We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$272
US$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$342
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harington's City Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$337
US$319
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
US$222
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Dukes Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$216
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,428)
Filter reviews
2,428 results
Traveller rating
1,289
794
247
77
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
794
247
77
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrasserie blancfeature roomqueen squarecar parklovely hotelafternoon teasuperior roomclassic roomcentral locationnespresso machineper nightthird floorbed was very comfortableroyal crescentmain attractionswithin easy walking distanceeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,911 - 1,916 of 2,428 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The once grand and more recently faded Francis has been done up, presumably to justify the fairly steep room prices. Good points, feels quite luxurious, couldn't be more central, immaculately clean. Bad points: the restoration and redecoration is "Georgian Rediscovered' I am told, which actually means in rather dubious taste and slightly bling. Being a bit of a fan of Georgian styleI felt they'd missed the point. The other slightly picky point, the staff have been brainwashed to be nice to the point that they come across as obsequious and gushy (sorry staff, not your fault). Review of the in-house Blanc Brasserie on the relevant page.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback; I am sorry that you disapprove of the décor in the Hotel and found the staff to be over friendly. This is disappointing, however all feedback is welcomed and I hope you enjoyed your stay in Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed in the hotel for two nights, had a lovely time. The rooms on the third floor were slightly small but very clean maybe next time would opt for bigger room just for the extra space and comfort. The breakfast was delicious and the staff very attentive great service all round. The hotel is in a perfect location very central to all the sites and the city center, will definatley recommend.

Room Tip: opt for a bigger room on the 1st or 2nd floor not the third facing the park
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATRINANNEHUGHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your recommendations – we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Francis Hotel last week ago for a saturday night. The staff were very inviting and welcomed us. The hotel is very clean and the lobby, bar and breakfast rooms are very nice.
However we were not impressed with the size of the double room we were given taking into account it cost £170per night. The room was very small with the double bed pushed into the corner of the room against the wall. The tea making facilities were found inside the alcove wardbrobe floor and there was no where obvious space to make tea. The wardrobe space was very small and if you were staying for more than 1 night would struggle. We found ourselves walking over eachother as there was only a small circulation space to one side of the bed. The en-suite was nice. Also the floors slope excessively to which point we found it difficult to walk straight in the room and found ourselves waking up in the night sliding off the bed.
Location was great but with such small rooms, sloping floors and expensive it makes the stay difficult to recommend.
Georgec

Room Tip: make sure you ask how big the room is.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgec1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

It is so disappointing that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. The rooms in the hotel vary greatly in shape size and decor and there is little uniformity. It is such a shame that you didn’t ask to see another of our rooms so that we could have moved you to make your stay with us more comfortable.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Unfortunately, I didn't stay at The Francis, although if its afternoon tea experience is anything to go by I would love to remedy this one day! I just know it would be fabulous! However, I had to make do with one of its champagne afternoon teas for two - albeit an excellent consolation. We arrived just after 4.30pm and left just over two hours later. From start to finish the service, attention to detail, quality and ambience was second to none. I loved every minute and the selection of cakes, scones, finger sandwiches and mousses was superb - both to look at and to eat! They certainly don't skimp, so unlike some afternoon teas you get in other hotels this is excellent value for money and of exceedingly good quality. There is also a wide selection of teas to choose from. In fact, we couldn't finish everything and they even offered to wrap the leftovers up for us - which they did with incredible style - making an afternoon tea 'handbag' out of foil, complete with handle. Mention has to be made of our waiter Jason - what a superb representative of the hotel. The best and most genuine service I have ever received from any hotel employee!

The whole experience has made me want to save up so that I can stay at least one night here and, in the meantime, I may even visit for another afternoon tea! If you get the chance, do it - you won't be disappointed.

Thank you to one and all at The Francis.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzzyGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

It has been a pleasure to read your review and I would like to thank you for posting your thoughts on here. Do come again and stay over next time!
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews