We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with the right location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Last Christmas holiday we went to Bath with family and stayed at the Francis Hotel for 1 week.
It is a nice hotel with nice classic design of the room. The best thing is the location of the hotel which makes very convenient as tourist to stay, almost every must to see place is within the walking distance. The hotel has outdoor parking place but it is not large enough many times we need to park our car outside in front of the hotel. The staff is quite helpful, it was snowing and when we asked staff to borrow the snow remover, not only we may borrow but the nice staff even clean the car windows for us!!! The breakfast was good, only one remark, they didnt change the menu for the enitire week, so at the end we were a bit bored.
We will stay at the same hotel if we go to Bath again, a hotel we could recommend to others.

Room Tip: We were fortuante to have our room updated, you could ask staff for their recommendation when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments they are very much appreciated by the Team. We look forward to seeing you again at Francis Hotel Bath.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,593 - 1,599 of 2,316 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great hotel, I don’t know what you call a collection of hotel staff (a menagerie sounds good!!) but the reception is full of them all keen to assist in every way. Very comfortable beds and decent décor, with clean and tidy surroundings, just what you need from a hotel.
Many things in life only really come to “light” when things go wrong, which unfortunately due to a leaking pipe it did. But it was rectified in a professional and amicable way, and even with our slightly frustrating cold water situation, the way in which it was handled gave me faith that I would choose this hotel again in the future

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanCSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

The Front Office Team are delighted to be described as a ‘menagerie’! It is great to see that you had a good stay with us in spite of the unforeseen problem with the water. Do come back again soon.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My fiance and I traveled to Bath to do a bit of sightseeing and visiting friends and family in surrounding towns. Immediately upon entering the hotel we were struck by it's classic style. From the moment we checked in, the service was exemplary. Everyone from the front desk to the breakfast staff were warm and welcoming and interested in making our stay as nice as possible. the room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The hotel is located in the center of the downtown area within a 15 minute walk of dozens of restaurants, if you choose to eat outside the hotel, which has a great eatery of it's own! We will be returning to Bath again in the very near future and I can't imagine staying anywhere other than the Francis!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking "Queen's Square" in front of the hotel. It's a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Thank you very much for posting all your positive thoughts on here.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The overall appearance of the hotel is very very nice it's been recently renovated and the room we booked was clean a good size and the bathroom was lovely! Its a Georgian Style hotel quite eccentric. Has a lovely picture of the Roman baths in the shower so it was as if you were in the baths themselves.
The hotels appearance is quite eccentric but keeping with the Georgian style of Bath making it fit in well.
The location of the hotel is very central we were within walking distance from literally everywhere, which is great.
The staff are very friendly willing to help with anything. We stored our bags when we first arrived and when we checked in later in the day the bags had been taken to the room for us.
Breakfast was very good a small selection on a menu and also a buffet, continental breakfast was available. We sampled both the continental and the menu both were very nice.

Tip: worth getting down to breakfast a little early as it gets quite busy around 9ish

Service at breakfast on the second day was a little slower and a little disorganised we had to ask for tea and toast to find out where it got to be seen at the hotel was quite busy .
Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review following your stay. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and hope you don’t leave it too long before you return to The Francis.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

... and they were met by this hotel which symbolises perfection in every way
We arrived to a full carpark which could have set off a bad start to our weekend in Bath. We drove round a bit and parked on a meter outsied. The consierge took my keys and parked my car when a space became available (and my daughters car the following morning). The bar was a bit hectic after the rugby but the staff made up for it by serving us promptly
The breakfast was award winning. The honey bar was dreamy, the pastries soft and crispy at the same time. Local produce was in abundance - even the cute little butter pats sourced from the region. The staff could not have done more to be helpful and proactive. They extended our check out time, then removed our luggage when we said we weren't quite finished shopping. The bedroom was luxurious. Beautifully designed. Wonderful experience. I am returning in 3 weeks and am counting the days

Room Tip: Room 34 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachaelmillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for sending in a wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back later in the month.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Visiting Bath for the Bachfest we wanted somewhere central and the Francis is perfect. A really lovely comfortable Georgian house. We overlooked the square and enjoyed the boules game taking place Sunday morning. Delicious breakfast followed by stroll round Bath before returning to read papers with a coffee in comfortable lounge area. The staff very welcoming and friendly. Would def recommend-we shall return!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank woodrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recommendations. We hope you come back soon; perhaps next time you could participate in the boules game!
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very efficient online booking - with a lot of real-life human help on the phone when we realised we had booked for the wrong night.

Tricky to find because of the city centre traffic. The entrance is on double-yellow lines - but staff came out immediately both to unload the car, take our bags AND take the car away for us to the essential car-park.

Rapid check-in with friendly reception staff. The concierge is extremely knowledgeable about the city (his colleagues called him "Brain of Bath"!

Excellent room (though the bed was a couple of inches too short for a six-foot person). Very comfortable bed and well-fitted and stocked bathroom (with instant hot water).

Our room charge included breakfast - which was both continental and full English - with eggs etc done to your order.

All the staff were friendly and helpful without being obsequious. A delightful overnight stop - and only few minutes walk from all the sights. If I were to go to Bath again, I would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back. They overlook the car-park and are not troubled by noisy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

I am delighted you had a good time with us and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for sending in a review.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £104 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Prestigia, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing