We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and lacked attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over priced and lacked attention to detail”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel offers a fair service but not value for your money, had I been the AA inspector I suspect they may have had a couple of issues.

Very small dbl room in the loft unable to open door fully into the bathroom, a carrier bag full of rubbish on a ledge outside the window. Breakfast was far to expensive at almost £20 and charging £15 on top of the very high room rate to park your car is verging on the criminal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter regarding the carrier bag on the window ledge; this really is inexcusable. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    706
    210
    67
    19
See reviews for
299
1,350
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Only spent 1 night there, staffs were friendly and helpful. Rooms are up to standard as others described though the bathroom is a bit cold during our stay and it was around <15 degrees.
Only 10-15 mins walk to most major attractions and dining places. I would recommend to other travellers but can try your parking luck elsewhere before handing over the car to them since the rate is quite pricy for 1 day when compared with the neighbourhood car parks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review; I do hope you had an enjoyable time in Bath. The car park at the Hotel is limited and we recommend for guests arriving by car to drop off their luggage with us and to try Charlotte Street car park, which is located on the opposite side of the Square, especially at weekends: this is £8.50 per 24 hours. I do hope we see you on your next visit to Bath

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We chose Francis Hotel for a 4 day accommodation and were astonished by the welcoming, warm and professional staff. This is what customer service should be: speedy, kind, efficient. There aren't words. We requested heaters because we felt the room was a bit cold for our taste and they brought us some radiators in no time. I have to repeat this 'no time' at all. I don't know how they did it whether they flew up the stairs or by magic but 30 seconds was all to solve our issue. The food in the hotel is only made fresh and they insist on keeping a minimum of ready made items in the buffet. Breakfast according to them HAS TO BE made fresh to your liking in the morning and it doesn't take long. I tried pushing my lack asking for two 4 minute soft boiled eggs and they didn't even hesitate in making just that. I absolutely fell in love with their fruit salad. I would even pay room service just to have it again and again. Fresh and cool and absolutely lovely every single day. No canned fruits just apples and berries and orange and passion fruit in lovely juice. Funniest thing there was a painting on the ceiling above the bed ! I was also astonished by the cleanliness of the bathroom. I went in showered clumsily for a long time and then got my bath robe and left it as is and honestly thought it would remain messy until next morning. Little did I know... They must be using really good detergents because after 30 minutes I couldn't find a trace of water inside the cubicle. Not even a dried drop somewhere to prove it was used recently. Must be a combination of detergents and the vileroy &boch materials used in the making of these showers. It was the closest thing to my dream house I have ever seen. It is a bit pricey according to some but so VERY VERY worth the money. Loved it:)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiling890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Francis; it was wonderful to read your review. It is a fabulous morale booster and we hope you return to visit us again very soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is lovely, only minutes away from all the main attractions and opposite the stop for the tour bus. The hotel has been completely refurbished to a very high standard and rooms are stylish and comfortable. Staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast can be a bit slow but was worth waiting for and they were prepared to serve after the 10am deadline.
A great place to stay , would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Blanc Brasserie is next door and accessible from the hotel but I would look further afield as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jancampbellhague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words. My team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. We stayed here a while ago and at the time it was a little tired but it recently has had a makeover and is superb.

The staff are excellent and nothing was too much trouble. My wife is disabled and they reserved a parking space for us and gave us a ground floor room.

The hotel is much better than its star rating suggests. The rating suffers because the hotel does not have a pool or spa so cannot get a higher rating.

If you are staying in Bath I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review and your recommendations. Come back soon!

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel's location makes Bath very accessible. All of the staff were very friendly and pleasant and the standard of my room was up to scratch. Would most likely stay in here again if i came back to bath.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSpalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your review. I do hope we see you again very soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked this hotel from the website which was an accurate depiction of the hotel. The lobby was small but opened into the tea room area which was spacious which filled up for afternoon tea. The decor was modern and that may turn some people off but we found it a nice change from the boring old english hotels. Staff was super helpful and pleasant to talk to.

Rooms were also comfortable and given this was an converted old building had the expected crooked door frames and ceilings which added to the charm of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
It is lovely to see that you have had such a good time at the Francis and appreciate the décor and the staff. Come back again soon!

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,764 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing