We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than before”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even better than before”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel with friends for several New Year bashes and they were brilliant in hosting her landmark birthday a couple of years ago. No surprise then that for my "landmark" birthday (same track, landmark a little further on!), we chose to stay at the newly-refurbished Francis. We were not disappointed. The Feature room was superbly fitted out, the bed one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in and the bathroom, with the shower wall featuring a picture of the Roman baths, was a treat. Add to that the professionalism and personableness of the staff, an excellent breakfast choreographed by the afore-mentioned irrepressible head waiter, what more could we have wished for? How about the champagne that arrived accompanied by a hand-written note from the manager wishing me a great birthday (the champagne was included in our deal, the note a welcome surprise!). Well done Karen, the hotel and its staff are a credit to you and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Francis to anyone......

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had such a great time with us and thank you as well for the complimentary remarks about the staff at the Hotel. I do hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards
Karen Bassett – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    699
    207
    67
    19
See reviews for
293
1,339
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My mother and father had stayed here many years ago and I was keen to follow in their footsteps - especially having read reviews about the refurbishment. We were not disappointed! The hotel was gorgeous!! I think we have high standards (though perhaps everyone says that!) but really - it was lovely. The bed was one of the most comfortable - and a first - I peeked under the pillow slip to see who made the pillows. Dumas by the way! Lovely little touches all along the way and the staff were helpful and attentive. The head waiter at breakfast made everyone smile. Go. And enjoy!!!

Room Tip: We overlooked the delightful little courtyard - but the front overlooking the square would be nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
It will have changed a lot since your parents stayed and I am so pleased you like the Hotel and the staff. We have had a lot of compliments regarding the beds/bedding/mattresses etc, which is wonderful as it is so important to be comfortable. Thank you for your positive review.

Best wishes
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We booked this hotel for a joint 40th birthday celebration for my husband and I. The hotel was so central and within walking distance of all the main attractions yet in a quiet location.
The room was very clean and spacious with a great shower and good quality toiletries!
The bed was so comfortable as this can often be a source of disappointment and discomfort in other hotels.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent.
Have recommended it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you very much for your great recommendation and your wonderful review. I am pleased you had a good birthday treat.

Best wishes
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have visited this hotel twice this year - we were so impressed the first time we went back, and unusally it was just as good the second time. Lovely classy hotel, food delightful and plenty of choice, location is perfect for all of Bath, and the staff were so helpful and pleasant nothing is too much trouble. Well done we will book again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlythebestwilldo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay on your second visit to the Francis as much as the first. I hope you make it for a third visit before too long.

Best wishes
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel, in a great location and I was drawn to it by Brasserie Blanc's residence. Newly refurbished, I can't criticise the interior or the comfort of the rooms - powerful shower, feather pillows and duvet, comfortable bed and good free Internet.

The detail: 1. I had to pick out the hair and body fat from my sink so that the water could wash away (how does housekeeping miss this?!)
2. I am 6'2" and I am given an attic room with a shower clearance and headroom under the ceiling of 5'8" tops - my neck aches.
3. Very loud creaking floorboards outside my room meant I was woken twice when residents returned to their room in the early hours and the night staff bought a newspaper to my neighbours room. I am now a walking zombie!
Good value other than these personal let downs and probably would return, but with a request for a non attic room!

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hattiehooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
I am pleased that you found us after locating Brasserie Blanc in Bath. I am very sorry that you were given a room on the 3rd floor in the Hotel. Generally, the reception team are very efficient at gauging the height of a guest on check in and do not allocate rooms on this floor; sadly this wasn’t the case when you were with us. It is such a shame you didn’t highlight this to reception so we could have moved you to an alternative room. I am also sorry that the sink was dirty; this is inexcusable. Please do highlight the concerns you experienced if you make a booking in the future and we will do our very best to make sure you have comfortable stay with us.

Kind regards
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Lovely hotel great decor and attention to detail with beautiful furnishings
All the staff were friendly and helpful
Comfy beds like sleeping on a cloud of Egyptian cotton
Excellent location really impressed
Pricey but worth it

Room Tip: Go for quieter rooms at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susysue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you very much for your recommendation; I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Having always visited the Francis growing up with the family it was a treat to stay there on my own as an adult, but I felt like a child again. Queen Square holds many special memories and I was worried that being on my own, in a place I normally associate with family gatherings would feel strange - but that wasn't the case.

The Francis has undergone some impressive changes and I have to admit I felt like Alice in Wonderland, it was a wonderful experience. My bed was so high off the ground that I felt like the princess of the princess and the pea fame; my bathroom had a frieze of a view of the Roman Baths I felt like I was there; the furniture was a mix of old and new and very much eccentric. I loved the bonkers feel of the room.

Having spent a night out with friends I decided to order from the room service menu, well I ordered most of the room service menu and it was delivered in huge trays and was every bit as lovely as I had anticipated.

The only downside was that the seagulls were having choir practice at early doors and so the luxury of a lie in was bothered by them, but it's not a massive issue.

I will definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
It was lovely to read the review of your stay with us and I am delighted that you appreciate the refurbishment of the Francis. Sadly, the seagulls are ‘vocal’ and are a constant challenge for the council in Bath. I hope you don’t leave it so long before you come back to visit.
Kind regards
Karen Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#21 of 30 in Bath
2,742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing