We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Bath
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

After a poor experience at the Bath Holiday Inn Express the Hilton was exaactly what you expect from a Hilton. Excellent location, nice good size rooms, comfortably furnished, pleasent and helpful staff.

Parking is crazy expensive and there is on-street parking for free after 8pm quite close by so look for alternatives, but apart from that a perfect stay!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking costs
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SebastienCale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    976
    612
    299
    156
See reviews for
551
1,175
80
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

We booked this on a Hilton offer at £56 per night. We have stayed there before (Jan 07). Excellent value. The location of this hotel is great. But be prepared for the car parking fees. For a 2 night stay it cost us £20 per night! Most of the hotel rooms have been refurbished. We asked for a suite which had a lovely river view but unfortunately we did not realise these rooms were not refurbished. The room was spacious but the decor and furnishings were tired looking and the carpet and some areas were dusty/worn. The bathroom was small and well worn. It was servicable for our weekend and the for the price we paid but next time I would request a refurbished room and would recommend this if you intend staying there as the suites are not scheduled for refurbishment in the near future. Our friends had a refurbished room and it was lovely. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were helpful although rather abrupt at times. The hotel lacks a pool and the gym is very small. We will definately stay again. The Hilton offers if you can get them are ex value for money. Shopping & sightseeing & entertainment in Bath is excellent. There are many lovely places to eat and drink. Great for real ale lovers too!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unrefurbished room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Angjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

Booked on lastminute.com. Hotel was fine. very with Clean good english breakfast that sets you up for the day. Check in staff, (rachel) helpful and polite.Got us the a lovely room when we asked nicely after a long drive from Essex.. Hotel does not have a car park. Use short term under ground. Cut your losses and take the Hotel deal (£21 for 24 hours instead £25). Offset this for the free guided tours round town from the pump rooms.
Pump rooms are great. plus tea with the missus = pint and footsie in the pub at tea time. Great restaurants for late. Marvellous.

  • Liked — massive bed
  • Disliked — no free car park
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EssexChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

Booked hotel at very last minute to meet up with friends in Bath.

I must have had a refurnished / upgraded room on 2nd floor as it was very nice, modern decor, clean and very big comfortable bed with a huge plasma tv.

Had a sofa bed that a mate crashed on, but there was no bedding for it.

Hotel communal areas were clean and tidy and staff pleasant.

Didn't eat there, but i can guess it would be pretty average.

Car par was £11 for overnight parking.

One final comment, i think that some peoples expectations are way too high. My experience of Hilton Hotels are that there are marginally better than a travelodge, not in same league as Radison / Marriott; the Hilton Bath was above this standard, at least my room was, so i was pleasantly suprised.

  • Liked — new, modern room, staggering distance to pubs!
  • Disliked — no bedding for sofa bed
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chuffedwithbarcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelliekay
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

Hotel concrete and awful looking, quite out of character in beautiful Bath. Room comfortable and warm, dinner uninspiring and pricey.
The friend I was staying with had a nasty fall and we could not fault the attention and kindness of the hotel staff. They made her comfortable, phoned the paremedic and got us off to hospital. We received the same kind, efficient attention when we returned at 3.45 am after 7 hours in casualty and needed help to get to our room as my friend was in plaster and on crutches.
The restaurant staff were equally as helpful the next morning insisting my friend had room service when I explained she could not get down for breakfast. The reception staff were also very helpful and supportive when we checked out.
Can't express my thanks to the staff enough.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The look of the building.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelliekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

I stayed here on business for three nights and cannot believe how noisy this hotel was. Every sound from the room next door and above could be heard and a squeaky trolley was wheeled up and down the corrider outside 4/5 times a night. There has to be a sound proofing problem with this property.

A fire door on the first floor was left open by the staff, presumably as it made life easier for them but a safelty hazard none the less.

The staff were generally pleasant but the food in the restaurant was overpriced and tasteless, my steak was like shoe leather.

It is really disappointing to see how the Hilton brand, once synonymous with quality, stands for nothing anymore.

  • Liked — The bathroom was clean
  • Disliked — the noise from the corridoor and adjacent rooms.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Conferencemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

Four ladies shopping in Bath, so city centre hotel required. Bath City Hilton is a large modern hotel in the centre of Bath.
The rooms were recently refurbished and very pleasant. Comfy beds, cosy duvets, shower room spotless with super smellies privided, and plenty of towels.
Dinner included on the Friday night was good, service a little slow, but the staff said & did all the right things to make up for it.
Breakfast included two mornings, lots of choice, topped up regularly & staff helpful.
Staff all very friendly & allowed us to leave our bags after check-out, allowing for more shopping!
We had booked with a special offer, so were concerned when we read the reviews on Trip Advisor.
Sounds like a different hotel - I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, city centre location
  • Disliked — Nothing - Hilton are a large chain providing a certain style of accomodation. You know what to expect
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona71436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Bath City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing