We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Lusby, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here one night in a feature room. The extensive recent renovation is amazing. The mix of old and new styles is excellent. Very comfortable room-- perfectly clean. Loved the rainforest shower-- except with the shower gap and no real door/shower curtain you do get the floor a bit wet. Excellent location on Queen Square. Very little road noise from a room in the front. Superior staff. Topped it off with a carriage ride from Courtyard Carriages to visit No. 1 Royal Crescent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dressage62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had a great time and I hope you come back again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    678
    197
    67
    18
See reviews for
288
1,302
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Francis Hotel is located in the centre of Bath - no more than a 10 minute walk from all the key tourist sites. The Hotel itself is nice with very friendly and helpful staff. As with all hotels in Bath, the Francis is expensive, we were in room 315 on the third floor, the room itself was nice, but very cramped - not unusual for a historic hotel.
My main criticism of the hotel relates to the entire breakfast process, which was chaotic, the cooked breakfast was basic and largely inedible, the tables were not cleaned properly between sittings. You would be better off opting for room only and getting breakfast in one of the many excellent cafés close by.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are small and cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback; I am confident that the concerns that you experienced at breakfast have been addressed.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Francis Hotel is centrally situated in a beautiful restored old building. The rooms have modern and traditional touches; ours had a king bed and was painted dark blue and red. The room had no view, but was quiet and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was small but beautifully appointed. The Roman bath mural in the shower was a nice touch and the black and white tiles impeccable. The rain shower was soothing and the towels very thick. The lighting was poor in the bathroom, another light would help. The first day we had breakfast downstairs, the meal was good, but the last day, we had a train to catch, so we went to the breakfast room well in advance and after an hour's wait, we had to leave before we could receive our meal. The receptionist credited our account, but this left a bitter taste in our mouths. The other restaurant in the hotel The Brasserie Blanc was excellent, we had dinner there three times (due to bad weather), we loved the Scottish salmon. A part from the breakfast incident, we recommend this hotel for its comfort and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toogreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments regarding breakfast, which we have since addressed.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed for one night with my teenage daughter. After a stressful four and a half hour drive in the rain and darkness, our arrival at the Francis Hotel was heaven. The brilliant bar manager arranged for us to have food, even though the kitchen was about to close. He served my daughter's Appletise drink in a champagne flute. What a thoughtful gesture!
Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was spotless.
Parked in the nearby long stay. It is free after 8pm but pay anyway and it saves you having to put your money in the meter at 8am when you could be in bed or having breakfast.
I must confess, The Francis is the most expensive hotel I have stayed in but it is certainly the best. Thank you to all the staff, especially the attentive bar manager. He is a star.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrasterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Guest Relations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that Jason was able to make it even more memorable.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colnbrook, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Having had a delightful stay in April for our wedding anniversary we decided to return in September for my birthday. Once again the room was attractive with the most comfy bed & pillows. All the staff were very friendly & helpful. One or two hiccups with room service but these were rectified straight away to our satisfaction. Cannot fault the service. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
It is great to see that you have returned to the Hotel in the space of 5 months – that is wonderful. Thank you so much for sendng in a review and hope you come back soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have always read the reviews on hotels both good and bad before booking. Never bothered writing my own but decided I would just write a few lines about the Francis. I found all the staff we met to be extremely helpful and professional. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable and it is ideally situated to visit all of Baths attractions. In short would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
I am flattered that we are the subject of your first review and thank you for taking the time to write in.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Though part of the Accor group, you would never guess it. Entering the hotel you will find a rather esoteric array of period style furniture which gives a club-like ambience. After a warm reception, we found our room - decorated in similar style and with a four poster bed. There was a comfortable sitting area and a spacious shower room complete with a reproduction background of Bath's renowned Roman baths. We had both coffee and tea making facilities. The en suite room was a warm, clean and relaxing retreat from a busy round of sightseeing. Breakfast is a combination of a buffet for starters and a freshly prepared choice of various hot breakfast dishes. A Blanc Brasserie forms part of the hotel so a decent dinner at reasonable prices is assured. The Francis is a good choice for a visit to the most attractive city of Bath.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMSAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your informative review; I am sure it will be very useful for any future guests thinking of staying at the Francis. I hope you we get the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing