We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The hotel has had a fabulous refurb since our last visit, 3 years ago. Our room was very tastefully decorated and the bathroom perfectly acceptable. Will definitely stay at the Francis on our next visit to bath.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bath.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,029 - 2,035 of 2,354 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

My view is jaded by the fact I had a tiny room, although bathroom was decent. Decor good, beds good, location great. No proper hotel bar, more of a lounge that felt like gods waiting room. Restaurant is actually a Brasserie Blanc .. Obviously couldn't get in due to valentines day which was a shame.
So comfortable and good location..... Make sure you try and get a decent room.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room; all the rooms in the hotel vary greatly in shape, size and décor; it is a shame that you didn’t ask to see another room that you may gave liked better. I do hope that you will stay with us again if you are in Bath.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed here two nights for my birthday in January and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a cozy room on the top floor which, although a bit on the small side, was clean, warm and well-decorated. The staff accommodated our every request and were unfailingly friendly. Probably the biggest draw of the hotel is its location, with almost everything being within a 5-10 minute walk. Their car park is reasonably priced as well, making it unnecessary to find alternative transport into Bath.

The breakfast was good and the selection is quite varied - we had a Full English delivered to our room the first morning (which arrived right on time) and ate in the breakfast room the second - couldn't fault either choice. Their afternoon tea is also lovely.

All in all a lovely hotel, we loved the quirky decor and would easily stay here again. Couldn't fault it!

Room Tip: The top floor has quite low ceilings, probably best suited to shorter folk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christina_louise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

I hope we see you again soon at the Francis Hotel Bath if you should come back to Bath again. Thank you for your posistive review.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Lovely decor, friendly service and good location for historical sites, spa, restaurants and shops.y friend and I spent three nights with a special offer and enjoyed it very much. Would definitely stay again for a special city break.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

I am delighted you had such a good stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation and I hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards - John Willock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I had booked two nights at this hotel, but found that I was coming to Bath a day earlier. I e-messaged the hotel and they encouraged me to come a day earlier and to mention that I would be continuing my stay there so I could stay in the same room my entire stay. Excellent concierge who was friendly and helpful in guiding us to the local sights. Our room was a bit small and facing the park in front of the property making it a bit noisy a few times in the middle of the night with revelers celebrating (even on a Wednesday night, it is a university town after all), but the bathroom was well appointed and had a fantastic shower. We spent most of our time out of the room enjoying ambling through the streets of Bath and heading to the Therme Spa and the Roman ruins. Each time we returned, our room was neat, cleaned and we did not have to ask for a thing as everything was provided for us in this well-appointed room. If I were to return, I'd ask for an interior room which would have probably been quieter. We ate most breakfasts at The Boston Tea Party down the street and found their all natural ingredients delicious as well as inexpensive. Since we were in Bath in the end of January, we did not find the huge crowds that one might expect in season. However, this is a bustling city with so much to offer. If you are looking for a private tour of Stonehenge, Avebury or the Cotswolds, i highly recommend Alan Price who can be found at www.celtichorizons.com. He is knowledgeable and catered our tour to our specific interest in birds, WW2 and airplanes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for sending in a detailed review following your stay in Bath, I am sure it will be extremely helpful for any first time visitors to eh city. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Great hotel located in the middle of bath. We arrived and our room ready even though it was 10.30am . Breakfast was great having an À la carte menu was a real surprise. Room was slightly on the small side but couldnt fault it . We went for a room at the back as out the front is a fairly busy road. One real bonus was having raymond blancs brasserie attached to the hotel, not far to go for a great meal. Overall a really good hotel

Room Tip: Go for room at the back as the road outside is the route for the ambulance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatsby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

We are very lucky to be so well located in the city. It is good to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope you will return soon

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for my girlfriends birthday. We selected this hotel because of the great reviews and it's central location and proximity to Bath city centre and the Thermae Spa. Great hotel, fantastically appointed and very friendly and efficient staff. We had room service breakfast which was timely and spot on for quality!

The car park is rather expensive at £15 a night. I would definitely stay here again and certainly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greek211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

I am delighted that you had a good time celebrating your girlfriend’s birthday. Thank you for your recommendations.

Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £94 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing