We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Lovely hotel with some of the best band most helpful staff I have encountered. Super location --- very comfortable and cannot recommend too highly. I thing MGallery is the jewel in the Accord group and is the second property in this group I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianinwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

It is great to see you have had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you very much for sending in a review and I do hope it won’t be too long before you return.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,247)
There are newer reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,540 - 1,546 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a comfortable hotel in walking distance to the high street,good restaurants,the royal crescent,theatre ,pump rooms and spa.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Bed is especially comfortable with crisp cotton linen.
Our bathroom only had a shower but our friends were offered a room with a Bath. It's worth knowing to ask if you are choosing the standard rooms.
The hotel is situated on one side of a Georgian square . The front of the hotel has constant traffic but if you are aware and want the view you put up with it. The alternative is the back of the hotel overlooking the car park.

The breakfast was excellent. Good quality sausages,bacon,large field mushrooms, Range of continental style buffet food and Al a carte cooked choices(at no extra cost)
The staff throughout our stay were very pleasant and helpful.

Although this Hotel is part of a chain it has not lost its personality and was very good value for money.
We will return

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your positive review; it is always a morale boost for all the team! It is great to see that you have returned to the Francis and brought friends! Come again soon!
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for just one night and we were very pleased with almost everything. We got a good rate by booking direct with the hotel's own web site and we were pleasantly surprised throughout our stay.
Firstly all of the staff we encountered were very polite and informative. Secondly the hotel's décor was really nice and everywhere in the hotel appeared very clean and newly decorated. Thirdly the location of this hotel is great if you want to forget about your car and explore the city.
Breakfast was fab with great waiting staff and on site parking (£15/night) was reasonable...concierge will park your car for you without any fuss.
The room we stayed in was a bit on the small side but it was well appointed and very clean.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUDIRS4England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for sending in a review following your stay with us. It is great to see you had a good time with us and I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent just one night here with daughter for 16th birthday. Location is wonderfully central and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful.
They moved us to another room immediately when we had to complain about the soundproofing. (We could hear every word of the couple in what I think was the next room, to the point where it became distracting).
The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need - including amazing beds. I have to say I had one of the best night's sleep in living memory, and it was with great reluctance that I prised myself out of bed in the morning.
Check-in and out was incredibly easy, breakfast was nice. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We moved from room 127 (back of the hotel) to 120, which was on the front, to avoid the noise of our...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailingcarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

It is wonderful to see that you and your daughter had a memorable birthday celebration in Bath. If you would like any information on the beds or bedding please send us an email and we can let you know the details of the suppliers.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Spent two nights here over the Valentine weekend. Being centrally located all the main attractions are only a short walk away. The staff were without exception pleasant, helpful and efficient. The double room we were allocated was at the back of the hotel, although the view out of the window was rather uninspiring, the actual room itself was spotlessly clean and decorated in an interesting mix of Georgian, Rococo and Art deco styles. The bed was without doubt the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. The carpet was very soft and pleasant to walk on and the room had tea/coffe making equipment, TV , a safe and a small refrigerator The bathroom had a small bath with an efficient, easy to control shower over it. The towels were very soft and the soaps, gels etc provided were good quality products, the bathrobes were a nice touch as well. You could hear some noise from an adjacent room, but on the whole the room was quiet, particularly during the night. The hotel had a fantastic range of breakfast foods on offer to set you up for the day. Both my wife and myself had a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

It is great to see that you have had an enjoyable Valentine’s experience with us at the Francis. It is always a boost to receive such positive feedback and I hope you return soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

it's not that the place was bad before just that the makeover has really worked. An overseas tourist would love the rooms which are finished to a high standard. it is well placed for all the main touristy bits of bath. I went on business and the breakfast was very good. The staff are friendly (Nick and Emma I think but also the lady who checked us in on 19 Feb at about 7.15)

Just one thing - room 312 is not for the tallest of people as the shower aimed at my chest and I'm 5 foot 10! That however, is nit picking! Good job everyone.

Room Tip: There's a wicked gin bar 2 minutes round the corner, south east of Queen's Sq.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BumpkinWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for your review. It is always good to welcome people back to the Hotel; I will pass on your comments to all and hope it isn’t too long before you come back again.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Lovely staff, friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. less tun 5 minutes walk to Thermae Bath Spa, The Roma Baths and Bath Abbey. The bed was one of the comfiest I've ever sept in, the room decor was beautiful, stylish and modern with hints of Georgian. Everything was perfect and we even had a view over Queen's Square. Expensive but still good value.

Room Tip: We went for the view and were warned that we might hear traffic noise but you had to really concentr...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

It is great to see that you had a good time when you stayed and hope it isn’t too long before you have a return visit!
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £112 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TravelUp, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing