We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Francis Hotel, the room was lovely, and the hotel is beautiful, comfortable and luxurious. The major positive about this hotel is the staff, without exception everyone was extremely friendly without being pretentious, and we were made to feel extremely welcome and well looked after. Particularly impressed by Bar Manager Jason, bar man Alex and George in the Blanc Brasserie, we had the most amazing meal there and would highly recommend it. A wonderful hotel for a romantic break in a lovely city, we will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

This is a great boost to morale for all the staff at the Hotel; thank you for sending in your review. I will make sure that Brasserie Blanc see it as well and hope you return soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,785 - 1,791 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife for a wedding at the Roman Baths and was very impressed with the hotel.

The room was clean and spacious and ideal for what we needed. It wasn't dated gaudy, the bed was very comfortable too and I had a nice sleep which is hard to come by when staying in a hotel.

The only downside to the room was that it did not have a bath, but this is my own fault as maybe I should have requested this when booking.

Also, there was only one packet of biscuits on our tea tray, so naturally my wife had them and I went hungry.

Te breakfast is a little pricey, but definitely worth it. I can't remember staying in another hotel where the breakfast has been so comprehensive and satisfying.

I'd happily re-book this hotel if I was visiting Bath again. Good job!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for sending in a review. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and we’ll remember the biscuits – for both of you!.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here in August for a family weekend away. It was fabulous, we loved the decor which is classic and quirky. The beds were among the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in, including the sofa bed for my son. All the rooms were individual, and very stylish, the shower has a mural of the bath spa. The hotel was really quiet and the staff superb. We ate at the Blanc Brasserie, which had a complete Gluten free menu to the delight of my mother who was recently diagnosed Coeliac. It was pricey, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciaj422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you so much for sending in a review following your stay in August; it is great to see that you all had a good time and hope we see you all again very soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a classy hotel with very professional staff. Moderately expensive dining in hotel. Suites are clean and comfortable. Located within walking distance to many nice pubs and mega tourist shopping. Quick taxi ride to Herrod's. Walk to Bath Abby and Roman Baths. First timers should take the "Hop on Hop off" bus tour to see the city sites.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Scaulgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for sending in a review following your stay. I agree, the Open Top Bus Tour is great and is a must for a first time visitor to Bath. I hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Arrived at 4.00pm on 2nd October for 2 nights, immediately upgraded without asking, Room 319 House No. 7 top floor overlooking Queens Square. Room fantastic our only slight thought was it was painted in varying dark blues could have been lighter. Shower really good with large fixed head on ceiling and an ordinary one on wall, and one wall covered in picture of Bath Spa a nice touch. Large bed very comfortable with nice pillows. Expresso coffee machine with 3 different coffees to choose from, choice of teas, not enough milk but once asked for a jug of fresh milk bought up to the room within 5 minutes which we kept and used from the fridge in room for our 2 night stay. Turn down service available. We were not bothered by the little noise there was at night from the road and we were at the front. After reading the reviews about breakfast we decided to find breakfast elsewhere, we can highly recommend The Jazz Club for breakfast and half the price, will rate them separately. Also highly recommend the Brasserie Blanc attached to hotel, will rate separately. This was a lovely short break in the centre of Bath everything walkable with great service. If you need car parking we used the one in Charlotte Street, although paying for more than 8 hours rather complicated.

Room Tip: We had room 319 House No 7 slight road noise, a couple of sirens one evening, remember you are i the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for sending in a review following your short break with us. I do hope it isn’t too long before you return to Bath and the Francis Hotel.

Kind regards
John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had spent ages looking for a hotel for a special treat weekend in Bath. Francis Hotel has lovely rooms and attentive staff.

We had two rooms booked for our group: Premier Double overlooking Queen Square and Superior overlooking where the gardens once were. Both had excellent facilities.

Jason is such a brilliant Bartender. Makes amazing Marmalade Martini's. An absolute credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a premier if you can afford it.....extra few pounds is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 689sharonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words; they are very much appreciated by the team. Jason does make very good cocktails – come back soon to sample some more!
Kind regards
John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Lovely one night stay will definitely stay again. Right in the centre perfect location for day/seeing the sights & the for evening surrounded by lots of fab restaurants & bars. Raymond Blancs Brasserie also within the hotel but a separate entity/ they will however charge food to hotel account. We didn't eat there but it was very busy & is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joolzroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your review; I’m glad you have had a good stay with us. Come back soon and try out Brasserie Blanc!

Kind regards
John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £94 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing