We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harington's City Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dukes Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$216
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,428)
Filter reviews
2,428 results
Traveller rating
1,289
794
247
77
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
794
247
77
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrasserie blancfeature roomqueen squarecar parklovely hotelafternoon teasuperior roomclassic roomcentral locationnespresso machineper nightthird floorbed was very comfortableroyal crescentmain attractionswithin easy walking distanceeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,666 - 1,671 of 2,428 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for one night, and it was a great location! The hotel is wonderfully decorated with a great history and features. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was on a bit of a small side but very well decorated with a great shower! One of the great things is that you can walk through the hotel to get to the Raymond Blanc restaurant which was also good! The major downside is the £15 per day parking as it should be included with the rooms or at a reduced rate for 2 nights or more etc!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LejlaKevric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review following your stay. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time in Bath and at The Francis. Parking is very much at a premium in Bath and we are very lucky to have a car park, albeit limited. Fortunately, there is also the option of parking in the long stay car park on the opposite side of the Square. I do hope we see you again at some time in the future.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights, from Sunday to Tuesday for a short break, and loved it. The reception staff were friendly and very professional. We arrived early (about noon) and our room wasn't ready, so the staff offered to look after our bags, while we went into town for lunch. The room was lovely, well decorated, very clean, with a good air-con unit, a modern but traditional bathroom. The breakfast is superb, with a good selection of continental (cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt, smoothie shots, pastries, fruit salad). The cooked breakfast was even better - you order with the waiting staff, and the menu caters to all choices, such as Full English, scotch pancakes, eggs benedict, etc. And it tastes just superb! The staff at breakfast were very professional.

The hotel is well located, just a short walk from the city centre, and from the parks and royal crescent.

We booked through Secret Escapes and therefore got a complementary bottle of wine. We were asked when we wanted our wine, and they had it ready for us at the right time. And it was a very nice wine too.

We loved this hotel and will stay here next time we have a break in Bath.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MG-TKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

It is great to see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us; thank you for sending in a review. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Beautiful hotel! Fabulous location. Staff could not have been more helpful! Bedroom was very comfortable and had a wonderful nights sleep. The history of the hotel, or B&B as it originally was, is charming.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherryBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you very much for sending in a review; it is great to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. Please don’t leave it too long before you return.
Kind regards
Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I wanted to make this hotel my "go to hotel" when I'm in Bath visiting family, unfortately I'm still not convinced. I was in a feature room on the third floor and was constantly disturbed during the night by one of the windows in the bedroom that was unable to fit securely into the seal and would "wobble" every time the wind picked up. Also I would suggest the hot water in the room is looked at, it takes a while to get going in the shower and a minute or so for any actual warmer temperature of water to come through the tap on the sink. The staff are pleasant and check in and check out was prompt and efficient, its just a shame that my stays have been not without fault.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for sending in a review following your recent stay with us. This is disappointing; we would very much like to be your hotel of choice when you are in Bath. I have asked the Maintenance Manager to check the window in the room you stayed in to see if there is anything that can be done with the sash window to stop it rattling. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Francis Hotel in the future.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night as part of a Secret Escapes deal .... Very good value and excellent location. Only small gripe is paying to use hotel car park (£15) .... This practice seems to be happening more and more lately . The room was wonderful , clean and beautifully decorated . The shower was fantastic , in fact it's the best I've ever used in a UK hotel . Bed very comfy , robes and towels very soft . Limited road noise despite being in a front room . Breakfast very good . Staff all very polite and helpful. Would definitely stay again !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EveS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review; I am delighted that you have had such an enjoyable stay and hope it isn’t too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews