We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
“A disappointing stay at this hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I'm writing this review as myself and fiancé lie here in bed in the Francis hotel. We have stayed in a lot of lovely hotels 4 star 5 star and b&b's all over the country. The disappointment is that we stayed here last year with no faults, this year we have returned to pay double what we paid last year. " fair enough lovely hotel pay good money" ( over £200 a night to be a little precise). We will not be returning next year due to the poor standard of room we have been given "superior" ha ha mmmm if you like the view of the rear car park and the constant noise of a air conditioning unit from your window, along with rude night staff who think its acceptable to smoke in the bar toilets. Which is illegal and who wants there children breathing it. We rarely complain and understand businesses have errors or glitches like anything in life. But honestly this is not a good service or standard for this money. Think twice before booking unless you see the room in advance or don't expect great customer service. If your going to advertise as a premier or fine experience at least live up to people's expectations. False.

Room Tip: View it if possible before paying your money. We were disappointed with a superior room yet the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I am so sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay with us. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Please feel free to contact me on 01225 424105 to discuss further.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    678
    197
    67
    18
See reviews for
288
1,302
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel was really convenient and had plenty of secure parking. Staff were very welcoming and extremely attentive and helpful throughout my stay. The hotel was very well presented and my room was very comfortable and well equipped. The view from my windows was spectacular and the breakfast was fabulous, also very good for anyone following "Slimming World". Loved it all and will come again. Already recommended it to several friends.

Room Tip: My 3rd floor room had a fabulous view of the city and was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendations. It is great to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming your friends to The Francis Hotel Bath.
Kind regards - Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is truly a step back in time. Excellent decor throughout and believe me when I say the photos on the website cannot show how opulent and beautiful this hotel really is! Food was beautiful, staff extremely attentive, professional and polite. Set in the centre of Bath, this hotel is ideal for access to all the historic locations, plus all the designer label shops and restaurants in the main thoroughfare. Our room was ready and waiting for us, despite the hotel being extremely busy on a Bank Holiday weekend and the fact that we booked only the day before! Yes, the parking fee was a bit of a shock, but parking outside the hotel for the duration of our stay would have been a similar amount and if you use the hotel parking, you have the added bonus of hotel security for your vehicle. You get what you pay for folks! All in all, a wonderful stay. Thank you Francis Hotel for making my husband's surprise weekend so memorable!

Room Tip: This is an excellent choice of hotel if you are looking for a central location for all the town attr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwani40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It is great to see that we helped to make your weekend a memorable one! Thank you for your wonderful review; it is always a boost to morale and we look forward to a return visit.
Kind regards - Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for one night, figuring 2 days were ideal for a city the size of Bath.

Wonderful room, (exceptionally comfortable bedding), good breakfast, friendly and efficient staff, and a good location a (very) short walk from all major attractions.

Like all hotels in Bath though, you seem to pay about 50% more than you would elsewhere in the country for the same quality...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_peckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I’m glad you had a good time. I hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We only stayed the one night on our honeymoon and were blown away- the staff made you feel most welcome from the moment you walked through the door - nothing seemed too much trouble - with the rain hammering down outside the man behind the desk made sure we had one of the hotels umbrellas -the rooms were spacious and absolutely immaculate- the shower was top notch - nice and hot and full of pressure - well stocked free bar with coke orange juice and water- and we had a message and done chocolates congratulating us on the wedding which was most appreciated-

the location is also a major plus the Baths are literally two minutes walk from hotel- and thanks to the lady at desk she gave us a map and pointed out everything we wanted to see and also some suggestions we had a lovely view of the beautiful square from our window - could not hear anyone above or next door -

The breakfast also was very tasty / also the bar staff do mix a very nice cocktail ( I think one of them was Harry who was talkative and friendly)I think it's true you get what you pay for - it was top end prices but beyond top service- Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Firstly, congratulations and I am delighted we made your special occasion even more special. Thank you for your very kind words; they are very much appreciated by all the team (especially Harry!). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel itself was wonderful - but don't expect anything other than the room. Car park expensive, room service shuts and room was still not ready upon our (late) arrival. The decor, furniture and bathroom in the guestroom was lovely though


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank AlexRQ879VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback; I am pleased that you liked the Hotel and your room. I am sorry that the room was not available when you arrived; we do our utmost to get the rooms ready from 2.00pm however, the Hotel was full the night prior to your stay and it wasn’t possible on this occasion. I do hope you will consider staying with us should you be visiting Bath at any time in the future.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Francis Hotel.
Location superb in a lovely Georgian square very close to the heart of the city.
Excellent breakfast in the restaurant with cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt and a cooked breakfast - specials on the menu too. Also enjoy a similar standard in the room -- prompt and most of all hot!
Very pleasant superior double room - shame it was next to the cupboard for maid service and hence unnecesarily noisy. Outlook to the rear fine over the car park was open, but would be so much better looking over the square.
Small bathroom just enough for one whilst the bath shower would only be a proper bath for someone under 4'6" - but as a shower very good.
A couple of minor gripes - but that would be nit picking.
However the seagulls are a nuisance with droppings. Was going to take my convertible but thank goodness we didn't the mess to the saloon car was awful and the car park whilst convenient is not cheap at £15 per day or £3 per hour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for sending in a review; it is good to receive constructive and positive feedback. Seagulls are a problem in the centre of the City; a new gel which fools gulls into thinking buildings are on fire is being trialled in Bath. The substance is one of the latest weapons to be used in the constant battle against the noise and mess caused by the birds in the city. Fingers crossed it works (no evidence so far).
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, ACCOR, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing