We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After spending a week in guest houses along the coast of Devon and Cornwall I needed a bit of posh. From check-in until our "late" check-out, the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully furnished and it was an easy walk to the Roman Baths. We ate in the restaurant and it, too was wonderful. I'd love to go back since we only had one night here and there's more I'd like to see.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sending in your wonderful review and we look forward to your return visit!
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Francis for 2 nights, the room we had (114) described as the best room in the hotel, certainly lived up to its description. Large room,well furnished and an extremely comfortable bed. The view from the windows was that of the small park opposite. Very short walk to City Centre. Excellent breakfast. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Definitely would stop here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

It is great to see you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for posting your thoughts on here and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and i stayed here as a part of a tour we took so I can not rate the value for money but I can rate the rest of our stay.
The hotel staff were fabulous! Very friendly and helpful and went above to help out. I had a pair of jeans that need a zipper repair over night and they found a place and had it done for me and return the following day. The room was comfortable and had a warm inviting feel to it and was very clean with every thing you could ask for to make our stay easy.
Breakfast was included for us and was just delicious with a large variety of fruits, pastries, cereals and hot foods to cater to any taste. We also had included in our stay a dinner which was YUMMY!
Great place to stay =D

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Francis at some time in the future.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for two nights and didn't want to come home! Room was lovely, comfortable and spacious. Staff so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was gorgeous and lots of choice. Hotel decor is lovely. Will be returning!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooney87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you very much for sending in a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a beautiful hotel! The decoration is gorgeous --I absolutely loved the bathroom with the gorgeous shower mural. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable and overall very, very nice. The hotel is in a very convenient location --the only thing that wasn't convenient was parking. When we arrived it was full and ended up having to park quite a distance away. Rather annoying having to drag around the luggage.... but regardless of that, I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanExpeditioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay; thank you for sending in a review. When our car park is full we generally take the guests luggage so that you don’t have to carry it back down; I am so sorry that this wasn’t the case when you were here. I look forward to your return visit.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just came back from a hen weekend staying in Bath at the Francis Hotel. It was a lovely hotel with friendly and polite staff, lovely comfortable rooms and the perfect location which is walking distance to most things in Bath. Although pricey, I would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for your recommendations. I do hope you all had a wonderful weekend and hope you all return to Bath someday soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Bath is definitely short on hotels, therefore the quality hotels charge more, this definitely includes Francis but they do provide the goods!

Excellent quality decor with retro style is chic, the bathroom was small but function-able and included an amazing rain shower which I loved!

The location is in Queen Square, within an easy walk to all the major sights of Bath such as the Roman Baths, Thermae Baths and Royal Crescent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review following your recent stay with u. I hope it isn’t too long before you return.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £105 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing