We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel in Centre of Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in Centre of Bath”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed two nights in a 3rd.floor double room. The hotel is wonderfully clean and the rooms and bathrooms are well decorated and very comfortable. Being on the 3rd.floor we were able to open our windows for fresh air without too much noise from the street. The hotel is situated in a square in the heart of bath with shopping, restaurants and tourist sites all within walking distance (on the flat). We were on a room only basis so didn't eat in the hotel, as I just mentioned there are plenty of restaurants very close where you can get breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, we did sit in the bar to have drinks before going out for dinner and the service was quick and friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend The Francis for anyone visiting the beautiful city of Bath for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: If you are bringing your car to The Francis Hotel you would be wise to bring a cover as the dropping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stayandsay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and recommendations and I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    690
    200
    67
    19
See reviews for
291
1,319
70
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Enjoyed our one-night stay very much. Room was fairly tight (to be expected in an old building) but clean and comfortable. Beautiful, elegant decor. Very comfortable double bed with lots of down pillows and thick comforters. Loved the bathroom: immaculate with classy black/white tiles, sleek modern sink/toilet, telescoping mirror mounted to wall, big window for lots of natural light. The shower was a bit odd: no sliding door or curtain, just a clear glass partition covering only half the shower stall, allowing lots of water to splash onto the floor and offering no privacy to the person showering; also, the shower walls displayed a scene of the Roman Baths -- a little tacky for such an expensive hotel. Large south-facing windows (opposite Queen Square) opened for fresh air. Great location; close enough to attractions but far enough to be quiet -- originally booked elsewhere but switched after reading complaints there of street noise and squawking gulls -- glad we did, our room was very quiet. Didn't get to eat at the restaurant or take tea next to the lobby, but both looked very nice. Would probably stay again if I ever return to Bath.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback; I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Francis very soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife booked this hotel as a surprise birthday trip to Bath and what a wonderful surprise it was too. The Hotel is wonderful and in a brilliant location, close to the city centre and also the royal crescent and Circus (both landmarks you should visit).

Check in was a little crowded as it is a very small reception area, although the staff were courteous and efficient. The room was fantastic - a good size with a nice bathroom and overlooking Queens Square at the front. The room faces the front but there were no issues with traffic noise. The bed was big and comfortable.

Our only issue was with the breakfast the following morning where were essentially forgotten about and then seemingly ignored. When our food did finally arrive, it was actually for a different table. As everything else about the hotel was good, I will give them the benefit of the doubt and put it down to a bad day; however, if you are staying here, make sure that you get your breakfast order in early!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicsweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for sending in a review; I am pleased that you enjoyed your surprise stay with us and hope you will return to the Francis Hotel Bath sometime soon.
Kind regards - Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I'm writing this review as myself and fiancé lie here in bed in the Francis hotel. We have stayed in a lot of lovely hotels 4 star 5 star and b&b's all over the country. The disappointment is that we stayed here last year with no faults, this year we have returned to pay double what we paid last year. " fair enough lovely hotel pay good money" ( over £200 a night to be a little precise). We will not be returning next year due to the poor standard of room we have been given "superior" ha ha mmmm if you like the view of the rear car park and the constant noise of a air conditioning unit from your window, along with rude night staff who think its acceptable to smoke in the bar toilets. Which is illegal and who wants there children breathing it. We rarely complain and understand businesses have errors or glitches like anything in life. But honestly this is not a good service or standard for this money. Think twice before booking unless you see the room in advance or don't expect great customer service. If your going to advertise as a premier or fine experience at least live up to people's expectations. False.

Room Tip: View it if possible before paying your money. We were disappointed with a superior room yet the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I am so sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay with us. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Please feel free to contact me on 01225 424105 to discuss further.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel was really convenient and had plenty of secure parking. Staff were very welcoming and extremely attentive and helpful throughout my stay. The hotel was very well presented and my room was very comfortable and well equipped. The view from my windows was spectacular and the breakfast was fabulous, also very good for anyone following "Slimming World". Loved it all and will come again. Already recommended it to several friends.

Room Tip: My 3rd floor room had a fabulous view of the city and was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendations. It is great to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming your friends to The Francis Hotel Bath.
Kind regards - Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is truly a step back in time. Excellent decor throughout and believe me when I say the photos on the website cannot show how opulent and beautiful this hotel really is! Food was beautiful, staff extremely attentive, professional and polite. Set in the centre of Bath, this hotel is ideal for access to all the historic locations, plus all the designer label shops and restaurants in the main thoroughfare. Our room was ready and waiting for us, despite the hotel being extremely busy on a Bank Holiday weekend and the fact that we booked only the day before! Yes, the parking fee was a bit of a shock, but parking outside the hotel for the duration of our stay would have been a similar amount and if you use the hotel parking, you have the added bonus of hotel security for your vehicle. You get what you pay for folks! All in all, a wonderful stay. Thank you Francis Hotel for making my husband's surprise weekend so memorable!

Room Tip: This is an excellent choice of hotel if you are looking for a central location for all the town attr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwani40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It is great to see that we helped to make your weekend a memorable one! Thank you for your wonderful review; it is always a boost to morale and we look forward to a return visit.
Kind regards - Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for one night, figuring 2 days were ideal for a city the size of Bath.

Wonderful room, (exceptionally comfortable bedding), good breakfast, friendly and efficient staff, and a good location a (very) short walk from all major attractions.

Like all hotels in Bath though, you seem to pay about 50% more than you would elsewhere in the country for the same quality...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_peckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I’m glad you had a good time. I hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing