We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was perfect. Lovely clean hotel with very friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff.
The room / bathroom was clean, spacious and we decorated. The shower was a large walk-in design and had a wall picture of the Roman baths which we thought was a great touch.

Location is perfect with all main attractions being less than a five minute walk.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JP07HAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    705
    210
    67
    19
See reviews for
299
1,348
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here on a weekend in the summer. Hotel is very pretty, rooms are nicely furnished (nothing fantastic, but nice enough) and the location is ideal. The concierge was very helpful and the staff was pleasant.

The real letdown was the breakfast. The staff was rude, and we gave up on receiving our a la carte food after waiting for an hour (and actually having to walk into the kitchen to enquire as to status as there were no wait staff around the room for at least 25 minutes). After about 45 minutes we gave up and decided to just have something from the buffet, but there was a queue of people waiting for them to reprovision the fruit, eggs and bacon/sausage - only thing that was there were hashbrowns and tomatoes. They were also out of water for more than half an hour. Despite our (iniitally very polite) complaints, nothing was done about the situation, and nary an apology was offered.

Overall, I would recommend staying at this hotel, but go elsewhere for breakfast. I understand that it might be difficult to offer breakfast for a full hotel in the summer - but if you can't do it well, then you should just not offer it at all - there are plenty of nearby places to go for breakfast.

Room Tip: There are long corridors with multiple sets of stairs (2-4 steps each), so travellers with mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I’m pleased that you liked the Hotel but disappointed to see that you had a poor experience at breakfast and I am sorry that the service was not up to expectations on this occasion and can only reassure you that this is being addressed urgently.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is a brilliant hotel in the perfect location to explore the city within walking distance from all the top attractions; while still being quiet and not surrounded by traffic.

The hotel has a great style, we stayed in the superior room which was a good size and had it's own style, also a great touch with the espresso machine! Great hotel and a good price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pringle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I’m glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusby, MD
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed one Sunday night in July and it was a totally delightful experience. We stayed in September 2013, and the complete renovation of the property is still just amazing. The decor is fabulous. We had a huge room and I love the Roman Baths mural in the shower. Breakfast was efficient and well done. We stayed one night and we then moved into a self-catering holiday apartment in central Bath for the rest of our Bath stay and my husband referred to breakfast at the Francis Hotel as "the last good breakfast I'll get on this trip." Yes, it was. The Francis Hotel is a 100% experience of first class luxury.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dressage62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am delighted that you have returned to The Francis and have had another great stay with us. I do hope we see you on your next trip and thank you for taking the time to send in a review.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights and the building itself is beautiful. When you step inside, the interior is incredibly stylish and contemporary in design. The ground floor lounges are relaxing and a perfect place to relax and unwind with a cup of tea or a glass of fizz after a day of sightseeing.
Staff were welcoming, friendly, informative and quick to respond to any requests - nothing was too much trouble. We were allocated a third floor standard room which was nicely renovated, well furnished and clean. The room had tea/coffee facilities, ironing board/iron, hair dryer, room safe, WIFI, TV, air conditioning, and fridge (all complimentary). There were some nice personal touches i.e. – not your usual bland hotel.
The hotel is centrally located within an easy stroll of the shops, restaurants, train and bus station. Unless you need to travel further afield, then you don’t really need a car during your stay.
The only negative was the breakfast charge of £19.50 per person or perhaps the car parking for £15 per day. However, we ate out as there are many restaurants and bars within a few minutes’ walk.
Overall a great stay in a really good hotel.
***What you have to remember is that although it is a great hotel, it’s the all the staff who make the hotel what it is - Well done.***.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise in the rooms that face Queens Square but generally not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review; it’s great to see that the staff were able to make it an even more memorable stay and hope to see you again.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed there with 5 other colleagues. My room was well appointed and nicely decorated. Great choice of food for breakfast but service not so good as we had to request several times coffee and toasts.
Reception and bar staff absolutely brilliant,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryBMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for sending in a review following your stay at The Francis; I do hope we see you again very soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing