We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Absolutely fabulous hotel that will appeal to rock stars and classicists alike - from the thick plush purple carpets in the bedroom to the images of the Roman baths in the shower! Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Its central location means its only a short walk to anywhere in the City centre (ideal if its bucketing down with rain as per our visit)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Brumbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for very much for your recommendation; we really appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    667
    197
    65
    18
See reviews for
284
1,289
66
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at the Francis when it just reopened after a 6 million pound refurbishment. The public rooms are delightful and beautifully furnished. However our bedroom was oppressive with a high bed and a massive dominating headboard with a large fluffy duvet which would have been fine in the depths of winter so we were obliged to keep the air conditioning on the lowest possible setting all night. We had a terrible night and were glad to leave. The staff were charming and as helpful as possible. Breakfast was a ridiculous price at £19.50 each .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyGrable66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us. It is such a shame that you didn’t ask to see another room will you were with us to see if we could make your stay a pleasant one; there are several different styles in the Hotel, with all rooms varying in shape and size. The duvets are quality down, I am sorry you found them to be too hot. The breakfast at the Hotel is an extensive buffet, offering Continental and full English with locally produced foods with an al carte menu in addition (which is included in the price).
I am so sorry that you were pleased to leave this is disappointing. Please call me on 01225 424105 if you would like to speak to me regarding your stay.

Kind regards – Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Having stayed regularly at the hotel prior to the refurbishment and the constraints put in place because it is a listed building the trainsformation is spectacular. Very bright and welcoming ground floor. The decor of the rooms is very whimsy, beds VERY comfortable. Despite the odd teething problems a very comfortable stay. Bravo Accorhotels!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHBlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
I am sure the Designers will be pleased to have an acknowledgement of the difficulties involved when working on a Listed Building! Thank you for your review and I hope that the teething problems you experienced were quickly rectified.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

For many years we have been visiting Bath and staying at The Francis. Bath is a World Heritage Site. There are so many places of interest to visit. The hotel has been closed for 4 months for a complete £6,000,000 refurbishment. It is a completely new concept. It has modernised. All for the better. We dined in the restaurant, for which Raymond Blanc has the franchise. The hotel offers meals if required. We found the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are air conditioned. We were at the back of the hotel. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
It is great to hear that one of our, much valued, regular guests has returned and is pleased with the newly refurbished Francis Hotel - thank you. This is very important to us all and we hope that it isn't long before you are back again!

Kind regards - Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Following the refurbishment of the hotel I stayed for one night on opening night and I could not believe how brilliant the hotel looked, the new bar and snug area and light and welcoming and the general theme of the hotel fits brilliantly into Bath. All of the staff on duty were fantastic, both professional and friendly. The bed was so comfy we woke up feeling really refreshed ready for our breakfast. The new breakfast room is absolutely stunning, and the food set us up brilliantly for the day, the selection was brilliant, with something for everyone and a choice of local produce included. Overall, definatley the place to stay while in Bath

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie_989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Bath is a gorgeous city isn't it? I am delighted that you feel that the refubished hotel 'fits in' with the city. Thank you for all your positive comments and we hope we see you again soon at the Francis Hotel.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

On initially booking the hotel I was a little sceptical as I booke and found it only opened one day before our stay. I decided to opt the superior rooms and this, I have up say was a superb choice, on arrival the hotel was clean and fresh smelling with the entrance from the car park and cool haven in what had been a long drive to the hotel. Our rooms were on the third floor and we appeared to be the first guests in them, everything worked perfectly and the touch of a nespresso machine in the room was definitely welcome. Breakfast was served and a selection from local produce made you realise the refurbishment had definitely been a thing for the better. We dined in brasserie blanc which is a delightful coup for the hotel to have attached. All in all a fabulous hotel and I cannot wait to stop here again. It was also on a last note nice to find a hotel where the chains director is helping out at breakfast and the air con in the rooms works!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin3276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
It is a great morale boost to see a review such as this - it makes all the hard work worthwhile - thank you from all at the Francis.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was fortunate to stay in this hotel on the very first night it reopened as a MGallery. What a transformation from the tired hotel it used to be. It's a fantastic luxury hotel in the main square of Bath and they have opened a Brasserie Blance restaurant on site as well. Definately worth a visit!

Room Tip: Front rooms over looking the square are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
As I have been working at the Hotel for quite some time now, I still feel like pinching myself when I walk around the building to see the transformation. I am so pleased you feel the same way.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing