We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Great Location”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a good hotel in a great location. It is in easy walking distance of everything you will want to see in Bath and is comfortable and pleasantly modern without going over the top.
The staff are really friendly and helpful and the reception areas are lovely. The room was a good size and the bed comfortable and lots of nice touches in terms of a Nespresso machine (I know it was effectively an advert) etc. Also for a hotel in the city centre it was quiet - tripple glazed with effective air con. There is also car parking which is a bonus although you do pay quite a lot for the priviledge, especially of you leave the car for a couple of hours after you check out to see a bit more of the city. Good breakfast too.
So why 4 stars. Well the room really wasn't clean enough - it just needed vacuuming again and there was dust in some places as well. I would expect more. I will also be picky which I feel you can be when sending this much, but why is there on space to hang one towel in a bathroom of a double bedroom?
A word of warning also if you have any problems with mobility there are steps in the corridors to the rooms once you get up the stairs and even though there is help getting the cases to the room you may need to ask for it on the way out.
These are minor quibbles I guess but just enough to stop it not getting top marks.

Room Tip: We had a side room which I think helped keep it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonSJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your constructive review; I am pleased that you had a good time with us. If a guest has mobility problems we do have rooms available for them and we always do our best to allocate any requests made by the guest to make sure they are comfortable during their stay. I hope we see you again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    715
    215
    67
    20
See reviews for
304
1,366
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful hotel and rooms, although I would recommend a room facing the front - as it is such a lovely view - a cosy bar and extremely helpful and friendly staff. Arrived early in the morning and left our luggage until we could check in later - we were initially given a room at the back of the hotel but we asked if any were available facing the front and they moved us without a problem. So central to everything in Bath - 5 mins walk to Bath Abbey and all the other attractions. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front (park) are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit!
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Francis Hotel last weekend and I must say that this is one of the most comfortable hotels we have ever stayed in. Very much a 5 star Hotel in the heart of the historic city of Bath. The location is fabulous as its so convenient to all the shops, restaurants and bars.

We stayed in a Deluxe room, number 130, the room was perfection, modern and quality amenities, a really comfortable large bed and plenty of room, the décor was great, it really reminded us of the new rooms at Claridges in London.

In the evening we dined in the adjoining Brasserie Blanc which was excellent. After our meal we went into the cocktail bar and met the Bar Manager Jason, what a real personality he was, a New Yorker who gave great service, my wife didn't know what cocktail to have so he made a Jason Special, she loved it. Our only little gripe was that after 11pm they stopped serving cocktails, we found this a little strange as we would have enjoyed another one.

The Breakfasts at this hotel are amazing, we were seated and served tea and coffee. The breakfast menu was extensive and we made the most of it, all the food arrived and was amazing, we agreed that this was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had in a 5 star hotel, well played to the waiters and chefs. After breakfast we met the food and beverage manager, she was lovely and we extended our thanks on a really great stay.

We can highly recommend this hotel, its 5 star quality, the service all round is excellent and the breakfasts amazing. We look forward to our next visit.

We had a fantastic

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are excellent, we went for 130.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonip1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The St Francis is centrally located . You can walk easily to all the mayor sights of Bath. The hotel has been recently renovated with some unusal and interesting touches.
The only room available when we reserved was a room on the third floor in the back of the building. Again nicely decorated but quite small, so small that the coffee/tea tray is located on the floor (!) of the cupboard where you will find your second towel which gives you an idea o the mini size of the bathroom.
Doors of the rooms are heavy and close automatically ( fire regulations I imagine) which allows for a lot of banging of doors especially early morning when guests go down for breakfast. This brings me to the complete disaster of the breakfast. Best thing to avoid this all until managment have resolved this issue!
I have complained about this and have received a reply + refund for this item from the manager.
The hotel has a pleasant ' living room' where you can order coffee/ tea etca. Attached is a small 'library' for reading a newspaper.
Food at the restaurant ( a Raymond Blanc Brasserie) was very enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IpanemaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
The location of the hotel is very good; I hope you managed to take in the attractions in the city while you were here. All the rooms in the Hotel vary in shape, size and décor and it is a shame if you didn’t speak to reception to see if it was possible to move our room if you weren’t comfortable. We do have several new team members in the restaurant at the moment who are still in training; I am confident that they are improving on a daily basis and I really am very sorry if you were inconvenienced.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the train station (up hill slightly, if you've got bags with you) but worth every step. Our room was quite large (by UK standards), ready early, clean and well appointed. I'm not sure I would have stayed here if it wasn't for the 3-nights-for-the-price-of-2 promotion, but I'm very glad we did. The hotel is a nice walk to all the downtown attractions, but also in a quiet area away from any tourist noise. The breakfast was possibly the best we had in all of our of 18 days in England.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back parking lot--not a great view, but very quiet and away from any street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_WelliBelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
I am pleased that we made your stay in Bath a happy occasion. I hope you had a good time in the rest of the UK and hope to see you on a return visit.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I brought my girlfriend here for a romantic getaway from London for the weekend. It's ideally located in the centre of it all. There is a really nice Raymond Blanc restaurant next door, plenty of places to see and eat at nearby. Great service in the hotel and very nice staff. The feature room for approx £250 was brilliant. Very clean and tidy, bathrooms were impeccable and with a lovely rain shower. Bed was huge although as i have a sensitive back i found the bed too soft for my liking. Also we were in room 112 which, although plush, was on the front and therefore kept awake by the cars outside, hence why i dock the overall stay one star.

Apart from that we had an excellent stay. Breakfast was really nice! cold breakfast buffet and the full english i ordered was really nice! one suggestion i would give would be to get down early. There was a queue when we were leaving. Breaky was 8-11 and we got in for 9am.

I would totally recommend this place to anyone looking to make a real effort and treat each other during a nice romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Go for a feature room if you can so as to make your overall experience much better, but ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
I do hope you return for your next romantic getaway. Thank you for sending in a review.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing