We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, strange smell, cold shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small room, strange smell, cold shower”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

On arrival staff seemed very helpful from check in to bringing our bags to our room. The room was a lot smaller then what we expected from viewing the hotel website but it was cozy and nicely decorated. Really cool shower but when we woke up the next morning there was no hot water which wasn't pleasant. On check out I told the staff about the problem, which she took a note of but didn't really do anything more to make me want to return for a second visit at this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for sending in a review following your stay. We do have 4 levels of rooms in the hotel and it does sound like you were possibly in one of our Comfort Classic rooms, which is the first level of rooms we offer. Unfortunately, we did have a problem earlier this week with the hot water in a few of the rooms due to a faulty pump, which was rectified the following day; I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced. If you have 5 minutes please call me to discuss.
Kind regards
John Willcock – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    706
    211
    67
    19
See reviews for
300
1,350
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Fabulous hotel - good location. The city centre is a very short walk making sight seeing on foot very easy. Everything you could possibly need for a break in Bath. Friendly attentive staff and lots of choice at breakfast. Would stay here again without hesitation. Great value

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffcarnell1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope we see you again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyneham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our first impression of the Francis was good when we pulled up outside and within seconds the concierge had welcomed us, taken our bags and drove our car off to the car park - very efficient.
Check in was fast and our bags arrived in our room a few minutes after we did. A very well appointed room, extremely clean and a super-comfy bed.

We did not use any of the hotel amenities such as bar or restaurant as we were staying here on an overnight whilst attending a function in the city.

Overall, very impressed with this hotel and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Many thanks for sending in your positive thoughts following your stay with us. We do value your feedback and hope to see you again next time you are in Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel was quite impressive and beautiful. Great location.
The bar is not, as they say on their website, 24 hours. Nor is the room service. Tried to get a late night snack. Was essentially told there was nothing, but maybe they could find a sandwich. Fine. That dry, bland sandwich cost us over $20.
Also asked for an adaptor in the afternoon. Waited for 30 minutes without hearing anything from housekeeping. Wasn't going to sit in the room when there were things to explore. Never saw an adaptor. Nor was it mentioned again.
I ordered a signature drink in the bar. They didn't serve that drink again. Apparently the menu was from a year ago.
No big deals, just a lot of irritating small issues. The room was gorgeous and the hotel is quite prettily decorated. We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms. Very spacious.

Room Tip: ground floor room at the end of the hall is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMann83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I am so sorry to hear that there were areas of your stay which weren’t up to standard; this is disappointing and I will be bringing this up with my Night Staff. The bar should be open for 24 hours for our guests and there is a Room Service menu, which, although limited, has more to offer than sandwiches alone. I do apologise that you were inconvenienced and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Francis on another occasion
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked a room at the last minute, through an online search, based on it's location, which is within walking distance of all of the attractions in central Bath. Right from when we pulled into the parking lot we were impressed with the helpful, friendly staff. It took less than 2 minutes to check in, without us even asking, we were offered maps and advice on attractions. After returning from a excellent dinner (at a restaurant recommended by the knowledgable concierge) we were warmly welcomed by the night host, who served us cocktails and did not bat an eye when we requested an additional room for the night. Both rooms were spacious, immaculate, having up to date decor, and large bathrooms. The beds were so comfy, (with luxurious pillows and duvets) we overslept and missed breakfast. But when I phoned reception they offered to send a continental breakfast to my room. I would be happy to go back to this Hotel, and I have already recommended it to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annkenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recommendations. We do hope it won’t be too long before you return to the Francis Hotel Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My Sister and I have just spend a wonderful weekend at the Francis Hotel in Bath celebrating her 50th Birthday. We hired the breakfast room in the basement for a Mad Hatters Fancy dress Tea Party. The Hotel and all the staff were absolutely wonderful and could not do enough to make our stay and my sister's birthday the best ever. The hotel is centrally located in Bath and has just recently been refurbished so looks amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to hold a function but also if you are just looking for a superb weekend in luxury surroundings...it was all just 100% perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
It did look as if you all had a good time at the party; it was fun for the staff to work that day! I do hope you return for her 51st!
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing