We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a feature room and it was lovely. Nicely done renovation, well furnished and clean. Bathroom was small but beautiful and again well renovation.
Staff were friendly, informative and quick to respond to special requests.
The location was perfect and central to everything as nothing seemed more than a 10 min walk away.
My only small complaint was the bed topper was well worn in so you sunk into your spot with a little more than I would have liked. Otherwise it was comfortable.

Can't wait to come back again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Countfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback; we will be checking the mattress topper to see if it needs replacing – thank you for bringing this to our attention. I'm delighted that you had great stay with us and hope we see you again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    678
    197
    67
    18
See reviews for
288
1,302
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

my husband booked here for a one night birthday stay. Very central location with parking a short stroll away. Out room was lovely, all mod cons including a great nepresso coffee machine. our four poster bed was huge and the bathroom was extremely stylish, with a powerful rain shower.

staff were very friendly and they had even left me some shortbread in our room as a birthday touch.

the hotel is decorated beautifully. what's booked breakfast, quickly shown our tables, it took a few minutes for our tea and coffee to arrive but the staff again were very helpful and customer service was high on their minds in what was a very busy breakfast room,

yes it was an expensive stay but would I come back here again, most definately and next time would stay for two nights as one wasn't enough!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Billiem47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I am pleased that you had a memorable birthday with us and look forward to seeing you next time, hopefully for 2 nights!
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The building itself is beautiful and when you step inside the interior is incredibly stylish and contemporary in design. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is centrally located within an easy stroll of the shops and restaurants. The only reason I haven't given it a five star is because our room felt slightly small and did not have a bath. I'm sure if we'd asked to move to a different room we would have been accommodated but we had booked two rooms next to each other and didn't want to create too much upheaval. My mum and our three kids stayed in the room next door which was the same size as ours and it wasn't too much of a squeeze. Overall a really great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EH278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and compliments. I do hope you had a great time in Bath with all your family and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for a night in Bath on Wednesday and were very pleased with our choice. Not cheap at all but for a one off night away it was fine - better deals could be booked in advance I guess. The bedroom was spacious and luxurious with a very thick pile carpet! The bed was very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep after a trip to the Thermae Spa (twilight session) and a few drinks in the city afterwards. The only slight criticism is the advertised cooked breakfast was £17.50 in the hotel restaurant - a breakfast course can be purchased for about half the price in Brasserie Blanc's which I believe was also part of the hotel for about half the price....but it depends if you want the full English with all the trimmings I guess??
The hotel location is fantastic for access to all the city centre sites and lots of bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: You can hear the traffic around Queens Square in the rooms facing the square. Not sure if there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rkd0dger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
It sounds like you have had a great time in Bath on your short break. Thank you for your feedback and I hope it won’t be long before we can welcome you back.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has many great points. Great location, helpful staff, a nice breakfast selection and area. But my husband and I were just a bit let down in some areas.
Firstly our room was so tricky to find we had to ask directions from housekeeping on our way to find it. Twice. It would have been nice if the reception had given us better directions than "down the corridor and turn right" or even if when we declined help with our bags they showed us the room. Better signage would help as the first set of directions had our room area on it but following it we found that it mysteriously disappeared once you got to the end of the hallway. Our room was in the former garden and was right on a main road though we must admit we weren't bothered by the noise at all. However the hotel was busy (which we appreciate) and occasionally we could clearly hear other couples or guests of the hotel either in their rooms or in the hallway. Housekeeping was fine, on our last day we found a wet cloth left in the room which was a bit bizarre.
Breakfast was served in a beautifully spacious room and the service was fantastic. The staff all obviously aim to please across the hotel.
The hotel is beautifully decorated - lots of great features (and the bathroom is amazing!) though we were confused by the picture frame on the ceiling above the bed! Lovely landscape picture though.
We'd probably recommend this hotel to our friends. It's such a great location and easy to find from the station.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hatchlingstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for sending in a review. I’m pleased that, in general, you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comments regarding the signage in the corridors. It is always good to receive constructive feedback.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here in April as part of a Backroads Tour so cannot comment on the pricing.
However the room was nicely furnished, quiet,and a reasonable size.
The lobby and bar areas were comfortable and attractive for a quiet drink.
Breakfast was good and the room in which it was served also nice with large windows at one end.
Good central location and easy walking distance to main attractions with plenty of restaurants nearby.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
This Hotel was formerly a series of 18th century townhouses and was in fact bombed by the Luftwaffe in 1842.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review following your stay with us. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Francis when you are next in Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Francis Hotel and couldn't have wished for a better experience. Location is superb, within walking distance of all major attractions, especially the Roman Baths. The hotel is also only a 10 min walk from the train station

Our room decor was stylish and the beds were luxurious with soft underplays and extremely comfortable feather pillows - truly a heavenly bed. We were too tired to go out for dinner on our first night and ordered room service. The food was beautifully presented. On the first morning we ate in the hotel breakfast room and had the continental breakfast £15 each. On day two we discovered the restaurant within the hotel, Raymond Blanc, offers an excellent breakfast menu at a very reasonable price. There are also many restaurants and bakeries in the vicinity.

On arrival The receptionist greeted us warmly and professionally and our checkout was smooth and professional on departure. We very much appreciated a welcome platter of strawberries and delightful shortbreads on arrival. Our room was serviced every day and there was a turndown service in the evening with bottled water placed beside our bed which was also very much appreciated. The Francis Hotel is exceptionally clean and their attention to detail is unsurpassed by any hotel we've stayed at during our 4 weeks of travel. Little touches such as tissues arranged to resemble a flower in the bathroom, quality toiletries which were a pleasure to use, bottled water in a small in-room refrigerator, in-room coffee maker with quality coffee pods and a selection of teas all made our stay that little more enjoyable. The ground floor lounges are relaxing and a perfect place to relax and unwind with a cup of tea or a glass of champagne after a day of sightseeing. Thank you Francis Hotel for giving us a little of the famous Bath Spa luxury experience!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiejOy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I am delighted that you have had such a wonderful time at the Francis Hotel. It is such a boost to morale to read your review and is much appreciated by all. I do hope you come back again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing