We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Pontyclun. South Wales
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

I have been visiting this hotel twice a year for a number of years.. Although a great hotel it was beginning to feel a little tired.

What a surprise to find that the during the beginning of 2012 they had spent 5 months carrying out a full renovation. No expense has been spared in turning this hotel upside down and giving it a complete makeover.

The transformation has had a magical effect of changing a 'Good Hotel' into an 'Excellent Hotel'

The decor around the hotel is unique and the rooms have been renovated to an exceedingly high standard.

The staff are friendly and seem to have been rejuvenated by the changes...

If you are a repeat visitor or just looking to stay in Bath this hotel should be seriously considered. It is well position for all the main attractions that Bath has to offer.

BP

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Zeus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
It is wonderful to read such a positive review from a guest who has stayed with us before on many occasions. I do hope this means that we will be seeing you again soon.
Best wishes – Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    690
    200
    67
    19
See reviews for
291
1,320
70
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed at the Franics hotel for 4 nights early in July. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The location is excellent, a few mins walk to everywhere in Bath. The hotel itself is clean, friendly and beautifully decorated. The rooms are excellent - extremely comfortable beds and newly fitted bathrooms. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast is fantastic. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back so no traffic noise. Road in front can be quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellowyellow16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for extremely positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best wishes – Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a 'proper' hotel with facilities and services of a high standard. Grand but not staid. It's on a quiet square (tip: find the Spa, turn up the hill past the theatre & it's next to the Brasserie Blanc). It has a carpet outside and an awning, like the ones in films of New York! Inside, any fuddy-ness has been swept away and the new decor is bold and lots of fun - elegant old armchairs re-upholstered in bright colours, beautiful wallpaper and lamps. Copies of newspapers (including foreign ones) & glossy mags are set out for guests to peruse. We had a warm welcome from Roxy, who my teenage daughter wanted as a friend!
The room had all the comforts I was hoping for, and it was quiet. A 'garden' room that overlooked the carpark - oh well! At least it's a Bath carpark, so small & still a nice view. Roget & Gallet toiletries, although no fridge/bar, but there is 24 hour room service. Deep mattresses and lovely linens, snuggly toppers & duvets. No bath in our room but a big walk-in shower & huge thick towels. The aircon was whisper-quiet.
Breakfast was wonderful - fluffy pancakes with crispy edges, full English if you want it, coooked to order, plus a buffet with fruit, cereal, selection of honeys, yogurt swirled with fresh fruit, & little pastries. There was no music in the breakfast room (can't cope with noise first thing!) and again a selection of newspapers. The staff here were again very friendly and happy. All in all this is the most enjoyable hotel stay I've had for a long time - I wasn't expecting to feel that I was having fun here, but I did. I booked late and we got a very good deal - I feel that normally this hotel would be very expensive, but worth it. I won't stay anywhere else when I come back to Bath.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirandaGoshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review; it is wonderful to read. I do hope you return to Bath and we can welcome you back to the Francis Hotel.

Kind regards

Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We spent a night at Fracncis Hotel and we were extremely impressed with the wonderful service from the moment we arrived. Our room faced onto Queen Square and was very spacious, spotlessly clean and full of lovely touches, such as an iPod docking station and nespresso machine. The bathroom was amazing with a really nice touch - a panel of the Roman Baths! The huge windows gave us a fabulous view right over Queen Square and was a constant reminder of how well situated the hotel is. The bar staff were attentive and friendly and made an excellent 'Francis Cocktail'. Breakfast was delicious with a great selection and again, the most attentive service - we would recommend this to everyone, even better than it looks on the website!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
What a lovely review - it will make their day! Come back again soon.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Had a recent milestone birthday and decided to give the new look Francis hotel bar a whirl !! Wow, What a transformation !! We were greeted by Thierry, the delightful French “ pentionner ” very professional, discreet, with a genuine warm smile. He introduced us to a very interesting drinks menu, and to Charles the wizard of the cocktail world, wow, wow, wow !!!! What a professional double act, so refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Congratulations on your ‘milestone’ birthday; I am delighted we were chosen as the venue to mark the occasion and pleased that the team made it a night to remember.
Best wishes – Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Lovely place to stay.friendly polite staff .charles the bar man makes the best cocktails must try the bloody mary fantastic. Always friendly and service with a smile .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you very much for your review - I will make sure that Charles is aware of it.

I hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards - Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed for two nights bed and breakfast on a pre-paid internet booking from Expedia and the price paid was well below the published tariff.
On check-in we were directed to our room at the back of the hotel, we did not expect to have a prime view of Bath but at least expected a double room. Unfortunately the recent £6m refurb has converted all of the rooms to "doubles" but this means pushing double beds against walls in the old single rooms - this is something you would not expect to see even in a poor bed&breakfast establishment. We rejected this room as not able to get in bed from both sides and were offered another room which turned out to be a mirror image of the first. The staff were very good and then found us a proper double room which actually faced onto Queens Square. Even this room was not as big as you would expect from a 4 star hotel and had a normal domestic sized double bed. everything however was smart, comfortable and brand new and with very good air-conditioning. The hotel staff were very polite and genuinely friendly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet selection was superb, with lots of high quality items and plenty of fresh fruit. The cooked to order breakfast was also very good and my only criticism would be that black pudding was not available.
The location of The Francis is ideal for exploring Bath on foot, just minutes from everything you would wish to see.
If I had paid full tariff for this hotel I would have been very disappointed but given the offer we obtained it justifies the "very good" rating but doesn't make "excellent"

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with access both sides of the double bed - see review Rooms ovelooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you in a room that you were satisfied with and hope you had an enjoyable weekend in Bath.

Kind regards
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing