We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We chose this hotel from the internet as it looked fairly central and we were not disappointed. It is about a minutes walk from Milsom Street and is in a quiet area. Our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. My only criticism was that the shower control had no cover and would have been an easy problem to fix. We had complimentary afternoon tea which was excellent and extremely filling. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and varied. My husband chose to have the Full English whilst I opted for Eggs Royale (with smoked salmon) which was jolly tasty. If we were to stay in Bath again we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as it looks over Queen Square. The rooms at the back overl...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that we were able to fix the shower control; this should have been picked up prior to your arrival and I am sorry that this wasn’t the case. I am delighted that you would come back to stay with us if you were to return to Bath.

Kind regards, Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,251)
There are newer reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,021 - 2,027 of 2,251 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

We broke our journey from London to Cornwall with an afternoon and night in Bath. We got a good deal from the Francis Hotel which was easy to find and we were very pleased with the central location, within easy walking distance of the sights and shopping area. Check in was quick and the reception staff welcoming and helpful. We paid £12 to park in the small hotel car park (convenient, but not bookable), but there is also an NCP 2 minutes down the road. The room was compact but clean and well equipped, with a supremely comfortable bed and pillows - so much so that I took the pillow cases off to find out where I could get them! The bathroom designer should try using it once and would see that he/she could have made much better use of the space, but it was adequate. The hotel was once several Georgian townhouses and you can really feel the history as you walk through the different areas.

The hotel's Petite Blanc brasserie looked good, but we had already booked to eat somewhere else. Breakfast was an excellent spread and the staff was delightful and cheerful. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: I was a little disappointed that our room didn't overlook the very pretty Queen Square, but actu...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NowVoyager100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us; please don’t hesitate to contact us if you need any more information about the pillows/bedding etc.

Kind regards, Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The staff here were very friendly and had enough information about bath and where to go. The location was awesome only a 5 min walk from all attractions, shops and restaurants.........

The boutique hotel was beautiful and the room was perfect. The brekkie was made per order so a great bonus

My only downside was the £15 parking fee.....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicoleb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

I am very pleased that the staff were able to advise you on places to visit in the city; we are very lucky to be so well placed in the centre of the all the main attractions.

Parking really is a premium in Bath and the hotels in the centre who have parking facilities do charge. I hope this won’t put you of returning to Bath and hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards

Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay in Bath. The hotel is very well located in Queens Square, with lots of shops, restaurants and most attractions within 5 - 10 mins walk. The hotel is of a very high standard, well decorated, clean and tidy. The lounge area is very spacious and comfortable, with free daily papers to read. All the members of staff we came across were very pleasant, helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was a good size, with a large bathroom. The room was of a very good standard. Comfortable bed, decent size tv, self-control heating in room and well stocked tea making facilities. The bathroom was spacious with a large shower, very clean and well equipped. Good quality large towels and bath robes. Breakfast was very good and had an excellent selection of food to choose from. Lots of choices ranging from cereals and fruits through to traditional cooked breakfasts. Car park was £15 per night, which although expensive is becoming the norm in city/town hotels. This hotel is the certainly one of best we have stayed-in while taking short breaks in the UK, and would have no hesitation in recommending it and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdcdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bath. Thank you for your recommendations.

Kind regards

Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The location is perfect right in the heart of Bath though quiet and pretty well insulated from external noise. (Parking you pay for £15 for 24 hours). The whole hotel is beautifully furnished and the rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. My husband thought the lighting for shaving was poor. We had a classic room which was lovely but had no bath which was a bit disappointing. The English breakfast was good quality ingredients and perfectly cooked. In addition to you had access to buffet to accompany your breakfast fruit, cereals and pastries etc. the staff were courteous and friendly. I would defiantly recommend this hotel. I haven't scored value for money as it was a birthday treat from my husband and he paid!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. I am so pleased that you had a good birthday weekend.

Kind regards

Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

4 of us stayed at this wonderful hotel, celebrating our 40th birthdays. Staff were so helpful and attentive, wishing us happy birthday on arrival, chocs in the room, to sorting out a leaking roof with no problem at all.

Staff had good local knowledge too.

rooms are beautifully decorated, the feature rooms with the 'feature' are interesting to say the least!

THE most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Wonderful coffee machine in the room, which helped our sore heads in the mornings!

Fab location, easy to walk everywhere. We splashed out on the hotel parking at £15 a night, expensive but worth it as couldn't be bothered traipsing round to find something slightly cheaper!

Great drinks in the bar, they stay up as late as you do which is a bonus.

Would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: if you can, go for a feature room, these are at the front of the hotel so slightly quieter - interes...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaffoGills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

It sounds like you all had a great birthday weekend; I am delighted we played a part in it. I hope you don’t leave it until the next ‘big’ birthday as an excuse to return to the Francis and we see again soon.

Kind regards

Karen Bassett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel was very beautiful, inside and out. The room we stayed in was in perfect condition, clean and comfortable. The hotel is located right off of Queen Square, and is a short walking distance from the Jane Austen Centre, the Royal Crescent, and from the Roman Baths. I enjoyed my stay here, and will definitely stay again on my next return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you so much for your recommendation; I hope we see you at the Francis on your next visit to Bath

Kind regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 32 in Bath
1,416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 32 in Bath
2,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £112 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing