We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and British splendour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    706
    210
    67
    19
See reviews for
299
1,349
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel was in perfect location for the city. However website and staff failed to give details of parking costs until we checked out after two nights, and we're hit with a £30 additional charge. This really needs to be made clearer on website and booking websites.

Breakfast we also felt was very expensive at £20 per head.

Room was small but comfortable, however sound appeared to travel very easily from room to room. We could hear our neighbours television very clearly.

All in all a nice stay, but a little over priced.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of amending our website to make the charges clearer prior to the guest arriving as it isn’t something that want to surprise the guest with on depature.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was our second stay in the Francis. We had a basic room this time but it was of a decent size and the bathroom, although small, was stylish and had a big shower enclosure.
I love the decor of this hotel - it's like I'd love to have at home but couldn't, because it's over the top, in a fun way, but very tasteful and stylish.
Three things stand out for me about this hotel: the decor, the beds, and the breakfasts. The beds are super-comfortable. For someone who has always opted for a firm mattress, believing them to offer the best support, these beds are a revelation. Whether they are firm or not underneath I don't know, but the top layer is squashy and super-comfortable, cocooning you to a lovely sleep. The pillows and bedding are also first class.
But breakfast is always something I look forward to in hotels and here it gets five stars. Pancakes with maple syrup? Eggs cooked to order, in the way you like? Yes please!
We also found the staff, without exception, to be friendly and efficient. We came for the lovely Christmas market and the excellent pedestrianised shopping centre - Bath is a great place to visit for a few days.
.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaGoshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
It looks like you have had a really enjoyable stay, which is wonderful. Don’t leave it too long before you come for a return visit. Thank you for sending in a review.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed there in October of this year. The hotel is renovated to excellent standards. Staff are very pleasant, always smiling, and very welcoming. Rooms were clean, spacious, with all the encases art amenities. The resturant in the hotel is excellent, in service,good, and ambience. Overall an excellent experience, and would recommend it two thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakeem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for the thumbs up! Come back soon.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Francis for a couple of nights before Christmas. The hotel is lovely, so nice to see somewhere with a bit of unique style for a change. The staff are all so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Can thoroughly recommend breakfast in your room as the perfect way to start a leisurely days shopping.
Location was perfect for pottering round the shops, and having a car park was very useful, not having to carry bags etc to public car parks.
We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for sending in your review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your visit.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Central bath, very easy checkin, smart room well laid out for a business traveller and all important free wifi.

The hotel is made up of a number of converted houses and sprawls a little - I had some difficulty finding my room at the back...tip - ask for one overlooking Queens Square

Room Tip: ask for one at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback.
Kind regards
John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing