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jennie Steward
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel room was small but clean, the bed was uncomfortable, a hard mattress and only a double in size, would have expected better sleeping facilities.
The hotel drinks very expensive, two large glasses of wine approx £20
Breakfast average, but a good choice
No free wi fi
Had to pay £15 to park the car over night

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieSteward, General Manager at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Sandra P,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Hilton Bath City.

I was disappointed to read your comments and observations regarding the size of your bedroom and the uncomfortableness and size of our mattress. The room which you had booked is a Double Hilton Compact which is one of our slightly smaller rooms and has a double bed. All of our mattresses were brand new just under 12 months ago and are slightly on the firm side. I appreciate that a firm mattress is not to everyone's liking and sincerely apologise if this caused you any inconvenience or discomfort.

I have also noted your comments regarding the charges for beverage, wifi and car parking and thank you for commenting on these.

Sandra P, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time and trouble to convey your comments to us.

Kind Regards,

Jennie Steward
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
207 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel had the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. Only there 1 night so it did not matter much but I could barely open my suitcase. Beautiful restaurant area, nice lobby, next door to Waitrose grocery store, can walk to Roman Baths and other areas of interest.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieSteward, General Manager at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mary Ellen B,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Hilton Bath City.

I was sorry to read that the size of the room allocated to you was not to your satisfaction and apologise if this caused you any inconvenience.

On a more positive note, I was pleased to read that you were pleased with our restaurant area and that the location of the hotel was convenient for your visit to the Roman Baths and other areas of interest.

Mary Ellen B, thank you for taking the time and trouble to convey your comments to us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Bath in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jennie Steward
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night and generally hotel is what is expected for a modern city centre. The location of the hotel is excellent being few minutes walk from Romans Baths and other tourists sites. There is parking with the hotel at a price of £15 but do bear in mind if you use the car and have to leave the car park it will be £15 everytime you use the car park.
Room was a little small but we did only choose the compact double room. One point of irritation was lack of free wifi for a room costing over £150 per night was probbaly not great... bUt overall hotel was good enough for a short stay like for us and with close proximity to Bath centre..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieSteward, General Manager at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear K L,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Hilton Bath City.

I was pleased to read that the location of the hotel was excellent in terms of proximity to the Roman Baths and other tourist sites and that our hotel was generally what you had expected.

I have noted your observations regarding the WiFi at the hotel which is currently under review by our Hilton Head Office.

As you have rightly pointed out, the £15.00 charge at the Podium Car Park is per exit and whilst I appreciate if you take your car out each day it will be more than the £15.00, if you are able to leave your car for the duration it works out as extremely good value for money.

K L, thank you for taking the time and trouble to convey your comments to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jennie Steward
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A bit disappointing. A bit noisy and an issue with the lift which was resolved. The bar was slow a I had to ask for the bill three times whilst staff chatted amongst themselves at reception. Travelodge service at Hilton rates and wifi extra. No thanks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Blackdiamondfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieSteward, General Manager at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Blackdiamondfrog,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us at Hilton Bath.

I was truly disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay and more importantly your comments concerning my team. This is not the level of customer service that is normally displayed at my hotel and please be assured that your observations have been conveyed to the relevant heads of department for immediate review.

Blackdiamondfrog, thank you for taking the time and trouble to convey your comments to us and I do hope that we will be able to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Bath and restore your faith in our customer service.

Kind Regards,

Jennie Steward
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The location for this hotel is spot on - very close to town, next to Waitrose and a couple of nice coffee shops. Very easy to visit the Roman Baths and the other touristy places. Everything was very clean and the beds were comfortable. We didn't have a bath in the bathroom which was a bit disappointing, but the shower was perfectly decent.

We stayed in a twin room at the back of the hotel, so we could just about see the Pulteney Bridge and the river. We'd asked for a quiet room, but we were given a room very close to the lifts so we had to suffer incredibly inconsiderate people yelling their way to their rooms from the lift all night (I think there was a wedding at the hotel that day, so I assume they were guests). If we had been there two nights, we would have asked to be moved.

Breakfast was ok - the food tasted quite low quality and things like the bacon and sausages weren't great. Bearing in mind you have to pay for breakfast, I'd hoped for something a bit better than this. The Hilton also persist in charging for WiFi which I find surprising in this day and age.

The thing that saved this hotel from a very lower mark was the staff. The receptionist was fantastic, really welcoming and warm, and the waitress we had at breakfast was equally cheery. Genuinely lovely people.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel has views over the river - the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laesning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieSteward, General Manager at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Angelite44,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Hilton Bath City.

I am truly sorry to read your comments and observations about the location of your bedroom and apologise for the noise disturbance you suffered during the night of your stay. I was also extremely disappointed to read of the poor quality of breakfast items on the morning of your departure and have addressed these points wihth my Head Chef.

On a more positive note, I was delighted to read that the customer service you experienced from the receptionist through to the waitress at breakfast was fantastic and that their genuine warmth was conveyed to you.

Angelite44, thank you for taking the time and trouble to convey your comments to us and I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jennie Steward
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing