We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more from this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expected more from this hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Francis hotel has gone all in with the decor. Either you may find it cool and a bit crazy or just too much and over the top. Each room has more elaborate wall paper than the next. They have a bar on the bottom floor and a big lobby area attached to the reception.
The staff were ok but did not really impress. The breakfast is fine, but considering the size of the hotel the breafkast room and buffet a relatively small. The fresh berries were a nice touch, but other than that it was pretty standard.
The location is convenient, within walking distance to anything you might want to do in downtown Bath, but still in a quiet location.
We had issues with the air conditioning in our room. Even if you set it for a certain temperature it would not turn off when the room reached that temperature so it was a choice of keeping it on or off.
The beds were comfortable and the rooms are a good size. There was a hair dryer and an iron, but there was no fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Since the hotel consists of several houses which have been connected, and there is only in lift in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review about your recent visit to The Francis. It is disappointing to read that you weren’t impressed with the staff; we usually have such good comments about the Team and I am sorry that it wasn’t the case on this occasion. The heating system in the room can take 10 minutes before the required temperature changes are reached. Starting yesterday, we are in the process of installing minibars in all the rooms.
John Willcock – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,139
    678
    197
    66
    18
See reviews for
287
1,302
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Enjoyed the room and the hotel. Lots of quirky features as this used to be a parade of homes. Lots to look at within the hotel. Not very impressed with Brasserie Blanc though that is attached to the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
It’s great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back again soon.
Kind regards and Happy New Year
John Willcock – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked this hotel due to its location very central to the city, when we arrived they allowed us to double park in the car park and said they would move it for us once a space became available , we arrived to early for check in but again they happily took our bags and when we came back later in the day our bags were in out room. The room was a good size very smart and clean with good facilities and really comfortable bed. I agree with previous reviewers about the price of the breakfast but there are numerous other great food outlets really close by. Overall great hotel and will certainly book again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfmoon187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for sending in a review following your stay with us. I do hope it wont be too long before you return.

Kind regards and Happy New Year
John Willcock – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a one nights stay at this hotel. It is in a major tourist town, so can be excused for being a little more expensive but I felt it was not really any better than other tourist destinations I have stayed in for less money. The hotel was clean, modern and the service was great. The room we had was on the small side, having to climb over the bed to get in to the other side is not something you would expect of a room at that price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 8338y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The rates for the rooms operate on a similar system to the airlines, the closer you get to the date of the booking the higher the rate; Bath is extremely busy at the weekends and this also effects the rates. If you were thinking of returning, book online on our website for the best rates. It would appear that you stayed in a comfort classic room, which is the smallest category of room we offer; the rooms do increase in size as you move up the scale.

Kind regards and Happy New Year
John Willcock – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing