We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    678
    198
    67
    18
See reviews for
288
1,303
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is just perfect when staying in Bath, rooms are nicely decorated with great en suites plus air con, a must for the hot weekend we had when we stayed. This hotel is centrally located and very easy to find. Staff all very helpful and pleasant and always willing to help. Parking a little on the steep side but does offer some level of security so worth the extra. 10/10 we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms can be small but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for sending in a review. It is great to see that you had an enjoyable time when you came to stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Bath is such a beautiful city that one should stay in a hotel that is befittng. The Francis Hotel in Bath does not disappoint. Conveniently located, the hotel is styled in a regency theme. My room was comfortable, the bed huge and soft and the bathroom spacious and gorgeous in aqua with black and white tiles and providing large white fluffy towels, robes and Roger & Gallet toiletries. Service in the restaurant and bar was professional and prompt. Thank you for a very pleasant stay, Francis.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
You are very welcome and we hope we see you again very soon. Thank you for posting your thoughts on here.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the Francis Hotel in March. We were tired when we drove into Bath and found this hotel right on a square as we drove into town. Very nice hotel, comfortable beds and a decent sized shower/bathroom. We walked to dinner nearby at Hall & Woodhouse (recommended by the hotel staff - also very good!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJVTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I’m so pleased we were able to accommodate you comfortably following your journey. Thank you for sending in a review.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidwood, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I booked 3 rooms at The Francis for a mid-week family escape. All were compact (we booked the cheapest rooms) but stylish and very comfortable. The whole hotel was really very lovely indeed; in fact way nicer than the 'professional' photos that the place uses on it's website to sell itself. We were nearly put off from staying because the website made it seem gaudy and 'over decorated' but in reality the interior design worked a lot better than the photos suggested. Each room and corridor had custom carpets and the finishes and furnishings were quirky and stylish.

In addition to the physical product the service was also great: the staff at the hotel were all wonderfully helpful and friendly.

Put all of this into a fabulously central location and you have a winning combination. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have lovely views over the square. rooms at the back avoid any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SybariteCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review following your stay with us. It’s the first time I’ve seen negative feedback regarding our photographs and I will be certainly be looking at them again! I hope we see you again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Francis Hotel and personifies what Bath is all about. We booked some weeks in advance for a three night for two offer, starting on a Sunday. We wished we stayed the whole week! I would advise asking for an upgrade if you are staying earlier in the week - we booked a superior room, so we got the feature room facing the square, which has been very tastefully decorated with a wonderful four poster bed and bathroom. Very stylish.

The location is excellent, with much of Bath's Heritage within walking distance, so ideal if you need to pop back during the day and don't have to worry about taxi's. Nice view of the square if you are lucky to get a front facing room.

We will definitely be coming back to Bath at some point, as it reminds us of what many towns and cities used to be before they sold out to modern culture - Bath has retained it's heritage and you won't want to leave.

If we had one minor gripe is that the £15.00 per day car park charge is a tad excessive, though in the overall scheme of things, it well worth paying for the convenience.

We will be back and so will you!

Darren Hoggett & Melanie Buttery

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade, though realistically you are best booking Sun/Thursday as weekend are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
It is wonderful to see that you have had such a good time with us and, of course, in the beautiful City of Bath; I hope you don’t leave it too long before you come back. Thank you very much for sending in a review.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Pros:
- Good wifi (and free)
- Convenient location
- Breakfast was great - had made-to-order omelette, toast, etc. and lots of juices. Definitely among the best hotel breakfasts I've had
- Good service (albeit with a small group of overworked front desk staff)
- Comfortable, clean room

Cons:
- Small room
- Small bathroom
- Small bed

Given the tiny size of the room, I would be interested in exploring other options in Bath - i.e. those with rooms that are a little more spacious!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you very much for sending in a review following your stay at The Francis Hotel Bath. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We have three main categories of rooms, starting with our Classic Rooms, which are the smallest of our rooms; it may have been one of these rooms that you stayed in. Please ask us for rates for all categories should you come to stay in Bath again.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing