We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - a luxurious and fun boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This beautifully furnished, luxurious hotel is perfectly situated in Queen's Square, just a couple of minutes' walk from the fantastic top end of Bath (where all the good shops and bars are). Our bedroom was outstanding, with luxurious Egyptian cotton bedlinen (so comfortable we asked what it was!) a Nespresso machine and a docking station for our iphone, so we could enjoy our own music while we got ready for our night out. The bathroom was beautiful, with a fantastic rainfall shower. The decor is very bold and has lots of fun, quirky touches, very much in tune with the decadence of the Regency period. Breakfast was a real treat with a delicious range of continental pastries and croissants, fresh honeycomb, and fruit as well of the traditional full English. We are already recommending this lovely find to all our friends and will definitely stay here again..can't wait!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your break with us and it is wonderful that you appreicated all the small details in the room. Thank you also for recommending us to your friends - we look forward to welcoming them to the Francis Hotel Bath soon.

Kind regards

Karen Bassett - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,209 - 2,215 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

On my first visit to Bath, I had the pleasure of staying at the newly renovated Francis Hotel. Located right in the centre and opposite Queens Square, it is ideally situated. As soon as you walk into the elegant foyer, you feel very spoilt and the staff are attentive and welcoming. The rich, luxurious furnishings throughout are stunning with a real mix of colours, patterns and fabrics. It works! After an afternoon stroll around the streets of Bath, wander back for pre-dinner drinks in the charming bar before finishing your stay with dinner at Brasserie Blanc. A great way to finish off the perfect day and stay!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gaby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

It was wonderful to read that your first experience of Bath was enhanced by your stay with us at the Hotel. I hope it was just the first of many visits to both Bath and the Hotel.

Best wishes - Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife and I have just got back from a 2 night stay at the newly refurblished Francis Hotel. The interior looks lovely and the rooms have some nice touches such as rainfall style showers.

However, it is clear that there are still some teething troubles with the place. On our first night, our bed leaned at a slope making sleep difficult. We were moved to a superior room for the next night when we raised the issue, but it had a shower that did not drain properly and a door that did not properly lock.

The staff were fantastic though, the manager Karen went all out to help us when we complained about the room, other staff members also seemed friendly and helpful.

Once they have sorted the teething troubles associated with this refurblishment, I am sure the Francis will be a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to send in a review following your stay with us - all feedback is welcomed and is very constructive. I do hope you decide to stay with us at the Francis again if you return to Bath in the future.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Absolutely fabulous hotel that will appeal to rock stars and classicists alike - from the thick plush purple carpets in the bedroom to the images of the Roman baths in the shower! Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Its central location means its only a short walk to anywhere in the City centre (ideal if its bucketing down with rain as per our visit)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Brumbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you for very much for your recommendation; we really appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at the Francis when it just reopened after a 6 million pound refurbishment. The public rooms are delightful and beautifully furnished. However our bedroom was oppressive with a high bed and a massive dominating headboard with a large fluffy duvet which would have been fine in the depths of winter so we were obliged to keep the air conditioning on the lowest possible setting all night. We had a terrible night and were glad to leave. The staff were charming and as helpful as possible. Breakfast was a ridiculous price at £19.50 each .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyGrable66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us. It is such a shame that you didn’t ask to see another room will you were with us to see if we could make your stay a pleasant one; there are several different styles in the Hotel, with all rooms varying in shape and size. The duvets are quality down, I am sorry you found them to be too hot. The breakfast at the Hotel is an extensive buffet, offering Continental and full English with locally produced foods with an al carte menu in addition (which is included in the price).
I am so sorry that you were pleased to leave this is disappointing. Please call me on 01225 424105 if you would like to speak to me regarding your stay.

Kind regards – Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Having stayed regularly at the hotel prior to the refurbishment and the constraints put in place because it is a listed building the trainsformation is spectacular. Very bright and welcoming ground floor. The decor of the rooms is very whimsy, beds VERY comfortable. Despite the odd teething problems a very comfortable stay. Bravo Accorhotels!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHBlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

I am sure the Designers will be pleased to have an acknowledgement of the difficulties involved when working on a Listed Building! Thank you for your review and I hope that the teething problems you experienced were quickly rectified.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

For many years we have been visiting Bath and staying at The Francis. Bath is a World Heritage Site. There are so many places of interest to visit. The hotel has been closed for 4 months for a complete £6,000,000 refurbishment. It is a completely new concept. It has modernised. All for the better. We dined in the restaurant, for which Raymond Blanc has the franchise. The hotel offers meals if required. We found the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are air conditioned. We were at the back of the hotel. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

It is great to hear that one of our, much valued, regular guests has returned and is pleased with the newly refurbished Francis Hotel - thank you. This is very important to us all and we hope that it isn't long before you are back again!

Kind regards - Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £105 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing