We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights (29th April-1st May) with my partner during our short break in Bath. First impressions, wow! Absolutely stunning hotel, with so much attention to detail. Stayed in a double classic room (326), which had everything we needed for our time away. The room was on the small side, but you get what you pay for and I couldn't fault it at all. The bed was amazing, by far the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I had to drag my partner out of bed each morning, otherwise I'm sure he would have stayed in bed for the duration of our stay!

We didn't eat in the hotel, as to me it was a bit pricey (£19.50 per person for breakfast), but Bath is full of lovely little café's and eateries, so it's worth having a look around.

The Francis Hotel is in an excellent location, close to all the tourist attractions, main shopping area and the train station. I'll be sure to stay at the Francis Hotel again when I next visit Bath!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT_Jayne90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

It is great to see that you have had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for sending in a review and don’t leave it too long before you come back.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,617 - 1,623 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Can't fault the hotel in any way, basic rooms not huge but beautifuly furnished with little personal touches. Breakfast real good fresh choices with nothing too much trouble for the staff. The parking is overpriced for hotel guests and should be addressed and dont bother with the Grand breakfast in bed, it was a let down and not worth the tray charge! Apart from that loved our stay here and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucaloo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review; I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bath.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Having visited the city of Bath on many occasions we were delighted to find a "deal" in the recently renovated Francis hotel, although this did not include breakfast, we could purchase this if required on arrival or go for the room service option . From the history of the hotel which is fascinating and the creaky floor boards this hotel had us from "Hello" !, including the fabulous welcome from check in staff. We were offered a room upgrade for £20.00 per night, which after inspection of the other rooms was not necessary, our room was perfect and had everything we needed for our stay. The lounge/snug area was also delightful with attentive staff along with the award winning Raymond Blanc restaurant, (which a reservation is suggested) This hotel will definitely be on our calling card next time we visit this beautiful city.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 221 a classic room on the front of the hotel. there was very little traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com
Thank lovely_lindos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I hope it won’t be too long before we can welcome you back to Bath and to the Francis Hotel.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went in April for a few days and we had booked one of the Feature rooms. The room was huge! The bathroom was lovely and the rain shower was very nice. More than enough storage to hang your clothes etc. There was a nespresso machine and the room service as great too. It was nice being opposite the park too. Overall I was very happy with the hotel. Their afternoon tea was nice too, with a very nice back drop in the tea room downstairs. And the breakfast was delicious. My ONLY complaint is that you could hear people walking above you while in the room. The floor boards were creaking. BUT this is obviously because it's an old building, which in turn adds to its beauty!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank SMN1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review – I’m delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very nice hotel with efficient, polite and English staff (I know - in England?!). It has the right "feel" for Bath the architecture and the interior style is just right and our room was a decent size, fairly well equiped (safe, complimentary mineral water in fridge, fancy coffee machine with complimentary pods, your own iron and ironing board and very comfy oversized bed.

Downsides...
We paid extra for a "superior room" but how do you know? The view from our room was terrible, the sink plug didnt work so you couldn't have a shave, there is no car park (but there is a public one close by with EV charge points) and the so called soft bathrobes were made of sandpaper.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Francis Hotel Bath. I am pleased you like the feel of the Hotel. We have Classic, Superior and Feature rooms on both sides of the building (many people prefer to be on the back overlooking the car park as it is quieter than overlooking the Square). The difference between the Classic and the Superior is the size of the room and the addition of a Nespresso machine in the room. We do have a car park for our guests at the back of the Hotel, which operates on a first come, first served basis and is £15 per overnight stay. We have noted your comments about the bathrobes, which is disappointing and we are addressing. I do hope we will see you again at some time in the future.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked a room for two nights to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. I mentioned that when boooking and the receptionist mentioned it too but nothing special in our room..:(

The room was fine although quite noisy as overlooked the bins (which seemed to be filled noisly frequently) and the carpark.

The bathroom was tiny and although the shower had the advantage of being powerful that meant the floor also had a shower too. On the first night the room wasn't turned down. The remote control had the back missing from it meaning the batteries came out and a pillow case was badly stained...

So all in all it was OK. Sadly not memorable for really good reasons though....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for sending in a review following your stay with us. I really am very sorry that your anniversary wasn’t acknowledged; this is an area that we pride ourselves in and we like to do what we can to make any celebration memorable at the Francis. I am currently investigating the matter to find out what happenedon this occasion. You have also responded to a survey sent from the Hotel and I hope to welcome you back to the Francis on another occasion.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £97 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing