We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Harington's City Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (2,425)
Filter reviews
2,425 results
Traveller rating
1,286
794
247
77
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,286
794
247
77
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrasserie blancfeature roomqueen squarecar parklovely hotelafternoon teasuperior roomclassic roomcentral locationnespresso machineper nightthird floorbed was very comfortableroyal crescentmain attractionswithin easy walking distanceeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,650 - 1,655 of 2,425 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Having visited the city of Bath on many occasions we were delighted to find a "deal" in the recently renovated Francis hotel, although this did not include breakfast, we could purchase this if required on arrival or go for the room service option . From the history of the hotel which is fascinating and the creaky floor boards this hotel had us from "Hello" !, including the fabulous welcome from check in staff. We were offered a room upgrade for £20.00 per night, which after inspection of the other rooms was not necessary, our room was perfect and had everything we needed for our stay. The lounge/snug area was also delightful with attentive staff along with the award winning Raymond Blanc restaurant, (which a reservation is suggested) This hotel will definitely be on our calling card next time we visit this beautiful city.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 221 a classic room on the front of the hotel. there was very little traffic noise from the square. Lovely bright room and with a fabulous comfy bed/pillows. Great bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities included. along with complimentary water each day and use of a safe and fridge. If you plan to spend more time in the room you may wish to upgrade to a superior or feature room which has more space/seating area, but we found our room was just perfect for our stay.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com
Thank lovely_lindos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I hope it won’t be too long before we can welcome you back to Bath and to the Francis Hotel.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went in April for a few days and we had booked one of the Feature rooms. The room was huge! The bathroom was lovely and the rain shower was very nice. More than enough storage to hang your clothes etc. There was a nespresso machine and the room service as great too. It was nice being opposite the park too. Overall I was very happy with the hotel. Their afternoon tea was nice too, with a very nice back drop in the tea room downstairs. And the breakfast was delicious. My ONLY complaint is that you could hear people walking above you while in the room. The floor boards were creaking. BUT this is obviously because it's an old building, which in turn adds to its beauty!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank SMN1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review – I’m delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very nice hotel with efficient, polite and English staff (I know - in England?!). It has the right "feel" for Bath the architecture and the interior style is just right and our room was a decent size, fairly well equiped (safe, complimentary mineral water in fridge, fancy coffee machine with complimentary pods, your own iron and ironing board and very comfy oversized bed.

Downsides...
We paid extra for a "superior room" but how do you know? The view from our room was terrible, the sink plug didnt work so you couldn't have a shave, there is no car park (but there is a public one close by with EV charge points) and the so called soft bathrobes were made of sandpaper.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Francis Hotel Bath. I am pleased you like the feel of the Hotel. We have Classic, Superior and Feature rooms on both sides of the building (many people prefer to be on the back overlooking the car park as it is quieter than overlooking the Square). The difference between the Classic and the Superior is the size of the room and the addition of a Nespresso machine in the room. We do have a car park for our guests at the back of the Hotel, which operates on a first come, first served basis and is £15 per overnight stay. We have noted your comments about the bathrobes, which is disappointing and we are addressing. I do hope we will see you again at some time in the future.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked a room for two nights to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. I mentioned that when boooking and the receptionist mentioned it too but nothing special in our room..:(

The room was fine although quite noisy as overlooked the bins (which seemed to be filled noisly frequently) and the carpark.

The bathroom was tiny and although the shower had the advantage of being powerful that meant the floor also had a shower too. On the first night the room wasn't turned down. The remote control had the back missing from it meaning the batteries came out and a pillow case was badly stained...

So all in all it was OK. Sadly not memorable for really good reasons though....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for sending in a review following your stay with us. I really am very sorry that your anniversary wasn’t acknowledged; this is an area that we pride ourselves in and we like to do what we can to make any celebration memorable at the Francis. I am currently investigating the matter to find out what happenedon this occasion. You have also responded to a survey sent from the Hotel and I hope to welcome you back to the Francis on another occasion.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Aesthetically gorgeous, history filled hallways, could eat off every surface, beautiful bathroom treats, pure water out of the taps, with bottles free in room too. Situated well, restaurant delicious, beautiful staff, utterly special hotel

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Lea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

What a morale boosting review this is – thank you very much! Do come back soon.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews