We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The staff could not have been more helpful and charming: full marks to them.

The public areas were sumptuous, but our room was fairly ordinary for the price.

The big problem was the breakfast at £19.50. For that price, we were expecting something more than the average budget hotel buffet - but what we got was even less. Poor choice, badly cooked. Well over-priced: if you can, go elsewhere for breakfast. It'll be cheaper and nicer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Keef747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review about your visit to The Francis Hotel Bath. I’m delighted that you found the staff to be helpful although sorry that breakfast didn’t come up to expectations. I do hope this won’t deter you from returning at some time.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    678
    198
    67
    18
See reviews for
288
1,303
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Staffs
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

we enjoyed our stay immensely, the room was lovely as was the breakfast. the staff were extremely warm and friendly with the exception of the curt receptionist who attended to us when we arrived, otherwise I would have given a 5 star rating. fantastic location and we parked at Charlotte street which is a 5 minute stroll from the hotel.

Room Tip: seagulls kept us awake all night, but I don't suppose it matters what room you are in. maybe bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailSouthStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay although disappointed that your welcome wasn’t as it should have been. I do hope you will be back soon.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here last weekend in June, following extremely high recommendations from an extremely fussy friend, so I expected great things. Hotel itself has lovely decor, and the staff I saw were certainly smiley. and professional.
The room itself was fine, nothing spectacular, and I am still undecided if it was worth the circa £170.00 - I have had far more, for less in other hotels both in the city, and around England.
Bath is one of my favourite cities, and I do tend to go any chance I can, I don't however usually stay at the Francis, and bearing in mind the cost - Iand the fact that you pay a lot more for this hotel than others with just as good location, and still have to pay for parking at the hotel, I don't think I would stay here again, unless there was no where else available.

Cannot comment on the restaurant/bar ect, as dined out for each meal whilst in Bath.

On the whole, I suspect the positives and negatives balance each other out, making this stay, for me, distinctly average.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Flisster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I’m really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to expectations. It would be great if we had the opportunity to prove ourselves to you on a future visit to Bath.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Warmly Welcomed to a lovely hotel. Beautiful room, luscious bathroom huge comfy bed. Scrupulously clean. Raymond Blanc bistro for evening meal and afternoon tea the following day. We really couldn't fault this hotel and will definitely return. Nothing was too much for the staff. If you can visit this hotel we would recommend it to you.

Room Tip: We had a disabled friendly room 10 which was on the ground floor tucked away. Spacious bathroom / we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review and your recommendations; I do hope I won’t be too long before we can welcome you back.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed in the Francis for a long weekend.The hotel is located in the centre of Bath so you can walk to most of the attractions ,shops, bars and restaurants.It has recently been upgraded in all areas,so you have modern facilities in a classic hotel. The breakfasts were a good standard and the staff were friendly and very helpful.We all plan to return.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front as the view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for sending in a review after spending the weekend with us. I am delighted you all had a good time and look forward to your return.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
562 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

It would be cruel to mark this hotel down to four stars. The front desk staff are among the best we have encountered anywhere in the world. So helpful and made every effort to assist me due to my back problems.
The room we ended up with was a feature room No 113 on the first floor. No bath but an excellent rain and hand shower. The king bed was comfortable although in our view the sheets should have fitted better.
My only disappointment was the breakfast. The coffee was rarely very hot even when requested, large pots were replaced with small on refills so we invariably had to ask for more. The breakfast buffet was only available on the first morning and the cheese offering was frugal to say the least. But please do not let this small negative point deter you from staying here....it really is a great hotel in a central but quiet location.

Room Tip: We were in 113
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to The Francis. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the breakfast, which we are addressing.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing