We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and i stayed here as a part of a tour we took so I can not rate the value for money but I can rate the rest of our stay.
The hotel staff were fabulous! Very friendly and helpful and went above to help out. I had a pair of jeans that need a zipper repair over night and they found a place and had it done for me and return the following day. The room was comfortable and had a warm inviting feel to it and was very clean with every thing you could ask for to make our stay easy.
Breakfast was included for us and was just delicious with a large variety of fruits, pastries, cereals and hot foods to cater to any taste. We also had included in our stay a dinner which was YUMMY!
Great place to stay =D

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Francis at some time in the future.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    699
    207
    67
    19
See reviews for
293
1,339
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for two nights and didn't want to come home! Room was lovely, comfortable and spacious. Staff so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was gorgeous and lots of choice. Hotel decor is lovely. Will be returning!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dooney87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you very much for sending in a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a beautiful hotel! The decoration is gorgeous --I absolutely loved the bathroom with the gorgeous shower mural. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable and overall very, very nice. The hotel is in a very convenient location --the only thing that wasn't convenient was parking. When we arrived it was full and ended up having to park quite a distance away. Rather annoying having to drag around the luggage.... but regardless of that, I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanExpeditioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay; thank you for sending in a review. When our car park is full we generally take the guests luggage so that you don’t have to carry it back down; I am so sorry that this wasn’t the case when you were here. I look forward to your return visit.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just came back from a hen weekend staying in Bath at the Francis Hotel. It was a lovely hotel with friendly and polite staff, lovely comfortable rooms and the perfect location which is walking distance to most things in Bath. Although pricey, I would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendations. I do hope you all had a wonderful weekend and hope you all return to Bath someday soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Bath is definitely short on hotels, therefore the quality hotels charge more, this definitely includes Francis but they do provide the goods!

Excellent quality decor with retro style is chic, the bathroom was small but function-able and included an amazing rain shower which I loved!

The location is in Queen Square, within an easy walk to all the major sights of Bath such as the Roman Baths, Thermae Baths and Royal Crescent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review following your recent stay with u. I hope it isn’t too long before you return.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at the Francis Hotel room 214 on sat 14th June.
The location of the hotel is perfect.
The hotel staff were very polite accommodating and helpful, especially on check in.
The room I stayed in was immaculate. We had a four poster bed which was very comfortable and clean. , the room was very spacious equipped with coffee machine, tea stuff coffee table and two comfy chairs. Along with a desk and chair. The bathroom was also immaculate with a big sink and shower. Very modern.

Overall I would Definetely stay in the hotel again. The only downside to the hotel was that it was quite expensive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We do appreciate you sending in a review following your recent stay with us and I’m delighted you had an enjoyable time. I hope you will come and stay at The Francis when you are next in Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel for a mini break to Bath as we had not been there before. Having checked the Tripadvisor recommendations this looked to be a good hotel for us and we were not disappointed. The location is excellent, we were able to walk to all of the major attractions without difficulty.

Car parking here is extra but we knew that. At £15 per day it is not too bad but if you are driving remember to factor this in. Parking is by valet so you can pull up right out front.

Our room was on the small side but perfectly ok for a short break. This is a period property so it has a few quirky features which are actually endearing. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom was small with a smallish walk in shower (no bath) but again fine for us. The room was spotlessly clean and free Wi-Fi is available throughout.

Breakfast is served in a room in the lower level and was fine, All the usual breakfast fare available with a fresh cook menu for certain things. Certainly no complaints. The main restaurant is run by Raymond Blanc. Food and service here was excellent. We were advised to book but actually we would have easily got in without booking. Lots of other good looking restaurants within easy reach of the hotel. Staff were friendly and very obliging throughout.

We would definitely stay here again on any return trip to Bath.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms probably better - upgrade to an exec room if you need more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ke1thred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sending in such an informative review; which I am sure will be of use to any potential future guests. I hope you don’t leave it too long before you return to Bath; there is always a lot to see.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#21 of 30 in Bath
2,742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing