We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
1 review
“Beautiful hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Lovely decor, friendly service and good location for historical sites, spa, restaurants and shops.y friend and I spent three nights with a special offer and enjoyed it very much. Would definitely stay again for a special city break.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
I am delighted you had such a good stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation and I hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards - John Willock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    667
    197
    65
    18
See reviews for
284
1,289
66
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dewey Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I had booked two nights at this hotel, but found that I was coming to Bath a day earlier. I e-messaged the hotel and they encouraged me to come a day earlier and to mention that I would be continuing my stay there so I could stay in the same room my entire stay. Excellent concierge who was friendly and helpful in guiding us to the local sights. Our room was a bit small and facing the park in front of the property making it a bit noisy a few times in the middle of the night with revelers celebrating (even on a Wednesday night, it is a university town after all), but the bathroom was well appointed and had a fantastic shower. We spent most of our time out of the room enjoying ambling through the streets of Bath and heading to the Therme Spa and the Roman ruins. Each time we returned, our room was neat, cleaned and we did not have to ask for a thing as everything was provided for us in this well-appointed room. If I were to return, I'd ask for an interior room which would have probably been quieter. We ate most breakfasts at The Boston Tea Party down the street and found their all natural ingredients delicious as well as inexpensive. Since we were in Bath in the end of January, we did not find the huge crowds that one might expect in season. However, this is a bustling city with so much to offer. If you are looking for a private tour of Stonehenge, Avebury or the Cotswolds, i highly recommend Alan Price who can be found at www.celtichorizons.com. He is knowledgeable and catered our tour to our specific interest in birds, WW2 and airplanes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for sending in a detailed review following your stay in Bath, I am sure it will be extremely helpful for any first time visitors to eh city. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Great hotel located in the middle of bath. We arrived and our room ready even though it was 10.30am . Breakfast was great having an À la carte menu was a real surprise. Room was slightly on the small side but couldnt fault it . We went for a room at the back as out the front is a fairly busy road. One real bonus was having raymond blancs brasserie attached to the hotel, not far to go for a great meal. Overall a really good hotel

Room Tip: Go for room at the back as the road outside is the route for the ambulance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatsby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
We are very lucky to be so well located in the city. It is good to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope you will return soon

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for my girlfriends birthday. We selected this hotel because of the great reviews and it's central location and proximity to Bath city centre and the Thermae Spa. Great hotel, fantastically appointed and very friendly and efficient staff. We had room service breakfast which was timely and spot on for quality!

The car park is rather expensive at £15 a night. I would definitely stay here again and certainly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greek211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
I am delighted that you had a good time celebrating your girlfriend’s birthday. Thank you for your recommendations.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the Francis Hotel on the 9th February for a combination of attending a meeting and watching the Rugby. Our stay was perfect and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The decor is different and has the feel of going back in time, however there is a warm charm and you do feel at home. The location is excellent being within easy walking distance to the shops, tourist attractions and Bath Spa Railway Station. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome especially Chloe on reception and Zuzana who worked in the bar. The Francis Hotel will be my choice for my future business trips to Bath and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
What a wonderful review; the girls are delighted to be mentioned. We look forward to seeing you on your next business trip.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We enjoyed a two night break at this hotel.The hotel is in an excellent position for sight seeing and for shopping.We were very impressed by the high standards of service provided by very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I booked the hotel for a friend's hen weekend, with 10 of us staying. The advance rate was excellent and everything about our stay was perfect - we were upgraded to better rooms on arrival, which were brilliant with really comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms. The decor throughout the hotel is unusual and really attractive. Breakfast - included in the room rate - was the best I have ever had in a hotel and they dealt with vegetarian and gluten-free requests without batting an eyelid. The restaurant staff were super-friendly and helpful. We really couldn't have asked for more - and the location is perfect for exploring the city. Highly, highly recommend and I'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: all the rooms we had were fine but a view of Queen Square would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for sending in such a positive review following your recent say with us. I do hope we see you at the Hotel again soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing