We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for a Saturday night as we were spending the weekend in Bath.
Lovely hotel, great location very close to city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nicely done out, loved the picture of the pump room in the bathroom. We were on the third floor though (old servants quarters) so the room wasn't particularly big. Breakfast was lovely with a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc and then the cooked breakfast which you order to be cooked fresh.
There was a wedding on at the hotel and the wedding party were quite noisy in the bar in the evening. We could also hear the music from the function room even though we were on the third floor although thankfully this stopped about 11pm.
My only other criticism would be the parking, the car park is tiny and charged at £15 for residents. We were hoping to leave our car in the car park for a few hours after check out but were told this would be charged at £3 per hour. So moved to the south gate car park which is much more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review; it is great to see that you had a good time, however, I am sorry that you were disturbed by the wedding that was taking place; I am pleased it didn’t go on too late. We do try to operate our car park in the fairest way we can so that all our guests arriving by car have the opportunity to park at the Hotel; it’s a limited car park so sadly we can’t always accommodate everyone. As you have mentioned, there is a council run car park close.
Kind regards
John Willcock – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,250)
There are newer reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,733 - 1,739 of 2,251 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Lovely hotel. Central location clean, well decorated and warm friendly staff. Lovely room with everything you need including a lovely shower and big towels. Breakfast was freshly prepared and good service with choice of hot, cold or both served in bright clean room. Bar service was friendly and reasonable price and bar staff were attentive and observant as well as friendly. Staff were very helpful in terms of visitor attractions,maps and restaurant recommendations. Bed was very comfortable with lovely fresh bedding and plenty of pillows, great night sleep with good air conditioning if you did not want window open. Own safe in the room for security. We would defiantly come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 229
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you very much for all your positive comments, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to your next stay.
Kind regards
John Willcock – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at the Francis Hotel in Bath in August 2013. We splurged and booked a Feature Room which was really worth it - a huge room, four-poster bed, gorgeous bathroom and a view over Queen Square. The whole hotel is beautifully decorated with lovely wallpapers, richly coloured paints and carpets, chandeliers and vintage-style furniture and accessories.
The staff are very friendly and always greeted us with a smile and a "good morning".
We had breakfast at the hotel each morning. Unlike other large hotels, the hot breakfast food is not on the buffet but is made to order. This does mean breakfast takes a little longer, but also means your food is fresh and hot.
We had a turn-down service on all but one night and were given complimentary bottled water and little treats which was a lovely touch.
Unlike other hotels we have stayed at, the bathroom doesn't flood (although it does get quite steamed up, but the mirror is heated so that stays clear) and the air-conditioning is quiet. Also, the windows open which is wonderful!
The hotel is in a great location and very easy walking distance to Bath's main attractions.

Room Tip: Go for the Feature Room for a romantic stay in Bath.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

It looks as though you’ve had a really had a good time! I do hope we can do it again for you some time soon.

Kind regards
John Willcock – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked on the basis of a friend's recommendation and were not disappointed. The location is perfect, very close to the main attractions (Abbey, Pump Room etc) and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. It's a lovely, honey coloured, Georgian buildings. Our room at the front was very modern and excellent quality with all necessary facilities, good bathroom and shower. We had a nice view of the little park across the street. The only downside to the room was that the milk for the tea/coffee was whole milk which we could not use. I would have thought semi-skinned was a safer bet.

The bed was extremely comfortable.

There were only towels/robe for one person and it turned out there were extra in the wardrobe which I only found out when asking.

We had to pay £15 a night to park which first of all I thought was cheeky but then when you get into Bath you find out that there's an almost deliberate anti-car policy so it is very hard to park for any length of time and for us having the benefit of a car park was well worth the extra. We paid £3 an hour after check-out but again didn't mind becauses our car was full of luggage and we preferred not to park it on the street.

Service at breakfast was very slow, and I was surprised to see they use those miniature jam/marmalade pots rather than putting these items in dishes. The scrambled eggs were horrid, too dry and I sent them back to get another lot equally bad.

All said, I really liked this hotel and would definitely return and recommend to others (though I might go out for breakfast!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikkitikkitavi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback and your recommendations; I’m glad you had a good stay with us. We have noted your comments and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Francis soon.

Kind regards
John Willcock – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Beautiful, spotlessly clean, newly refurbished hotel. Beds sooo comfy. Excellent breakfast - no waiting to be seated and served reasonably quickly. Dining room staff very accommodating. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJ963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback
Kind regards
John Willcock – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked at the last minute for a one night stay and were delighted. Lovely rooms in the modern extension, with very comfortable beds and nice toiletries.

Staff were very friendly and the breakfast service was fine. We got a table straight away and the cooked food arrived reasonably promptly.

We found the staff friendly and flexible. Only downsides were weak coffee and, like many hotels, the rooms were too hot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ascapola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

It’s great to see that you had a good time. All our rooms have air cooling; it is such a shame that you didn’t ask someone to take a look to see if it was operating correctly to make your stay more comfortable. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
John Willcock – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel to check it out for a further stay when we will be attending a wedding next year. The service is second to none and the rooms are of a very high quality. The breakfast is excellent and the Raymond Blanc restaurant attached offers a wide variety of dishes a very reasonable prices

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archiecarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

I’m happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again when you attend your wedding.
Kind regards
John Willcock – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 32 in Bath
1,416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 32 in Bath
2,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £112 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Lastminute, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing