We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great in all regards (except maybe value)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great in all regards (except maybe value)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for one night, figuring 2 days were ideal for a city the size of Bath.

Wonderful room, (exceptionally comfortable bedding), good breakfast, friendly and efficient staff, and a good location a (very) short walk from all major attractions.

Like all hotels in Bath though, you seem to pay about 50% more than you would elsewhere in the country for the same quality...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_peckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I’m glad you had a good time. I hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    667
    197
    65
    18
See reviews for
284
1,289
66
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We only stayed the one night on our honeymoon and were blown away- the staff made you feel most welcome from the moment you walked through the door - nothing seemed too much trouble - with the rain hammering down outside the man behind the desk made sure we had one of the hotels umbrellas -the rooms were spacious and absolutely immaculate- the shower was top notch - nice and hot and full of pressure - well stocked free bar with coke orange juice and water- and we had a message and done chocolates congratulating us on the wedding which was most appreciated-

the location is also a major plus the Baths are literally two minutes walk from hotel- and thanks to the lady at desk she gave us a map and pointed out everything we wanted to see and also some suggestions we had a lovely view of the beautiful square from our window - could not hear anyone above or next door -

The breakfast also was very tasty / also the bar staff do mix a very nice cocktail ( I think one of them was Harry who was talkative and friendly)I think it's true you get what you pay for - it was top end prices but beyond top service- Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Firstly, congratulations and I am delighted we made your special occasion even more special. Thank you for your very kind words; they are very much appreciated by all the team (especially Harry!). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel itself was wonderful - but don't expect anything other than the room. Car park expensive, room service shuts and room was still not ready upon our (late) arrival. The decor, furniture and bathroom in the guestroom was lovely though


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank AlexRQ879VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback; I am pleased that you liked the Hotel and your room. I am sorry that the room was not available when you arrived; we do our utmost to get the rooms ready from 2.00pm however, the Hotel was full the night prior to your stay and it wasn’t possible on this occasion. I do hope you will consider staying with us should you be visiting Bath at any time in the future.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Francis Hotel.
Location superb in a lovely Georgian square very close to the heart of the city.
Excellent breakfast in the restaurant with cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt and a cooked breakfast - specials on the menu too. Also enjoy a similar standard in the room -- prompt and most of all hot!
Very pleasant superior double room - shame it was next to the cupboard for maid service and hence unnecesarily noisy. Outlook to the rear fine over the car park was open, but would be so much better looking over the square.
Small bathroom just enough for one whilst the bath shower would only be a proper bath for someone under 4'6" - but as a shower very good.
A couple of minor gripes - but that would be nit picking.
However the seagulls are a nuisance with droppings. Was going to take my convertible but thank goodness we didn't the mess to the saloon car was awful and the car park whilst convenient is not cheap at £15 per day or £3 per hour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for sending in a review; it is good to receive constructive and positive feedback. Seagulls are a problem in the centre of the City; a new gel which fools gulls into thinking buildings are on fire is being trialled in Bath. The substance is one of the latest weapons to be used in the constant battle against the noise and mess caused by the birds in the city. Fingers crossed it works (no evidence so far).
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for just one night, but the hotel is so well done, its not long been revamped and the design is lovely, rooms comfy cosy and quiet. Nice bathroom, was very pleased. Didnt eat here so cannot comment on food but great location and hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
It is great to see that you liked the Hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sending in a review.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice of Hotel.
The staff are all very friendly and exceptionally professional in their work.
Very smart throughout, our feature room was large and very comfortable with probably the best bed I've slept on. Coffee machine, tea, iPod Dock, dressing gowns etc etc. A real home from home.
Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice of hot and cold buffet items plus A la carte as well. Very well organised as well, sometimes breakfast can resemble a cattle market in some places, but here they have it sorted.
Bar service was good too plus being able to park at the hotel was a bonus, even had the car parked for me.
Very well located for the whole of Bath, minutes walk from everything.
Would definitely return on a future visit to Bath.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentPalaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and hope we see you again very soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not to enjoy staying in this charming, up to date hotel with an enormous old world charm, you would have to be without soul. I have been staying there for some years and it has never failed to please me. It is well sited right in the centre of Bath, within walking distance of just about everything you want to visit including Bath's delightful Theatre Royal. The rooms are comfortable, well furnished, the food is excellent and many of the staff have been there for years. Not the cheapest place to stay but worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
It is wonderful to hear from loyal guests such as yourself; thank you very much for sending in a review it really is appreciated. We hope we soon you again very soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing