We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"35th Wedding Anniversary"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Colnbrook, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"35th Wedding Anniversary"”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Arrived earlier than check in time but our room was ready straight away. Large comfortable superior room on 2nd floor facing car park. Very quiet apart from the seagull dawn chorus! Our booking included breakfast as we'd booked the 3 for 2 nights deal. Breakfast was excellent with good service in the dining room and arriving at the time we requested when we had it in our room. Our sink plug didn't work and couldn't be fixed 'til morning so we were offered another room immediately, which we declined but appreciated the offer. Set menu in Brasserie Blanc is good value. Very convenient as we didn't want to go out in the rain. Very smoothly run luxurious hotel. Cannot praise too highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lift if have walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you very much for sending in a review. I am very pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,193
    717
    215
    67
    20
See reviews for
305
1,369
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My friends and I decided to stay in the Francis Hotel Bath for my friends 60th Birthday. Unfortunately my friend was given room 310 which was directly underneath a water tank that gushed and roared all night long. She didn't get a wink of sleep.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
I am extremely sorry that your friend was unable to sleep; there is no water tank above this room and we are perplexed as to what the noise was that kept her awake as it not a concern that has been raised previously. Please rest assured that our Maintenance Manager is monitoring the feedback from subsequent guests.

Kind regards John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We traveled to Bath as part of our Spring Break excursion. We are an American family of 4 with two teenagers and stayed at the Francis for two nights. The hotel is beautifully remodeled and although the building is very old the rooms were very modern and comfortable. The bed, towels and wifi were fabulous! :) My daughter and I enjoyed an afternoon tea in the lovely front rooms watching the people pass, it was very cold outside and we enjoyed our tea in the beautiful, warm room. The staff was extremely helpful especially Rob. The hotel is close to all the local sight seeing excursions, thank goodness because we were so cold!

We did not dine at the hotel. We thought the breakfast was pricey and we wanted a different selection so we walked a block to a great restaurant called Hall & Wood House. LOVED IT, and went back for dinner! It is like eating in your living room!

I had two complaints with the hotel. We were given a handicap room where the shower was exposed in the bathroom. The drain ran SO slow that we had to turn off the water every couple of minutes because we were afraid that the room would flood. Maintenance took care of it and all was good. Didn't love the exposed shower but at least the drain worked. The second night we were awakened by the garbage truck sometime around 5AM. That was unpleasant but I don't think they had much control over that.

Overall a lovely hotel that made our vacation a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
I am delighted you had a successful Spring Break holiday in Bath with your family. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, it is always great boost to morale. I’m sorry there was a problem with the drainage in the bathroom but pleased that Maintenance was able to remedy it promptly.

The bins are picked up at 6.00am everywhere in the city centre every morning to avoid causing traffic problems later in the day. Unfortunately this is not something that we can change.

Once again, thank you for your positive review.

Kind regards John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We held a private afternoon tea here and were very impressed. The staff were friendly and the food was excellent. The afternoon tea had a good selection. The hotel is in a good location in the centre of Bath.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
I am pleased to see that your private function went well and you enjoyed your afternoon tea. It is such a lovely way to spend a few hours; I do hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently as a 'treat' en route to a friends wedding. The hotel is beautiful with nice decor and friendly staff - BUT... Beware walls are paper thin. 12 pm tv left on loud next door - guests gone out- reception did sort (once I'd phoned on my mobile - telephone didn't work) then one set of guest arrived back at 3am noise !!! Big time !!! Then the other side kindly arrived back at 4 30 am screaming n shouting. Needless to say we had an awful night. For £200 plus pounds we were very unhappy bunnies and never again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pigratsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We booked at the Francis Hotel for the Friday evening as it was our 22nd wedding anniversary and we wanted to stay in Bath and visit the Thermal Spa. We had booked a classic room as we were not expecting to stay in the hotel too much, but had asked for a quiet location as we are light sleepers. We arrived just before 1pm and as check-in was not until after 2pm we expected we would need to park and check in later. However the very attentive staff informed us our room was ready and we could park and check in which we did. We found we had been upgraded to a superior garden room at the back of the hotel (lovely and quiet) at no extra charge and a very kind message and chocolates had been left in our room, a very thoughtful touch.
We enjoyed a lovely stay at The Francis Hotel, breakfast was wonderful and we have stayed in many hotels for a similar or more expensive cost that have not been anything like as nice. We would happily book here on our next stay in Bath.

Room Tip: We had a room with a bath/shower (we always shower) but we did hear one older couple complaining the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon-Rewind-guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
I am really pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay at the Francis. I do hope you will return to the Hotel soon.

Kind regards John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Have stayed at Francis last December and am returning in May. If you want to be be near to all the usual attractions then this is one of the best - definitely. Although newly refurbished the hotel is full of Georgian charm and as you make your way through the hotel you realize it is made up of several townhouses in traditional Bath style. Rooms are boutique style and luxurious. Great breakfast brasserie next door.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back in May. Thank you for your kind words.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing