We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
US$342
US$277
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$622
US$499
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$144
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dukes Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$216
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,428)
Filter reviews
2,428 results
Traveller rating
1,289
794
247
77
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
794
247
77
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrasserie blancfeature roomqueen squarecar parklovely hotelafternoon teasuperior roomclassic roomcentral locationnespresso machineper nightthird floorbed was very comfortableroyal crescentmain attractionswithin easy walking distanceeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,629 - 1,634 of 2,428 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days - lovely Hotel. Service excellent. Room excellent too though not much hanging space for clothes. Location great and food excellent (breakfast and dinner when we ate in the restaurant ). Small car park and first come first served. Had a lovely stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vivien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We hope it won’t be too long before we welcome you back to The Francis Hotel Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice hotel in a wonderful little city. Staff absolutely exemplary. À la carte breakfast superb. And we were eligible for free reserved disabled parking, which was a definite plus. Reservations, however: on arrival, we had to wait 45 minutes for our room to be made ready, and this was after midday. Granted, we were given complementary coffee and biscuits while we waited, but really, not good enough. Bath was chipped, curtain was adrift from hook enough to let in too much light first thing, and the bath had a leak. We booked through Secret Escapes, so had a free bottle of wine (yuk! Chilean Merlot...what is a classy hotel like this doing giving out this sort of stuff? Just used it to make a passable Coq au vin; cooking is all it was good for).

Room Tip: Room 127 was allocated after our request for a quiet room. Not a bad choice, given the creakiness of old flooring. But keep the windows shut, unless you want to breathe in the smoke from any cigarette-addict nipping out for a crafty drag!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for sending in a review following your stay. I am delighted that you liked the staff and the city of Bath. I am sorry that your bedroom was not ready on your arrival. Our rooms are normally ready from 2.00 p.m. onwards (check out time is at 12.00 noon). We naturally always try to accommodate guests as soon as they arrive but this would depend on how full we were the night before and what time the preceding guest checked out. I am also sorry that you experienced problems with your room and hope that you spoke to someone in the Hotel to make sure that they were resolved. It is such a shame that the wine wasn’t to your taste; I can assure you that all our wines are very carefully chosen. I do hope you consider staying with us again on your next visit to Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Booked well in advance so got a good price. Arrived in a big wedding group but quick check in. Room small but adequate, walk in shower, safe, tea coffee making facilities, iron etc. Hotel location is perfect. Breakfast is superb, couldn't fault it, not only the usual breakfast items but have a la carte selection included in the price. Afternoon tea can be recommended. Municipal parking available 10 mins away £8.50 for 24 hours in Charlotte street. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHEPHECJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, it is all very much appreciated. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Rarely have I been so anxious to write a review! The Francis Hotel exceeded our expectations for a lovely and luxurious stay in Bath! From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel welcome. The hotel is beautifully decorated. Our room was gorgeous! It had been newly refurbished to the highest degree. The bathroom was spotless and lovely. The bed divine! The location could not be better. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast both mornings and a delicious dinner one night. We highly recommend this lovely hotel!!

Room Tip: Room 212 is actually a small suite. Quiet and elegant!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for your recommendations. I do hope we see you again very soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very elegant hotel. The decor and the rooms are excellent. The location for the centre of Bath could not be better. The hotel is spoiled by three things
One, the domestic staff are not thorough and don not leave sufficient toiletries and when requested did not even place them in the bathroom but on the table just inside the room door.
The barman is lazy and does not know the meaning of service. We request service late one evening only to be advised he was making cocktailes for two other guests. We said we would wait however once the other guests were served, no serice. We left and the hotel lost out.
Lastly the Blanc Brasserie attached to the hotel, offer good food but again the quality if the service from the staff can only be rated as extremely poor. Better service obtained in a Weatherspoon's pub. Maybe not the hotle's fault, but their guests should not have to suffer this and they should ensure the place offeres the level of service associated with a hotel of such a purported standard.

Room Tip: Don't eat in the Brasserie Blanc, walk round the corner and eat at La Barrique, excellent food and much better service
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review; I am sorry your experience wasn’t up to your expectations. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. I will also pass on your feedback to Brasserie Blanc for their interest.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews