We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cocktails” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Had a recent milestone birthday and decided to give the new look Francis hotel bar a whirl !! Wow, What a transformation !! We were greeted by Thierry, the delightful French “ pentionner ” very professional, discreet, with a genuine warm smile. He introduced us to a very interesting drinks menu, and to Charles the wizard of the cocktail world, wow, wow, wow !!!! What a professional double act, so refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Congratulations on your ‘milestone’ birthday; I am delighted we were chosen as the venue to mark the occasion and pleased that the team made it a night to remember.
Best wishes – Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    668
    197
    65
    18
See reviews for
284
1,290
66
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Lovely place to stay.friendly polite staff .charles the bar man makes the best cocktails must try the bloody mary fantastic. Always friendly and service with a smile .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you very much for your review - I will make sure that Charles is aware of it.

I hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed for two nights bed and breakfast on a pre-paid internet booking from Expedia and the price paid was well below the published tariff.
On check-in we were directed to our room at the back of the hotel, we did not expect to have a prime view of Bath but at least expected a double room. Unfortunately the recent £6m refurb has converted all of the rooms to "doubles" but this means pushing double beds against walls in the old single rooms - this is something you would not expect to see even in a poor bed&breakfast establishment. We rejected this room as not able to get in bed from both sides and were offered another room which turned out to be a mirror image of the first. The staff were very good and then found us a proper double room which actually faced onto Queens Square. Even this room was not as big as you would expect from a 4 star hotel and had a normal domestic sized double bed. everything however was smart, comfortable and brand new and with very good air-conditioning. The hotel staff were very polite and genuinely friendly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet selection was superb, with lots of high quality items and plenty of fresh fruit. The cooked to order breakfast was also very good and my only criticism would be that black pudding was not available.
The location of The Francis is ideal for exploring Bath on foot, just minutes from everything you would wish to see.
If I had paid full tariff for this hotel I would have been very disappointed but given the offer we obtained it justifies the "very good" rating but doesn't make "excellent"

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with access both sides of the double bed - see review Rooms ovelooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you in a room that you were satisfied with and hope you had an enjoyable weekend in Bath.

Kind regards
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I have just spent two nights at this hotel.This was not our first visit but the first since the refurbishment. Somehow along with the refurb the staff have also changed and this time we found them even more polite and helpful. The room was clean and the air con was a real added bonus.
The breakfast staff were a delight and a great way to start the day.The new restaurant is a Brassier Blanc and the food is wonderful. The position of the hotel is excellent for visiting any part of Bath. We would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
It is good to read a review from a returning guest prior to the refurbishment and I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write in.

Kind regards

Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just spent a really lovely 3-day weekend at the Francis Hotel which is perfectly placed for all the sights and good restaurants. The hotel refurbishment is beautiful and our room was decorated to a high standard and spotlessly clean, with really comfortable luxury bedding. The breakfast buffet had a lovely selection of food and I especially enjoyed the fresh fruit selection and perfectly cooked eggs royale. But it was the staff that made the weekend so special for us. They were courteous, efficient, helpful, understanding and went beyond the call of duty to help us which made our stay so memorable. We were very impressed and definitely intend to visit again. Thank you everyone at the Francis!
Carol C.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
It is always a boost to staff morale when we see a review like this and we’d all like to thank you for taking the time to write in. I do hope we see you again soon.

Best wishes

Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just had a wonderful weekend in Bath which was made even better by our stay at Francis Hotel. The staff were professional yet friendly and gave a homely and welcoming feel to the place despite working in the smallest reception area I have ever seen in a hotel.
The decor is amazing, hats off the the designer for a job well done. We had a wonderfully quiet and well equipped room which we did not want to leave.
As we did not get to do all we wanted to in Bath, we will have to come back again and will definitely stay at the Francis. It is perfectly located within walking distance of everything.
If you are looking for a bit of luxury and glamour at a good price I would thoroughly recommend the Francis Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for room 18 if you can, it may face onto the street but is very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
It really is great to see that you like the décor at the Francis and you had a good time when you were here for the weekend. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to continue your Bath experience!

Best wishes

Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing