We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok....not great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I was very disappointed with this hotel. Its rated as 4 star and it was quite pricey. We paid extra for a more superior room. It was clean and comfortable but I just didn't get the feel that it was anything special. Staff were fine ......can't really explain why I wasn't overly impressed. It is a hotel that is in a great location but not sure that justifies the cost of their rooms. It seemed to me to be a nice clean three star at best......suppose that's bath for you though.......

in summary a clean comfortable hotel in a very nice location....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54BJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here; all feedback is very much appreciated. I am just sorry that we weren’t able to ‘wow’ you on this occasion.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DDav26
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Screenzone
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was so sad leaving the hotel, my stay was absolutely perfect and lovely. I was in a room so nicely decorated and nothing went wrong. I love the shower with the picture of the Roman Baths, the old telephone, the little sofa and the comfortable bed. Lot of choise for breakfast, à la carte English breakfast + continental buffett... do not miss it!
Francis Hotel MGallery exceeded my expectations! I can't wait to be back. Thanks, Michela

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michela93lnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

It is always wonderful to receive a positive review such as yours! It is a morale booster for all the Team. I hope it isn’t too long before you return to The Francis Hotel.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We took two rooms: A double and a twin.
The plus side: great location, funky design, pleasant staff.
Not so brilliant: The rooms have been designed in a quirky mix of traditional and tongue in cheek but the practical side lets it down. The rooms don't seem well thought out. Apart from the cupboard no real place to put clothes. The bathrooms are tiny - no space to put your toiletries. IAlso not all feature rooms have baths. For two people we were provided with one towel and had to hunt for the other. One only room in the bathroom
It is noisy to sleep on the park side - though pretty; quieter but not pretty on the parking side.
Overall a pleasant stay but with lowered expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback; I’m pleased you found the staff to be pleasant and liked the location of the Hotel. All the Feature rooms in the Hotel have showers only, although the bathrooms can vary in size; the second set of towels is placed in the cupboard. Should you return, request a room at the back of the hotel at the booking stage and we will do our best to make your stay with us a comfortable one.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

From our warm and informative welcome, to our leisurely check out, The Francis Hotel felt like home from home. The room was incredibly comfortable, with a beautiful design, and spotlessly clean. It was really hard to fault our stay at all.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ajyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review; I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Francis.
Kind regards
John Willcock - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Firstly the good things. The bedroom was spotlessly clean, room very tidy. The decor was very plush, and the carpet had a nice bouncy feel to it. I liked the old-style telephone and the extravagant gold mirror, the oversized lamp, and the cartoony pictures on the walls.
The bathroom was also brilliantly clean, and it's very unusual (but nice!) to have both an overhead shower, and the type you can remove and hold in your hand - in same room.
It's very difficult to photograph, because it's black and white all around, and the mirror reflects that pattern.

The bed WAS nicely made, but like a fool I took some of these pictures the morning after, and after we'd messed it up.

Plug sockets were perfectly placed. Two under the TV (above a table and chair - perfect for a laptop), and one either side of the bed (for charing your mobile phone).

The only thing in the room that slightly let it down (and it is very slight), is that the controls for the shower has started to develop rust.

The checkin staff were excellent, and very helpful.


We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel during our stay, but did have breakfast.
I think they undersell themselves here. There were no baked beans (shame) but the sausages were delicious. They gave local butter with the toast, but this wasn't mentioned at all (I'd be advertising that fact, if I were them).
The food labels were a bit sparse. Some things were labelled for example "fruit cake" and some things had no labels at all. I had to guess between juices, and under a dimish light, pineapple, orange, - and sometimes even apple - all look much the same. The hot food had no labels at all. Are the sausages pork, beef, or both?
My (vegetarian) girlfriend and I asked two members of staff separately if the mushrooms, hash browns, etc. were cooked in animal fats with the sausages, or separately in vegetable oil. They both said they would find out and let us know, and neither returned. I'm sure they were very busy, but this could have been avoided if there were just some labels (and v symbols) on the hot food.
The hot food I had by the way was delicious.

My girlfriend asked another member of staff on the way out of the breakfast area about the food, who said he thought they cooked everything in Canola oil. I'd never heard of it, but apparently it's the world's healthiest cooking oil (even healthier than olive oil). Surely this is another thing they should write on a sign?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadlyPlacedPlugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in such a detailed review following your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the signage on the buffet.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £101 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing