We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice enough, but a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, nice enough, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Positives: Great bed and pillows. Great location in the city centre (although Bath is so tiny, you are never going to be far away). Nice decor.

Negatives: extra £15 to use the car park is cheeky (and you can't stay beyond 2pm the day you leave - we had to move our car to a public car park to avoid paying another £3 per hour in the hotel car park). A little bit expensive overall - we didn't eat or drink in the hotel because there are much cheaper places to eat round the corner. The light shade above the bed was full of dust and the drinks tray was unclean.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejulie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay. I am pleased that you liked the bedding and décor in the Hotel.
Parking in Bath is a premium and we try to use our limited car park at the rear of the Hotel to the best advantage for the convenience of our guests, which at weekends, can be challenging.
I am very sorry that some areas in the room were not satisfactorily cleaned. This is an area that we are currently focussing on and I am confident that concerns such as this will not be a problem again.
Kind regards
John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    706
    210
    67
    19
See reviews for
299
1,349
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel after having a great experience at hotel muse in Bangkok which is another M series hotel. None the less we were equally satisfied with the quality of the room, amenities and fixtures. The room was spacious for an entry level room located on the ground floor however was quiet, light and a great size.
The bed was extremely comfortable, breakfast had a great selection and had an early check in and late check out.

We would stay here again without hesitation

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pepe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Francis after spending time at the Hotel Muse in Bangkok. It looks wonderful! I do hope we will see you again when you are next in Bath.

Kind regards - Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Great location and excellent staff who were more than helpful. We booked a "Feature" room - the best available but were surprised that there was no bath, just a shower. We asked if we could move and were shown a lower grade room which had a bath, also a view of the square and all in all was just as good as the "better" room. We saved about £30 per night so if you want a bath remember to ask when you book as I perhaps should have done. The staff were very helpful and also managed to find a phone charger for us. Parking seems pricey at £15 per day but in Bath that is not bad and so much more convenient. The revamp the hotel has had is all pretty good though the arrangement of the seating in the lounges could be improved as it is all a bit structured in sections and not as welcoming as I think it could be. Perhaps a few comfy sofas would help. But overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Brasserie Blanc is good and in the same building and if you prefer a restaurant/wine bar try Beaujolais just round the corner - it is excellent.

Room Tip: Overlooking the square must be best and it is not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I’m delighted you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes - Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Date of stay Sunday 9th Dec 2012

I will keep this short and sweet so not to bore you.

I booked this hotel after days of googling Bath and I must say it was perfect.

Very clean throughout, Staff very polite, Room was amazing, ask whether you can be upgraded, If they are not busy they will do it free. This was to a feature room with 4 poster bed etc...

There is a door straight through to Raymond Blanc's Restaurant so dont bother booking any where else to eat.

Only one small thing I would watch out for is this:

We parked out side on the square and the receptionist said "dont worry park in our car park around the back" Bit tight but very safe, but only to discover £15 charge was added to our bill

Just would of been nice to of been told about this, and you have to leave by 2pm, we were shopping all day and the manager was very nice and aloud us to park there for the whole day.

Thanks for reading

Room Tip: always ask for an upgrade to a "feature Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
I’m glad you had a good time at the Hotel. I am really very sorry if you weren’t aware of the charge for the car park; it really isn’t something that we are hiding! I think the Receptionist wrongly assumed that you knew (most people would prefer to be in the car park as they don’t need to leave to feed the meters). There is a large sign before you enter the car park detailing the prices. I am pleased that the car park wasn’t busy and you were able to stay longer. I hope we see you on yor next trip to Bath.

Kind regards - Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Francis Hotel, the location is perfect, in walking distance of everything we wanted to see.
The staff were polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble especially the member of staff who sorted our room service at a late hour when he was on his own with no apparent help.
The room was very comfortable with a super bathroom and lovely bed.
The breakfast was good with lots of choice, my only tiny gripe was the breakfast staff, although very polite looked like they could have done with a bit more help, the breakfast room was very busy, more hands on deck would have made a difference, however, they were as efficient as was humanly possible under the circumstances, all in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor which was quiet but I understand the top floor rooms,although smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for your review and positive recommendations following your recent stay. We are very lucky to be so well placed for all the attractions/shopping in Bath. Do come for a visit soon.

Kind regards - Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I recently had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Francis mcgallery hotel bath, on arrival we were greeted promptly and advised that our request for a room with a bath an shower had been accommodated. the hotel was eccletic and boutique in design, we had a steak sandwich on arrival which was beautiful to keep us going until our meal at casini's later that evening. Our room faced the hotel front and we had a great view of the obalisque in the square, we were later to find out the history behind it and bath by our tour guide Susan who was very interesting and informative. We dined at casini's which was very nice food and also at Tilleys which for me was just more of a cafe rather than a restaurant not the best food . Overall loved bath and hotel would go back for a visit

Room Tip: We stayed in house 8 as the hotel is made up of several houses that have been joined together the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for sending in such a constructive review following your stay in Bath, which will be useful for anyone planning a first visit to Bath. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Bath and hope you will be back to see more soon.
Kind regards - Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We have been visiting the hotel for the past 19 years and, after the expensive renovation, expected more!

The first room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor. It was small and the floor was very uneven so much so that items placed on the bedside table would slide off! A ledge round the table is required. The new deep baths are welcome however there was no handle to assist in getting out! The bath hot tap was loose and almost came off in my hand! The hot water was not particularly hot and no cold water was required in the bath. It took us a while to find the room temperature control which was "hidden" behind one of the bedside lights. Two trays with dishes and food remnants remained in the corridor overnight.

The breakfast room is rather cramped and the 2 seat tables are simply too small for all the dishes. We quickly moved to a 4 seat table. The breakfast room is going to be difficult and uncomfortable if the hotel is full. The cooked breakfast was also not to a high standard.The food was bland and on 2 of the 3 mornings we were there the service in the breakfast room was very poor. My wife had to go into the kitchen to order toast!

After the first night we were moved to a larger room on the 1st floor however this room had no shelves or drawers for our clothes. We were obliged to live out of our suitcases. After many attempts we did manage to operate the new coffee machine! The bathroom requires an extractor fan as there are condensation problems.

The new bar area was very comfortable and the service both there and on reception was excellent. The original restaurant is now franchised to Raymond Blanc and nothing to do with the hotel. It is first class..

This was not a good experience however I was impressed that the manager was interested and concerned to hear our criticisms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMAK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay with us. I would be interested to know which room it was that you had stayed in on the 3rd floor as we had thought that the floor ‘irregularities’ had all been evened out during the refurbishment. The designer is in the process of arranging shelving to be put into all the rooms that didn’t originally have it. If you have 5 minutes could you either call me on 01225 424105 or email me on h6636-gm@accor.com.

Kind regards
John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing