We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, if a little plain” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“nice hotel, if a little plain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Francis for a week. i found the hotel quite plain. The bed was really uncomfortable and VERY squeeky. The location is very handy for the city and also for the parks. the breakfast is very good. However, I think the hotel is overpriced for what is offered. I felt like the staff were still in a learning phase. (in Asia when a new hotel opens ( or is refurbished) they go through a soft opening of about a month to ensure the staff are up to speed)
Basically, a nice 3 star hotel that is sold as a 4 star hotel and without any discounts, so is expensive (average at £ 185 per night, B & B)
I would stay again if the beds were not squeeky and if it was possible to buy on "Wotif" or similar

Room Tip: the cheaper rooms are TINY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
I am so sorry you found the bed in your room to be squeaky; I would be extremely grateful if you could let me know which room you stayed in so we can avoid any other guests being inconvenienced by this: karen.bassett@accor.com. It is such a shame you didn’t speak to a member of staff when you were with us to see if we could move you to an alternative room; especially if you were with us for a week. We are on all the websites such as Wotif, Laterooms etc. If it was not appearing when you made the booking it would suggest that the Hotel was busy on the dates that you stayed.

I do hope you will consider using us again if you are in Bath in the future dn I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    667
    197
    65
    18
See reviews for
284
1,289
66
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mid wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I booked online for one night, just to break a very long journey, knowing that we would be shattered with driving long distance and need a good night's sleep. Unfortunately this is the one thing that we did not get.The hotel looks fabulous from the outside, and the private, secure parking at the rear was reassuring as we had a car full of tools - albeit a bit expensive at £15 a night, on top of the £90 I had already paid for the room.
The reception area and lounge etc shouted 'recent refurb', with a a few choice pieces that looked totally out of place - oversized, faux leather padded chairs, padded and buttoned reception counter (circa. 1970's bar out of 'George and Mildred) etc. Personally would have preferred the decor to stay faithfull to the Georgian lovliness of the building itself, the whole place, was 'overworked' with clashing styles..
However, that said, the room (standard double) was very comfortable, mattress, pillows etc, I cannot fault. The en- suite was modern, clean and offered white fluffy robes and towels on par with more expensive places. I was rather worried though that the bathroom had only one floor to ceiling window with etched glass - no curtain, blind or shutter and I was reticent to stand in front of the window with the light on as we were situated at the front, near and above the main entrance!
As the night drew closer, it became more and more apparent that this was not going to be the quiet night we had longed for. We were situated above 'Brasserie Blanc', part of the hotel, and the music from the restaurant below could be heard clearly, along with the loud tv from the room above. As well as this - the traffic outside was so noisy and the rattling, loose secondary glazing did nothing to help.Wouldn't the overkill refurb design money have been better spent on soundproofing? What's the point of a beautiful room if you can't get any blooming sleep?.
To add insult to injury, we were woken with banging and crashing truck doors, clanking and back and forth, noises. I got up tp look through the window, it was barely 6am. The laundry was being taken away, bags and bags being carried up the stairs from the lower floors, up and down metal covered steps, trolleys filled and loaded and this went on and on and on. Then, as if this was not enough, the trucks arrived with groceries for the brasserie and we went through the whole thing again, but with tomatoes and courgettes instead of bedding. This must have been the noisiest room in the hotel, and we got it!! Avoid 121 at all cost!! So all in all, lovely hotel, comfy room, really good breakfast but no bloo**y sleep!! The receptionist had nothing to say when we told her -'Oh, sorry, that'll be £26 extra please for the parking and the drinks'! was her reply! Would most certainly go back but would insist on room at the rear...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBag23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for listing your concerns following your stay with us; constructive feedback is always welcomed. I am pleased that you liked the look of the front of the building, however, it is disappointing to read your comments on the internal décor in the Hotel; we have had extremely positive feedback from many of our guests, sadly, it isn’t possible to please everyone and we will pass your comments on to the Designer. We have recently informed the laundry company that we will not accept deliveries at the Hotel before 8.00am and, to date, they have stuck to the agreement; I am sorry you were disturbed by this and other deliveries. If you do return to the Hotel, please ask for a room at the rear when you make the booking. I hope we see you again at some time in the future.

Best wishes
Karen Bassett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

As a regular visitor to Bath I had walked past this hotel on many occasions and always thought it looked very appealing. I was not disappointed.
The room was a standard double and very clean and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable, especially the pillows. The bathroom was stylish with a very powerful shower, and the towels and bathrobes were lovely and soft.
The room had so many nice finishing touches, like an old-fashioned telephone, complimentary reading material and wonderful artwork on the walls. And despite being at the front of the hotel overlooking the square it was a very quiet and peaceful stay.
Breakfast was very good - a buffet of fresh fruit, cereal and juice, a choice of cooked dishes and toast, tea or coffee.
The location is great, being so close to the main centre, but set back slightly from the really busy bits.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Especially when letting me check my luggage in early and leave it there all day after I had checked out. Very accommodating indeed. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your review and for such complimentary comments, it is wonderful to know that you are already eager to come back and stay with us again! I shall pass on your fantastic comments to my team and we will look forward to your return.
Best regards
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a 2 night break in July.

The hotel is clean and well appointed, with interesting decor. The only downside was that our room was at the front of the hotel not far from where the daily food deliveries are made somewhere between 6 and 7 in the morning, so we had an unwanted alarm call with the clashing and banging of trolleys and the sound of the hydraulic lift both mornings, hence why I could only give this hotel 4/5.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
I am delighted that you liked the hotel; however, I am sorry that you were disturbed by the laundry company. We now have an arrangement with the company that they cannot deliver to the Hotel before 8.00 am; this has taken a long time to put in place and we are pleased that we finally have an agreement from them. To date, it has been working out well.

I do hope you come back soon for a more restful stay.

Kind regards
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I booked this hotel because of the location (which was fantastic) and the fact that it had recently received an refurbishment.

The hotel was clean and the building is lovely. However on arrival we were asked what room we wanted, I asked for a quiet one, we got a room that was on the front and next to a busy road.
Secondly the size of the room was not what I expect for a £180 a night, frankly travelodge rooms are bigger and equipped to a similar standard.

We went room only as it was an extra £20 per person, but just around the corner is "the Boston Tea Party" and we had breakfast for two for £15.

Room Tip: quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nickj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your review; we are very fortunate to be in such an excellent location. I am terribly sorry if you weren’t happy with the room that you were allocated. It is such a shame that you didn’t highlight your disappointment to a team member so that we could have shown you alternative rooms in the Hotel. All our rooms vary in shape, size and décor. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Bath
Kind regards
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Francis Hotel is just superb! Only stayed 1 night, wish it could have been longer. The staff are very helpful & efficient. Rooms very stylish & comfortable. Car park is secure worth the £15 charge. Breakfast choice good and nicely presented. Central location, so everything within walking distance. The only negative was Dinner at Le Blanc Restaurant, very disappointing. Hope to return to The Francis Hotel when visiting Bath again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gilly186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your review; it is wonderful to see you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Unfortunately we can’t comment on the dinner you had at Brasserie Blanc but it is a shame you were disappointed, we have had some very positive responses from guests.
We do look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bath.
Kind regards
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Booked last minute as a quick one night get away. The hotel had recently been refurbished so was in great condition. All staff very friendly and professional. We were given an unexpected upgrade to a room with a fourposter which was a lovely surprise. The francis is in a great situation right in the centre of town near all the shops, pubs a restaurants. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a bath which was no worries to us, but you might want to check before you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
I am pleased we were able to upgrade you and made your stay in Bath a memorable one.

Kind regards
Karen Bassett – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing