We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations, great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations, great central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here on my own and therefore had the smallest room but it felt very cosy, comfortable and was quiet so I had a good night's sleep. The bathroom was fairly large, everything worked and was spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed and thermostatically controlled air-con/heating. The staff were very kind and went out of their way when I lost my credit card, nothing was ever too much trouble for them. I didn't have breakfast in the hotel but had a fabulous meal at Raymond Blanc's brasserie next door, well worth considering. They have a good set menu with a glass of wine.
The new interior design is quirky but it works well in the building.
An overall positive experience and will definitely return.

Room Tip: I had a small double on the 2nd floor overlooking the back - it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissies50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review; it is always a great boost to morale for all! I do hope that you return very soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    679
    198
    67
    18
See reviews for
288
1,304
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have stayed at the Francis every Easter Sunday for the past 15 years. We love the comfortable atmosphere and the quirkiness of the building.. We couldn't get a room at the Francis once and had to go to the Bath Spa Hotel instead, and it was so posh we couldn't really relax and unwind.

The beds are top quality and the bed linen first rate. We always arrive tired after a busy Easter weekend so a comfortable bed is sheer bliss. Last year our granddaughter came with us and they gave us a room with a child's bed in it.

They allow dogs for £10 a night. I asked what the £10 was for - did the dog get dinner? No. Well, did he get a bed? No. What about breakfast? No to that too. But at least they allow him to be there at all, so I'm not really complaining.

The restaurant is magnificent. Its a new one and it absolutely first rate, and highly recommended.

Overall, the Francis is sheer comforting, welcoming bliss, and our favourite hotel of all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for sending in a review following your stay with us in April. It is great to see past loyal guests returning following the refurbishment; I must just say though that we don’t accept dogs any longer. I am pleased that you enjoyed Brasserie Blanc and I will certainly pass on your compliments and 1 do hope we see at the Francis Hotel next year, even though we don't take pets.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The rule when travelling is never to ask your neighbour what they are paying since (Flaneur's rule) they will always be paying less. Just read luckywomanSomerset's posting (below) that she managed a three-nights-for-two deal for £298, beating our recent £338 for two nights in a "de luxe double room". Goodonya, lucky woman. But what really grates is that this hotel could not arrange an inclusive breakfast for a £169 a night room. By stripping out breakfast from the bed-and-breakfast rate expected in the UK, and then charging £19 a head for that meal, they remove all goodwill and gain a poor rating. Others might like to know that 500 yards behind the hotel is a brilliant little cafe (The Boston Tea Party) that serves an excellent breakfast for a fraction of that price. The £15 per night parking fee also seems excessive.
On the positive side, the first floor room at the front was large, comfortable with a good bathroom (no bath). The central location is ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting onto the square will get some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaneur47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much sending in a review. It is always good to check on our website for any offers that we have coming up should you consider staying with us again. With regards to breakfast, there are lots of really great places to take breakfast in Bath; another good location is the Jazz café on Kingsmead Square. There is the council run car park, Charlotte Street, on the opposite side of the Square as an alternative to our own; we recommend guests drop off their at the Hotel luggage prior to going to the car park. Our Feature rooms all have walk in rain showers, however, many of our other room do have baths and can be requested when making a booking.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed only for one night but made the most of it. In the heart of Bath with parking and that in itself means it will be my first choice next time I return. In addition, very pleasant and helpful staff, interesting décor, very good standard of rooms and cleanliness (224 was a great superior room) with a Nespresso machine, means it ticked all the right boxes for my husband and I. But why should it get 5 stars? Because of the very generous and well cooked breakfast, served till 10 on the weekdays and check out was not till noon.

Room Tip: 224 is right at the end of the corridor with double aspect and a bath with a great shower. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smc2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 stars! It is appreciated by all and we very much hope that we see you again soon.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Oh, I really struck lucky with this! Firstly, they had a special offer on their website, 3 nights for the price of 2, so only spent £298 for a superior double which for Bath at a high end hotel is pretty fantastic. Secondly, the hotel itself is truly lovely, adapted from a terrace of Georgian houses on Queen's Square, and manages to combine the grace of that period with a clean, bold contemporary feel. Having had a recent refurb, everything felt pristine! Our room was lovely, a modern extension to the terrace, but built in character, on what was originally a garden of one of the houses. I just loved the design - bold uses of colour, black and white, and the bed was wonderful. Bathroom, albeit a bit small, was also fabulous, with a great walk in rainfall type shower, huge fluffy towels and good toiletries. Oh, and a demisting mirror. The location couldn't be more perfect - Bath City Centre is small anyway, but Queen's Square is slap bang in the middle. Best of all (if that is possible) was the service. Never really come across such excellent customer service in this country before, from being greeted by the porter/doorman/security person each time we came in or left, to the really nice receptionist, and the brilliant housekeeping. We were tired on our last day and needed to put our feet up in the afternoon, so put a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. Housekeeping put a letter under the door saying that they had left us alone as requested, but if we wanted our room serviced after 5pm, that would be no problem at all. I was impressed! This probably would be a bit out of my usual league had I paid full price, but worth far more than the price I paid. Thank you Francis!

Room Tip: Didn't see inside any of the period rooms, but going for the Garden rooms is a good idea - perio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckywomanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts here. It is always good to check our website for any special offers coming up. I do hope we see you again soon.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Really nice hotel, my room had no bath, which I really dislike in a hotel. But otherwise, great location, lovely staff and very helpful.
I would stay here again tomorrow! Breakfast was great - lots of selection and an a la carte menu as well as the buffet. They also had option for specific dietary requirements.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as the front of the hotel you can hear traffic/people out drinking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry we were unable to accommodate you in a room with a bath. Should you return to the Francis, which I do hope you will, please request a bath when you make the booking and we will do our best to accommodate you .
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The bed was a good size and very comfortable and we slept very well. The room was very tidy and airy with high ceilings. Location was great, 5 mins walk from SPA, close to restaurants and shops. Reasonably quite area. Staff were professional and hotel in general was very well looked after. Would definitely stay there again next time in Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are a bit noisier with road right in front. Quieter if you get higher up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for sending in such a constructive review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Francis.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Lastminute, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing